We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not luxurious, hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
194 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good, but not luxurious, hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Good solid nicer hotel. Yes, the hotel could use an update. It's not shabby but not quite in the same league as other hotels of its price category. There were also several service hiccups that may have been due to the fact that we stayed over the holiday. The lounge was very nice but no bartender to be found. They had to pull people from the restaurant to make drinks. There was no concierge for most of our stay and the desk staff seemed to know less about the area than we did. Specially they told us the names of several restaurants that were open on Christmas Eve and we'd already called and found out those were closed. Additionally, there was only one bathrobe in our room. We asked for a second which we got but then the maid cleaned the room and one of them disappeared again. I don't understand why they're so tight with bathrobes? Were we supposed to take turns? And the slippers provided didn't fit my feet let alone my boyfriend. They seemed to be fitted for tiny elf people. The room was comfortable and clean and my request for a room with a plaza view was done. The view was the best part of the room. No shower cap though in the bathroom amenities and the soap provided was too drying for my skin. Overall, if you get a deal on the room you will not be disappointed in the value. Note, parking and internet are extra but there are internet kiosks on the first floor were you can use the internet and print. Very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a plaza view on the highest floor available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We're pleased your room was very clean and that you found our location to be so convenient.

Your comments about concierge and lounge service have been shared with the team. I apologize for the inconveniences these caused you.

Please know we are continuing with a mutli million dollar renovation of the hotel. In 2009, all guestrooms were renovated as was the Oak Room Restaurant, the Oak Bar and the Concierge's Lounge. In 2011, all guestroom balconies were renovated as was the Presidential Suite and all Rooftop meeting space, In 2012, all guestroom corridors will receive new carpet and wall coverings. These are just a few of the improvements made and our owners commitment to improving the hotel each year play an important role in the hotel receiving the AAA 4-diamond award for 20 consecutive years.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    363
    161
    99
    65
See reviews for
298
379
54
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We appreciated the friendly service - from the valets to the people at the front desk. The hotel looks dated from the outside, but it is nice on the inside. We requested an upgrade to an upper floor with a view of the Christmas lights on the Plaza, and we ended up on the 9th floor. The view was great, but we didn't realize we would hear so much noise from the banquet hall on the top level. After a long day of traveling, we were trying to fall asleep at 10:00 PM, but we were kept awake by loud bass, someone on a microphone and what sounded like a live band singing the Animal House song ("A little bit louder now!"). Overall, though, we had a nice stay. The location is great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about the service you received and the hotel's location in the heart of the Country Club Plaza! We know travelers have a choice, and we appreciate you staying with us.

I do apologize that the music from the wedding in the rooftop ballroom was a disturbance to you. We have procedures in place to try and prevent this from occurring, and they will be re-reviewed with our team.

We hope you and your family are having a very happy holiday season!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed here the evening of Dec. 17th for a wedding. I asked for, and received, an upgrade to a Superior King with a balcony. It was a beautiful room, had comfortable beds and a great view of the plaza. All personnel were top-notch!! A great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a balcony. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBlowers48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5-star review! It was great to read you found our team to be top notch. We make every effort to honor upgrade requests and are happy you received yours.

Please know how much we appreciate you choosing to stay at the InterContinental Kansas City!

Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I couldn't believe all the bad reviews I have read recently on this property and I personally found them to be quite untrue. We had a beautiful room wth a view of the Christmas lights on the plaza, everyone was nice and helpful. Bar was great on the 1st floor. Room was very clean and ready for us with lights on and music on TV. Could not have had a better experience. Very quiet room, comfortable bed, well appointed.

Room Tip: I think rooms are a little larger in the wing that is not part of the high rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the 5-star review!

We're very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Whenever a guest tells us it could not have been a better experience, we know we've done our job.

The "deluxe" rooms in the wing section of the hotel are indeed larger than the rooms in the tower. Additionally, they have a larger balcony with a table and two chairs.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we'll look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Kansas City.

Happy Holidays!

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

All the staff at the Intercontinental that we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our room was booked to overlook the Plaza but unfortunately was on the first floor! Not much overlooking there. Room was clean...well maintained...but only stocked for one person. One robe, one decent bath towel, one washcloth. (The other two towels were not what I would use at home.) But on the plus side: comfortable beds, easily controlled heat/air, good lighting, great Sunday brunch in the Oak Room. We might stay here again when we did not care about a view....

Room Tip: If you want a view, specify a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGD35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your positive comments about the friendliness of our staff, the clean room and comfortable bed, the ease of controlling the HVAC system and the great Sunday Brunch in the Oak Room.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the Plaza view from the 1st floor. Some guests prefer a lower floor view and others prefer a higher floor. On your next visit with us, please feel comfortable in contacting me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com and we'll be sure to get you a room on a higher floor.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Been to the InterContinental three times now and love the location but beginning to think the room decor is getting a bit outdated. Jr. suite was plenty large but felt as though more space should have been allocated to the bathroom/dressing area. Location, as I mentioned, is great - right next to the river and Plaza, which was lit up in full holiday glory. Haven't stayed anywhere else in KC to compare but can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Plaza, especially during the holidays. Check with the staff as to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

We're happy to learn you don't think someone can go wrong by staying here! The location really is the best in the entire metropolitan area and the service provided by our team is something we're very proud of, There is never a bad time to stay on the Plaza, but the holidays are very special given the Plaza Lights. I'm glad you were able to enjoy them.

Thanks for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City!

Happy Holidays!

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Excellent service from the moment we were greeted at the door by the valet to Larry at check-in who was extremely professional and courteous. Thie experience and service reminds me of a world class hotel. Comfortable beds, excellent lounge. Great vacation get-away and the views of the Plaza can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlb714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and the "incredible service" provided by the team. Please know we'll share your comments with Larry and the Valets.

We hope to be of further service to you on your next trip to Kansas City.

Happy Holidays!

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,123 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#24 of 109 in Kansas City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Property: InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing