We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality and convenient location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel while in town for a conference and was very pleased with my two nights there. The standout was the phenomenal and friendly service. The entire staff goes out of their way to accommodate you and ensure that your stay is comfortable. The rooms were very spacious and with an adequate, separate work area and a very comfortable bed.

The hotel is conveniently located near the Country Club Plaza area of the city, which is very nice and full of shopping, dining and entertainment options.

In conclusion, this hotel would be my first choice upon returning to Kansas City.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

In the Midwest, we provide ourselves on hospitality so it is rewarding to have you use the word "phenomenal" to describe the service provided by our team!

We're very happy to know the InterContinental Kansas City will be your first choice for lodging the next time you are in the area. We'll look forward to that time!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    363
    161
    99
    65
See reviews for
298
379
54
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife, son, daughter in law and their family spent the Memorial Day weekend at the Intercontinental Hotel. The warm welcome of Ed and Bob at the entrance, the excellent service of the bellmen Phil and Robert, and the fine work of Debra in housekeeping helped make our stay an enjoyable one. The rooms on the Concierge level overlooking the Plaza were a treat for our family especially the two young children who loved the view. The bedding was excellent and the room was neat and clean. Robes and slippers are a nice extra touch. Kent and Craig in the Concierge Room made every effort to be sure we enjoyed the amenities offered there. We have stayed at the Intercontinental a number of times and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: The Concierge Floor is worth the extra expense. Try to secure a room overlooking the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1948_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments and for the 5-star rating!

We appreciate you letting us know how much you and your family enjoyed your experience and the service provided by Ed, Bob, Phil, Robert, Debra, Craig and Kent! We will be sure to share your comments with each of them.

Please know we appreciate your loyalty to the hotel and we look forward to your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me whenever I may be of service.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
481 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a very nice visit at the Intercontinental hotel. The hotel room was very nice, looked to be updated recently. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay great. The weekend morning concierge was outstanding, very friendly and would be the top reason I would come back. The only suggestion, at such a nice hotel, why serve such a cheap house wine. You can do better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5-star rating!

We're happy to learn our staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make your stay great. We receive so much positive feedback about the experience in our 11th floor Concierge's Lounge. Given all the complimentary offerings served, there really is great value in this upgrade.

Thank you for your feedback on our house wine. I hope the screw top didn't give you a negative first impression. It really is a nice varietal and many wineries are moving away from corked bottles.

We will look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln Nebraska
Level Contributor
206 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for a meeting and the location is great as it is right across the street from the Plaza. However, the rooms are very dated and the AC unit in my room made almost an explosion type noise whenever it turned on. It actually would startle me awake each night whenever it kicked on, so needless to say I didn't sleep for more than an hour at a time. The banquet rooms where we had our meetings were located in the basement. They were nice but very dated and the service staff was average. There were occasions when we needed assistance and couldn't get anyone down there to help. Also very few electrical outlets in the rooms. Had to run extension cords in.

Room Tip: Make sure your room balcony faces the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otter2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We regret you left with an impression that is so different from most others who stay with us. Please accept my apologies.

If you would like to share more details so we may make amends and follow-up as appropriate, please do not hesitate to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a great experience at this hotel. Such a friendly staff from check-in to check-out. They are undergoing remodeling in lounge and Oak Room dining room. This did not hinder the ability of staff to make the evening pleasant with great food and cocktails. Jazz trio in lounge was terrific. Our room was clean and bed very comfortable. We cannot wait to return to KC and enjoy another visit at the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza.

Room Tip: Room with king bed is large and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlsonrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

We're very happy to learn you found the entire team to be friendly, and that you enjoyed your clean room with a comfortable bed. The live music in the Oak Bar on Wednesday through Saturday nights is very popular with our guests. We're glad you were able to enjoy the Jazz trio. Thank you for your patience while we replaced the flooring around the bar. We transitioned from a wood floor to a black granite tile and it looks great! All work is complete.

It's always gratifying when a guest says they will return. We'll look forward to that day!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My mother and I celebrated a belated Mother's Day with afternoon tea at The Oak Room in the InterContinental Hotel. The manager, Gaspare, was very welcoming and made us feel like we were special guests. The food was delicious, the view was beautiful, and the tea was lovely. My mother and I both just loved the experience, and it is a tradition we hope to continue in years to come!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDiMona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We're honored you chose to celebrate your Mother's Day time with your mom in the Oak Room for your first afternoon tea experience! Thank you for letting us know of Gaspare's involvement in making is a special occasion . We will be sure to share your comments with him.

We hope you do make this an annual tradition. Many families do as it is a great way to create memories!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We came here by "mistake", headed for a different hotel. We're very happy that we did, as our one night here has been lovely. We had a delicious, leisurely lunch in the Oak Room. The head waiter, Gaspare di Rosa Was particularly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river..,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We're very glad your mistake led you to the InterContinental Kansas City!

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. Gaspare is extremely focused on the guest experience and we will be sure to thank him for making yours such a positive one!

Please stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,123 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#24 of 109 in Kansas City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Property: InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing