We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Would recommend this hotel to any couple wanting to have a romantic getaway. Next to the plaza with great dining and many things to do.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrytman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Thank you for such a nice review. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had never stayed at the Raphael before, but we will be back. The service was impeccable; the staff was most courteous and attentive. The rooms were clean and lovely. The location is excellent. You walk across the river to Country Club Plaza. I have nothing negative to say about our time at the Raphael. It was a really first rate experience.

Finally, I normally am not a fan of hotel restaurants, but the Raphael's restaurant, Chaz delivered a superb meal; I highly recommend giving it a shot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We took advantage of the incredible extended Happy Hour outside the Hotel on a Saturday evening! Not only was the food awesome...Sea Bass, Steak Burgers, the BEST FRIES EVER...the drinks were cool and refreshing! The waitstaff was chic, smooth and just the right dose of social. Loved the bartender's special Iced Tea with a kick! The view of the Plaza is one of the best and we truly enjoyed the Strings on the Green Ensemble....VERY CLASSY!

Making our way inside toward the Club we tested tasty morsels of chocolate chip mini muffins , topped with whipping cream and a fresh blueberry. Another refreshing beverage, somewhat like a Ruby Red Grapefruit and Lemonade Splash accompanied the tray of goodies.

Seated in the Club we were treated to fabulous service, a jovial pair of bartenders and the best trio we had heard in years...upbeat jazz/pop tunes with a KC twist...you have to see the cardboard box drum....CLASSIC! Don't miss this Plaza ...MUST!

We are looking forward to returning...tonight as a matter of fact!

Room Tip: face the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacschutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I spent 2 nights at The Raphael on a recent business trip, and enjoyed many unexpected delights during my stay.

Upon checkin, the bell hop quickly greeted me and offered to handle my car and luggage. The front desk clerk was helpful and offered several tips for my stay. While those are both expected services at many hotels, the cheerful attitude and genuine care seemed a step above the usual.

I had a corner room, which was well-appointed and very clean, with a comfortable bed (always a plus!). The delight was that the room was both functional and a bit unconventional in shape and style. I felt more at home than a usual hotel.

My reservation came with breakfast coupons (not sure if this is standard or just a rewards member perk). The unusual delight is that the coupon was good for room service breakfast as well as restaurant service. Most hotel food coupons require a visit to the restaurant, but this one included room service. That was unexpected and welcomed!

I ordered room service both mornings. The first morning was fantastic... The food was hot, fresh, and the server took extra time to bring the newspaper, arrange everything on the table, and created a nice in-room dining experience. Unfortunately, the second morning's room service breakfast was almost the opposite... My eggs were cold and oatmeal barely lukewarm. It was free, and this was the only "miss" during my stay, so it's easily overlooked.

I am already scheduled to return to this hotel next month, and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlgrl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have traveled to Kansas City many times over the last several years, and each time have stayed in a different hotel. I have to say, this hotel was the cleanest!! It was very elegant as well. The location enabled us to walk across a pleasant bridge into the Plaza for shopping and meals. Museums and other attractions were available nearby as well (we drove to those). This is a very easy city to get around in anyway, but the Raphael is a very convenient hotel whether you are driving or walking. Parking was available as well, in a well lit, gated area.
Overall a very enjoyable stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrispyNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

While the physical building feels somewhat like an old YMCA, the common areas and rooms are beautifully appointed. The room was a bit small - a single with a king overlooking the plaza - but it was nicely decorated and extremely functional (desk, tv, wifi).

The staff was welcoming and very helpful (printing off my boarding pass behind the desk when the biz center printer broke; good suggestions for dinner).

I found the location great too. Right across from the Plaza meant I could stretch my legs after a day off meetings and walk to a broad range of dinner choices.

I didn't have breakfast but someone at check out couldn't stop talking about the custom made omelets, waffles, etc.

Not the cheapest hotel - about $220 after taxes per night - but MUCH nicer that any of the typical choices.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsilver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Thank you for your kind words. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Views of the famous Country Club Plaza and Brush Creek, Chaz fine dining restaurant with nice wine list, updated rooms with luxury amenities while maintaining the glorious ambience of an older more elegant era. So many photo ops for special occasions I can't even count them.

Valet and complimentary self parking makes walking to shop, eat, or party on the Plaza a breeze. Poplular with the business traveler because of the central location. Easy to get to the Kansas business core or downtown. World famous Nelson art gallery, parks, and city tennis courts within 1 mile or less.

Room Tip: Views of the plaza to the north- Brush Creek to the east -all times of the year. Business Room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinGal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,172 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
2,249 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £199 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing