We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Came here for an anniversary weekend. Enjoyed the accommodations and at check in they were kind enough to give us tickets to enjoy the brunch buffet the next morning. The brunch was a disappointment, as most items were cold and flavorless. It was still a kind gesture. I'd return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your anniversary with us and we're glad you enjoyed the accommodations!

We're glad our team provided you with complimentary sunday brunch coupons to help celebrate your special day, but certainly dissappointed to learn the brunch experience did not live up to our standards. Please know your feedback has been shared with our Executive Chef and Director of Outlets. If you would like to let me know the date and time you had brunch, it would help us address the issue. Please feel free to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    366
    163
    100
    66
See reviews for
299
386
54
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Park, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Jut returned from a week long conference that included three days of meetings and workshops in the hotel. Nice guest rooms, facility and location for stepping out for some shopping and dining. The stay included the night the Super Bowl aired and the staff was fabulous to help some of us get supplies put together an in-room viewing party. Great all around experience.

Room Tip: A room facing the Plaza is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimKuipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be very attentive!

We would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I checked in January this year for 3 nights, & my entire stay was inconvenient. The rooms were very small & I didn't understand why the Television faced the right side of the bed. The only way you could watch the T.V. is to turn to your right side (weird). I called down to the front desk to move to a more suitable room. When I moved to my second room, the room was exactly the same as the last room (another trip back down to the front desk). Finally my third room was decent, but the sliding door was broken & I found hairs in the tub. I've never been a big complainer, so I decided not to take a 4th trip to the front desk. Every morning of my stay, I had very little or 0% hot water. The staff seemed very pleasent, the front desk was very eager to please, the bellhop was full of positive energy that can be contagious to even me. The guy working the door was very funny in a good way. I believe that's the only quality that keeps this hotel afloat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with great hot water, if there is a such thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We're glad you enjoyed the hotel's staff and service levels, but very disappointed to learn about the concerns you did have. Even though the area has been experiencing bitter cold weather, we have been able to maintain our optimum water temperatures.

It would be appreciated if you would contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com. This will allow me to make amends, and learn the room numbers you stayed in so we may address the issues you experienced.

Thank you,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is perfectly located adjacent to Country Club Plaza...so you can walk right out and put your credit cards to the test. but it is also perfectly situated for the rest of your KC business if you have a car. The rooms are large and well appointed, though the TV in my room was on the dresser to the side of the bed, so you had to turn your head to the left, or sit at an angle, to watch it, which was uncomfortable. I was on the concierge floor, so I made use of the lounge for the free breakfast (smoked fish, pastries, etc) and the late-night snacks (cookies, fruit, etc). There was also hot tea and coffee available free in the lobby. The lobby bar is big, large, and welcoming for relaxing on your own or with friends/business associates. If the hotel has a drawback, it's that the parking structure and some areas of the building have a very dated feel. It's also clear this hotel has been through several transformations/remodels...it feels like it was patched together from a mid-range Marriott and a Four Seasons. It needs a cohesive refresh. The other surprise was that I didn't get an hotel loyalty club points for my stay because I booked through Orbitz...I've never encountered that before with any other chain. Not an incentive to pick IC over other hotels in the same price range.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeGoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor.

We're glad you enjoyed the large guestroom, the Club Lounge, the Oak Bar and the hotel's superb location!

You are correct, the hotel has operated under several brand flags, including the Ritz Carlton, the Fairmont and the InterContinental. Most of our guests feel the decor in the various areas work very well together, but we do understand that design is a personal preference.

InterContinental does not award points to guests who book through Orbitz or other similar channels, but neither does any other brand to my knowledge, including Marriott, Starwood or Hilton. You will never find lower rates than what is offered through the InterContinental web site, so booking direct is the best way to ensure you receive your points.

Again, thank you for the feedback and we will look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A few hour drive and we are in KC. Such an easy drive to someplace very special. Walking distance to food, shopping and exploring. The canal seems to always have an activity on weekends. Beautiful. We caught Chinese festival with dragon boat parade.
Andres Tea Room is walking distance for confections and quiche. Used to be a StL favorite of the family. They just moved west.
Drive the area if you love architecture. Eat at Houston's for a delicious meal and ambience.

Room Tip: Great location, get the east facing rooms for views, try a breakfast downstairs, keep your eyes peel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLbornandraised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We're glad you were able to make it to the western side of Missouri!

Thanks for the 5-star rating! The Plaza really is a wonderful place, with so much to offer to everyone. The hotel's superior location is perfect for anyone wanting to enjoy the Plaza experience.

Please stay with us again the next time you are in Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Lotawana
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I wanted to check out this property on behalf of friends. We booked a Concierge level suite with a view of the Plaza. Our room 1103 was great. Separate king bedroom with a living area and another bathroom. The Concierge level rooms give you access to their lounge which is open 7 days a week and serves a breakfast (more than a continental), midday snacks, a cocktail hour and a dessert and liqueur hour. All inclusive in the room rate. The hotel restaurant and lobby lounge provide live entertainment as well. If you are in Kansas City and want service book this hotel.

Room Tip: Again book a Concierge level room facing the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelQueen56_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for the 5-star review!

We're certainly pleased to learn you enjoyed your room and the service provided by our team, as well as your experiences in the Club Lounge and outlets.

Please know we appreciate your endorsement of the hotel to other travelers!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We arrived after a long drive from Denver. The staff was waiting for us outside with our keys, a bellman and a smile. My room was cozy clean and up to date, except for the doors. They are very loud and as people start to move around your sleep is over. The location is great. Across the river there are fabulous shops and resturants. Fix the doors and get a full 5 stars!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! We're happy you enjoyed our staff, your guestroom and the hotel's premier location.

As for the door you felt allowed noise into your room - it is possible the sound seal on the door needs to be replaced. If you would like to let me know what room you stayed in, we will be sure to check it out. You may reach me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

We will look forward to serving you the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#9 of 109 in Kansas City
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Property: InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing