We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 6 July 2005

I was at the Marriott Downtown Kansas City in mid June, 2005.

Most people (and me, I figure) tend to write a review when they've either had a really bad or really good experience. The Marriott Downtown was neither a place to trash or write home about. Check-in was fine although I was put in the 'other' building and I was, at first, a little disappointed in the room - seemed more run down than I would have expected for a downtown Marriott. Wake-up calls happened on time and room was made up each day in a reasonable time. Room service was fine although one night I called for a particular entree and they had sold out of it (???) at 5:30pm. It was a busy weekend and really, the only thing that I could say that made it a negative experience was the concierge guy. I can't remember his name, but he was just flat out rude. He didn't want to be there and since they wouldn't let me have late-check out my bags had to be stowed away and you could see that it 'killed' him to put them in the back and then a few hours later pull them out. I've had a great experience at the Airport Marriott and will probably try the Plaza next time. Probably won't come back here since there wasn't really much else in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
There are newer reviews for Kansas City Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2005

This is the tale of 2 hotels. I've stayed there twice. The first time, I stayed in the main (older) section of the hotel. It was prefectly nice. Recently, I was put across the street at the annex or secondary building. That was a different story. My room was what I would expect to find at an old, run down Holiday Inn. The bed was uncomfortable. Not impressive.

Otherwise, it's a pretty nice hotel with a good location and large facilities.
Make sure you stay in the main building.

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pir8guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2005

I am a consultant who travels/lives with the client. This means that I’ve been living in corporate rentals and hotels for the past 4 years, and some years I spend over 100 nights at the Marriott. In exchange for my loyal patronage, Marriott awards people like me with the status of Elite Membership, so that we can be in comfortable rooms, have access to the lounge, gain points, late check-out, and sometimes a separate line for check-in. At the Kansas City downtown Marriott they have a red carpeted line for Elite Members. On February 4, 2005 my pregnant wife and I waited in this line after a 12-hour trip. On this particular night there was over 10 families waiting in the general check-in line, but thankfully we were relieved that we would be checked-in immediately. However, there was one person on the front desk, Summer Sparks. After seeing us and ignoring us completely, checking in 2 guests, my wife asked her if the elite check-in line was open (there was no indication otherwise). Summer was extremely rude, “I am the only person on the desk, so you have to go to the end of the line.” So, we did. Less than 1-minute later, Damon Parks, the Assistant Front Office Manager, came to the reservation desk and started to assist Summer in the general check-in line. We moved to the Elite line, and waited for assistance. After they checked-in more guests, Summer motioned to Damon to assist us, and reluctantly he did. He walked over, did not greet us, did not smile, did not apology, or say thank you… instead he was rude, put-out, addressed us in a loud aggressive tone that embarrassed my wife, me, and our father. The other guests witnessed and listened in, and by the time we got check-in we were embarrassed and humiliated. This shaped our entire experience that weekend. The room was dirty and the wallpaper had stains on it as if from smoking. The bathroom vanities were chipped and old. The water faucet dripped. It took 1 hour to get room service (2 soups, 1 salad, 2 waters), and it was delivered without serving utensils. It took 20-minutes to get the serving utensils, and that was after we went downstairs to get them from the restaurant ourselves.

46  Thank kimjamyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, Wisconsin
16
Reviewed 16 November 2004

Our stay of two separate nights in July 2005 was fine. I am generally a Hilton Honors guy, but my second choice is usually a Marriott. The first night I needed to stay up late to do some work on my computer, so we were upgraded to a huge suite for a nominal fee because it was a quiet night at the hotel. The suite bedroom was a standard guest room that opened into a large common room with a dining table for several people, etc. The second night (on our trip back through town), I opted for a standard guest room. (This was a crazy weather night with a tornado warning and the worst rain and lightning I have ever seen. We spent an hour in the middle of the night in a lower level of the hotel with other guests getting weather updates from the hotel night security staff.) The standard guest rooms were typical Marriott standard rooms. The hotel restaurant served typical hotel restaurant food. When I travel these days--especially for business--I prefer boring and predictable over surprising and strange. This Marriott is boring and predictable to me, so it meets my needs fine. I have also previously used the nice fitness facility at the hotel. The facility is affiliated with a local healthcare organization, and it is operated very professionally. It is usually a pleasant surprise for a fitness-focused (business) traveler to find such a facility in a hotel.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Pascal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gianni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honaraalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#44 of 109 in Kansas City
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £155 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing