We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming older hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming older hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Raphael is an older hotel, built in the 1920's, with lots of quirky charm. The rooms are not all the same and some of them are a little small, so you might want to consder an upgrade. The location is excellent if you are planning to spend some time on the Country Club Plaza. Lots of great food and shopping within walkinng distance. Valet parking is complimentary which is a plus. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye-Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    121
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
146
383
37
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

.We recently stayed at the Raphael for a quick getaway with my husband. This hotel offers top notch service and a convenient location to visit Country Club Plaza. The hotel is directly across the street from Country Club Plaza making dining and shopping very easy. Many of the top restaurants in Kansas City are located in Country Club plaza. Hotel also has nice touches such as complimentary valet parking, free NY Times & Wall Street Journal and a free business center or wireless in the hotel. Lobby coffee & tea, fresh fruit and brownies in the evening were also appreciated. Our room was a standard king and bedding was very comfortable with high grade linens. The only improvement would be in the shower & toilet area of the bathroom. Somewhat tight but the dressing vanity and sink are separate so it was workable. The room also had a small refrigerator and had an in room coffee maker with tea as well. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jettstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed for a few days so we could enjoy the plaza. The staff was terrific and completely at your service. Our room #905 was better that we could have imagined and the bathroom set up one of the best in our recent travels. This hotel is perfect and we would return for a follow up stay in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSGCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband and I decided to stay at the Raphael to take in the sights of the Country Club Plaza nearby. The staff, ambiance, room and restaurant/lounge were quite exceptional. We were so impressed with every aspect of our stay. The staff could not be any friendlier and helpful. When we were checking out, we noticed that our car had already been pulled around from valet and was waiting for us. Definitely the place to stay when visiting Kansas City.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbrown49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed here for a Christmas business evening. I had not stayed here some time but it was just as I remembered it. The staff was excellant and anticipatory of our needs. The suite was also very nice. The bathroom is small but I am over 6 feet tall and I had no problems manuevering due to clever positioning of the fixtures. We did not eat at the resutrant this time but it appeared as full as the last time we visited. Overall, an outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: If you come during the holidays ask for a Plaza view room. These north facing rooms give an excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stressn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I came to town for a conference and they put me in this hotel. As a frame of reference let me say that I've traveled the world and have stayed in everything from the finest hotels to the worst youth hostel. I loved this hotel. The staff, the superfast check in, the ambiance, the spacious well-appointed room, the proximity to the places that I needed to go, the adjoining SELF PARKING (did I mention that parking was included), the amenities (fast internet), the lounge area, the bar, the live music, the cookies!, the room service, and the fast checkout. I don't want to oversell it in my review but it was an amazing stay. So much so that I've spent the last week trying to convince the guy I'm dating that we should spend a romantic weekend in Kansas City at the Raphael. I'm fighting a losing battle. He's looking at the price tag without ever having stayed there. Unfortunately, we'll be staying at another hotel this weekend but next time, oh, next time - St. Raphael!

Room Tip: Plaza view? Maybe that's extra?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed in one of the Presidential Suites. Separate bedroom, living room, nice bath and separate room with large jacuzzi tub with flat screen above. Very close to Plaza. Excellent place to celebrate an anniversary. Free parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhuskers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#23 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing