We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful service, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful service, excellent location”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The service at the Raphael was impeccable-- from the valet to the front desk to room service, they were all friendly, professional and clearly recognized us each time we came and went from the hotel. The room was on the small side, but perfectly clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is understated and beautiful. Location was great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5travellersinthefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    123
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
146
386
37
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Midpoint between our home (SGF) & our son's family in Omaha, we were spoiled by the understated luxury of The Raphael, only exceeded by the quality of their staff. What a marvelous way to spend a weekend with family.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTRSpringfield_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I am just a traveler sitting in Room 106 at this time, and I will make this short and sweet with the list of things wrong with the hotel room.
1. There were cigarette ashes in the sink when we arrived. (non smoking room?)
2. The heater in the room was not working (staff were nice and took $30 off the room cost).
3. You can hear the dish washing staff in the kitchen. The night crew likes hard rock and the morning crew likes contemporary rock music.
4. The pipes were banging in the morning (it's an old hotel, you can understand this).
5. The loading dock is outside the window, so if you like diesel exhaust in the morning great room.
The reason for the poor rating and not the terrible rating.
1. The staff people are supper nice and just what you can expect from Kansas City.
2. What other people say is true, great hotel, great location.

In review, if you get room 106 ask for a different room. I am sure they will accommodate you. They should think about turning this room into break room for the staff, but then again that would be cruel.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Raphael is an older hotel, built in the 1920's, with lots of quirky charm. The rooms are not all the same and some of them are a little small, so you might want to consder an upgrade. The location is excellent if you are planning to spend some time on the Country Club Plaza. Lots of great food and shopping within walkinng distance. Valet parking is complimentary which is a plus. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye-Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

.We recently stayed at the Raphael for a quick getaway with my husband. This hotel offers top notch service and a convenient location to visit Country Club Plaza. The hotel is directly across the street from Country Club Plaza making dining and shopping very easy. Many of the top restaurants in Kansas City are located in Country Club plaza. Hotel also has nice touches such as complimentary valet parking, free NY Times & Wall Street Journal and a free business center or wireless in the hotel. Lobby coffee & tea, fresh fruit and brownies in the evening were also appreciated. Our room was a standard king and bedding was very comfortable with high grade linens. The only improvement would be in the shower & toilet area of the bathroom. Somewhat tight but the dressing vanity and sink are separate so it was workable. The room also had a small refrigerator and had an in room coffee maker with tea as well. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jettstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed for a few days so we could enjoy the plaza. The staff was terrific and completely at your service. Our room #905 was better that we could have imagined and the bathroom set up one of the best in our recent travels. This hotel is perfect and we would return for a follow up stay in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSGCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband and I decided to stay at the Raphael to take in the sights of the Country Club Plaza nearby. The staff, ambiance, room and restaurant/lounge were quite exceptional. We were so impressed with every aspect of our stay. The staff could not be any friendlier and helpful. When we were checking out, we noticed that our car had already been pulled around from valet and was waiting for us. Definitely the place to stay when visiting Kansas City.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbrown49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#23 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing