We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Service- Fair Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I enjoy staying at this hotel. The ability to walk to the Plaza is a huge plus. They were having some A/C issues during my stay, but I'll chalk that up to the first truly hot weather of the Summer.

The pool is awesome and there is a nice little bar in the lobby. The food is good, but there's no real reason to eat there with so many great restaurants across the street.

Bang for the buck (considering the location), I don't think it can be beat.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank FundingPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor!

We're glad you enjoyed the service provided by our team, your experiences at the pool and in the Oak Bar, and the hotel's incredible location!

We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I come to the Intercontinental at least 2 or 3 times a year and it's our favorite place to stay in Kansas City! We especially love the Concierge Lounge on the 11th Floor. There are 2 Concierges that we feel are exceptional. Craig who works evenings and Kent who works mornings - on the weekends mainly ( I think). They are both outstanding - helpful, We think they are probably the biggest reasons why we keep coming back. They make you feel so welcome and taken care of. It's a must to visit!

Room Tip: Plaza View for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor. We love it when our locals stay with us! Thank you also for your loyalty to the hotel!

We're glad you were able to enjoy Craig and Kent's service. They each really are amazing!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly whenever I may be of service during any of your future stays!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Loved this hotel, great view, beautiful and clean room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We sat out by the pool and enjoyed the sun one evening. Great location, close to shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovewarmweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

"Great view, beautiful & clean room and very friendly staff"....thank you for sharing your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

When we decided to take a quick trip to KC over the 4th of July we chose the InterContinental. All I can say is the Team at the IC was very good. This hotel needs plenty of updating. Look I'm not against old hotels what I'm against is a Hotel with a high end reputation letting itself get very dated.
First do something with floors when you enter, blah. Then the rooms you can only put so much caulking around the tubs and vanity top. Lets change the wallpaper, very depressing. Oh and the carpet it can't be cleaned anymore! Now the pool area well have you done anything with the seating? metal chairs w part of the seat missing! Come on IC for what you get a night do something. I can't give you a better rating too bad for the team.

Room Tip: if you must stay here ask for a north viewing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Although it was surprising because it is very different from what we typically hear, it is nonetheless appreciated. Most guests love the marble tile throughout the lobby, and feel our rooms show very well. We are very proud to have earned the AAA 4-diamond award for 22 consecutive years, more than any other hotel in Kansas City.

We are glad you enjoyed the service provided by our team.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our recent stay at the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza was terrific. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Checkin/checkout was quick and efficient. Our 7th floor room was quiet, fresh, stylish and very spacious. The bed, very comfy! From our room balcony, we had an outstanding view of the plaza. The pool area is a little oasis in the midst of the busy city. Be sure to stop in at the Oak Bar, just off the lobby. Try the crab cake and a cold local brew. Conveniently located to shopping, restaurants and many KC attractions, we will definitely return to the InterContinental on future trips to Kansas City and the Plaza.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Plaza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trtzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback.

To receive such high praise from a seasoned traveler is very gratifying! We're very happy you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed your experiences at the pool and in the Oak Bar! The view from the balconies really is special, so we're glad you were able to enjoy it. Thank you for also mentioning our quick and efficient check-in and check-out. Nobody likes a long goodbye!

Please stay with us again the next time you visit the area!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The bridal couple offered a block of rooms with terrific prices at this beautiful hotel in KC's "Plaza" district. They couldn't have made a better choice! (Full disclosure, the reception was in the IC's Rooftop Ballroom with fantastic views of the city on a perfect evening). During our two night stay we had a chance to savor room service breakfast fare, lunch in the Oak Room, some time at their outdoor pool space (truthfully, the one snag in our stay because the hotel sells community pool memberships and, on a July day with temps in the low 80's, low humidity and a clear blue sky, there were tons of 'members' there ... considerably more crowded than you'd expect for an elite hotel). However, overall the stay was wonderful, the staff were terrific and it was great to be able to stroll across "the Creek" to shop and dine.

Room Tip: Hard to say since we were only there once - but we heard no complaints from others who stayed in oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrianHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor!

It sounds like you were able to sample much of what the hotel has to offer during your weekend stay, and we are obviously very happy to learn you enjoyed your experience as much as you did!

We'll look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our first stay at the InterCon in KC. Room was nice size. Bed comfy. Staff excellent! Best part was location, location, location! Steps away from the best of the shops at the Plaza. I was in KC for business, but brought along my bride as we were visiting our daughter in the area when my business was complete. Room service was tasty and a fair value with more than generous portions. Frankly, we were a little disappointed there was no complimentary internet. With hotels at half the price offering complimentary internet, we felt like we were being "nickel and dimed" on this service. $12/day for internet was not reasonable. Top that with the computer in their "business center" with charges of $6/15 minutes... I suppose we weren't in that hotel just to surf the internet, but geez... Also disappointed to discover that they are removing the small refrigerators from the rooms (ours was already gone). With such great restaurants nearby, almost all with giant servings that you just can't finish in one seating, we couldn't bring our leftovers back to the room to enjoy later.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peak2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback!

We're very glad you enjoyed your guestroom, the room service experience and of course, the hotel's superior location!

As for charging for internet access, the hotel does charge for access as most of the hotels in the area do so, However, access is complimentary for IHG Reward Club Members and any guest may become a member at any time. There is no cost to join and enrollment takes less than a minute! We would encourage you to allow us to enroll you during your next visit! We will look forward to that time!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,194 reviews
0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £118 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and elegance amidst Kansas City's finest in shopping and dining, the InterContinental Kansas City at the Country Club Plaza is the destination for leisure and business travel. The hotel completed a very extensive renovation in March 2017, giving a contemporary feel to a landmark hotel in Kansas City's premier location for shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing