We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in KC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We have been coming to the Raphael for about 15 years. It’s the boutique hotel standard against which I measure all other hotels. We were there on a weekend in January because we had a Marriott coupon we needed to use before it expired. Due to the cold weather, we hung out in Chaz quite a bit – jazz on both nights. When we did want to get out to eat or shop, we were steps away from Country Club Plaza. As usual the hotel service was excellent, the suite was quiet, and the beds were comfortable. I wish every hotel was like this.

Room Tip: Go for a suite. Don't stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZKIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

Overall, this is an excellent hotel and had a great view of the Christmas lights in Country Club Plaza. Two negatives were that our room request (upper floors, away from elevator, and quiet) were not fulfilled at check-in and that the restaurant service for breakfast was lackadaisical. One room we were shown had a very fresh paint smell (it is good that they keep up maintance year-round.) In solving the problem of the room assignment, the staff was very courteous and helpful. As it turned out, noise was not really a problem as the building quality is good. The food at breakfast was excellent and we had come in at the very end of the serving period.
The "Plaza view" is worth extra dollars, and expecially so at the Christmas season.
"Jack Stack" Bar-b-que in Country Club Plaza is a short walk and a great place to experience some of Kansas City's most famous cuisine. The symphony hall at the new Performing Arts Center is comparable to Disney Hall in LA. The KC Fine Arts museum is also excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael21tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Raphael is our favorite place to stay in KC. What has started out to be one night stays turned into 2 and 3 day stays. The Chaz is a great place to eat, drink, and be intertained. First class old grand hotel charm, but totally up to date in technology and facility. The people are what truly makes it a great place, but the rest just is just frosting on the cake!

Room Tip: When I commented on how nice the rooms were, I was told that the hotel had just undergone a total re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 67,401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The lights on the Country Club Plaza are famous, but not all hotels will guarentee you a view. The Raphael Hotel is a beautiful restored hotel with a wonderful staff and they will help you with the type of room and view you wish. We go there for our December anniversary and we have been married for over 40 years! The hotel is across the street from some of the best shopping and restaurants Kansas City has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor and above facing the plaza for the best view of the holiday lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sabath67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The service at the Raphael was impeccable-- from the valet to the front desk to room service, they were all friendly, professional and clearly recognized us each time we came and went from the hotel. The room was on the small side, but perfectly clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is understated and beautiful. Location was great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5travellersinthefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Midpoint between our home (SGF) & our son's family in Omaha, we were spoiled by the understated luxury of The Raphael, only exceeded by the quality of their staff. What a marvelous way to spend a weekend with family.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTRSpringfield_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I am just a traveler sitting in Room 106 at this time, and I will make this short and sweet with the list of things wrong with the hotel room.
1. There were cigarette ashes in the sink when we arrived. (non smoking room?)
2. The heater in the room was not working (staff were nice and took $30 off the room cost).
3. You can hear the dish washing staff in the kitchen. The night crew likes hard rock and the morning crew likes contemporary rock music.
4. The pipes were banging in the morning (it's an old hotel, you can understand this).
5. The loading dock is outside the window, so if you like diesel exhaust in the morning great room.
The reason for the poor rating and not the terrible rating.
1. The staff people are supper nice and just what you can expect from Kansas City.
2. What other people say is true, great hotel, great location.

In review, if you get room 106 ask for a different room. I am sure they will accommodate you. They should think about turning this room into break room for the staff, but then again that would be cruel.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,171 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
2,249 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £203 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing