We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated noisy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for a meeting and the location is great as it is right across the street from the Plaza. However, the rooms are very dated and the AC unit in my room made almost an explosion type noise whenever it turned on. It actually would startle me awake each night whenever it kicked on, so needless to say I didn't sleep for more than an hour at a time. The banquet rooms where we had our meetings were located in the basement. They were nice but very dated and the service staff was average. There were occasions when we needed assistance and couldn't get anyone down there to help. Also very few electrical outlets in the rooms. Had to run extension cords in.

Room Tip: Make sure your room balcony faces the plaza.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otter2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We regret you left with an impression that is so different from most others who stay with us. Please accept my apologies.

If you would like to share more details so we may make amends and follow-up as appropriate, please do not hesitate to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,547)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a great experience at this hotel. Such a friendly staff from check-in to check-out. They are undergoing remodeling in lounge and Oak Room dining room. This did not hinder the ability of staff to make the evening pleasant with great food and cocktails. Jazz trio in lounge was terrific. Our room was clean and bed very comfortable. We cannot wait to return to KC and enjoy another visit at the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza.

Room Tip: Room with king bed is large and very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlsonrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

We're very happy to learn you found the entire team to be friendly, and that you enjoyed your clean room with a comfortable bed. The live music in the Oak Bar on Wednesday through Saturday nights is very popular with our guests. We're glad you were able to enjoy the Jazz trio. Thank you for your patience while we replaced the flooring around the bar. We transitioned from a wood floor to a black granite tile and it looks great! All work is complete.

It's always gratifying when a guest says they will return. We'll look forward to that day!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My mother and I celebrated a belated Mother's Day with afternoon tea at The Oak Room in the InterContinental Hotel. The manager, Gaspare, was very welcoming and made us feel like we were special guests. The food was delicious, the view was beautiful, and the tea was lovely. My mother and I both just loved the experience, and it is a tradition we hope to continue in years to come!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDiMona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We're honored you chose to celebrate your Mother's Day time with your mom in the Oak Room for your first afternoon tea experience! Thank you for letting us know of Gaspare's involvement in making is a special occasion . We will be sure to share your comments with him.

We hope you do make this an annual tradition. Many families do as it is a great way to create memories!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We came here by "mistake", headed for a different hotel. We're very happy that we did, as our one night here has been lovely. We had a delicious, leisurely lunch in the Oak Room. The head waiter, Gaspare di Rosa Was particularly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river..,
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We're very glad your mistake led you to the InterContinental Kansas City!

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. Gaspare is extremely focused on the guest experience and we will be sure to thank him for making yours such a positive one!

Please stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Billy Clinton in banquet services was the best! Always willing to help, even while busy with others, he always made time to assist! Anything I needed he made it available or fixed immediately. He deserves a raise!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the service Billy Clinton provided you! We will be sure to share your feedback with him.

Please know how much we value and appreciate our relationship with VinSolutions. Thank you for your business! Whenever I may be of service to your company, please do not hesitate to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The service by all staff was excellent, they greeted us by name and we had especially good service from Adrienn Massaglia. Located next to shopping, dining and a wonderful park. We arrived early for our site visit and Adrienn accommodated us with early checkin and rearranged her schedule to meet with us . Every staff we encountered seemed to know our name and provide help. Greeted with a bottle of water as I came into the lobby after a jog.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

It is rewarding to learn you felt the service provided by our team was excellent. Whether it's fundamentals of hospitality such as name recognition, or small touches like having a cold bottle of water ready for guests returning from a jog or walk, service is everything! We will be sure to share your feedback with Adrienn!

We appreciate your interest in our hotel and hope you chose us for your business! The combination of our outstanding service, superior location and great product will certainly be well received by your attendees. Whenever I may be of personal service, please do not hesitate to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel might have received an overall excellent rating but for the terrible service we experienced on two separate dining experiences in the Oak Room. The service from start to finish was extraordinarily slow. No one working there seems to have any sense of customer service including hosts, wait staff and cooks. If it hadn't been for the efforts of Gaspare, our host on these two occasions, we would still be there. Gaspare seems to wear all of the hats at that restaurant. He takes personal interest and responsibility in getting things done when no one else seems motivated to provide service. They need to hire more people like Gaspare!

Room Tip: Ask for a Plaza view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We're pleased to learn Gaspare had such a positive impact on your experience in the Oak Room and we will be sure to share your feedback with him.

I would appreciate the opportunity to learn more details about your experience with other staff in the Oak Room. This will allow us to follow-up as appropriate. You may contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,161 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#7 of 109 in Kansas City
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £166 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing