We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Country Inn - North(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fontaine(Kansas City)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,665)
Filter reviews
1,666 results
Traveller rating
918
387
173
112
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
387
173
112
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconcierge floorcraig walterreubenfront deskchristmas lightsclub levelhappy hourthe entire staffself parkingoakloungeplazaalamedavaletbalconiesbellmanconference
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,150 - 1,155 of 1,666 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a very nice visit at the Intercontinental hotel. The hotel room was very nice, looked to be updated recently. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay great. The weekend morning concierge was outstanding, very friendly and would be the top reason I would come back. The only suggestion, at such a nice hotel, why serve such a cheap house wine. You can do better!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5-star rating!

We're happy to learn our staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make your stay great. We receive so much positive feedback about the experience in our 11th floor Concierge's Lounge. Given all the complimentary offerings served, there really is great value in this upgrade.

Thank you for your feedback on our house wine. I hope the screw top didn't give you a negative first impression. It really is a nice varietal and many wineries are moving away from corked bottles.

We will look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for a meeting and the location is great as it is right across the street from the Plaza. However, the rooms are very dated and the AC unit in my room made almost an explosion type noise whenever it turned on. It actually would startle me awake each night whenever it kicked on, so needless to say I didn't sleep for more than an hour at a time. The banquet rooms where we had our meetings were located in the basement. They were nice but very dated and the service staff was average. There were occasions when we needed assistance and couldn't get anyone down there to help. Also very few electrical outlets in the rooms. Had to run extension cords in.

Room Tip: Make sure your room balcony faces the plaza.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otter2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We regret you left with an impression that is so different from most others who stay with us. Please accept my apologies.

If you would like to share more details so we may make amends and follow-up as appropriate, please do not hesitate to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a great experience at this hotel. Such a friendly staff from check-in to check-out. They are undergoing remodeling in lounge and Oak Room dining room. This did not hinder the ability of staff to make the evening pleasant with great food and cocktails. Jazz trio in lounge was terrific. Our room was clean and bed very comfortable. We cannot wait to return to KC and enjoy another visit at the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza.

Room Tip: Room with king bed is large and very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlsonrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

We're very happy to learn you found the entire team to be friendly, and that you enjoyed your clean room with a comfortable bed. The live music in the Oak Bar on Wednesday through Saturday nights is very popular with our guests. We're glad you were able to enjoy the Jazz trio. Thank you for your patience while we replaced the flooring around the bar. We transitioned from a wood floor to a black granite tile and it looks great! All work is complete.

It's always gratifying when a guest says they will return. We'll look forward to that day!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My mother and I celebrated a belated Mother's Day with afternoon tea at The Oak Room in the InterContinental Hotel. The manager, Gaspare, was very welcoming and made us feel like we were special guests. The food was delicious, the view was beautiful, and the tea was lovely. My mother and I both just loved the experience, and it is a tradition we hope to continue in years to come!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDiMona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We're honored you chose to celebrate your Mother's Day time with your mom in the Oak Room for your first afternoon tea experience! Thank you for letting us know of Gaspare's involvement in making is a special occasion . We will be sure to share your comments with him.

We hope you do make this an annual tradition. Many families do as it is a great way to create memories!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We came here by "mistake", headed for a different hotel. We're very happy that we did, as our one night here has been lovely. We had a delicious, leisurely lunch in the Oak Room. The head waiter, Gaspare di Rosa Was particularly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river..,
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We're very glad your mistake led you to the InterContinental Kansas City!

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. Gaspare is extremely focused on the guest experience and we will be sure to thank him for making yours such a positive one!

Please stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews