We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Boutique Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First Class Boutique Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I had the pleasure to spend a night at The Raphael Hotel. Everything about it was First Class! From the ease of parking or free valet service, to the amazing service given to us by William at the front desk, to the beautiful and elegant suite, to sitting by the outdoor fire pit! Wonderful location to the Plaza and all the shopping and dining it has to offer! I can't wait for my travels to take me back there and spend more time at The Raphael Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jewmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Everyone at The Raphael especially William at the Front Desk, work hard to deliver First Class service. I am very pleased to hear you were able to experience the complimentary valet parking, the elegant suite and the outside patio to watch the shoppers on the Plaza. We look forward to your return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    118
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
142
373
37
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I traveled to Kansas City for a weekend get away. We couldn't decide between the Raphael and the Intercontinental across the street. So we booked a night in each. The Raphael was definitely the better choice. Even the it cost a little more, by the time we payed for valet across the street, the cost difference was not that much. It was my birthday and we had booked a standard king room, they upgraded us to a king suite with a plaza view. The staff were friendly and professional. I love the little touches this hotel provides like fresh fruit in the lobby. Cookies and tea in the afternoon. Two firepits outside where you can sit and drink your coffee. The shower, bath, bed were all amazing. Two big t.v.'s in the room (the competition across the street has very small t.v.s) Free valet. I also love that they give you bath salts along with their other nice toiletries. We ate in their restaurant, The Chaz and enjoyed a good meal along with wonderful life jazz. A memorable weekend, I can't wait to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for spending your birthday with us. The Plaza view suites are wonderful and so glad you took advantage of the great weather to enjoy the patio. As you found out Chaz offers outstanding food along with great Jazz. We are very happy you stayed with us and we look forward to seeing you next year for your birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Recently stayed here in their presidential suite and had wonderful time. Purchased a package to stay and dine in their restaurant. Made the "trip" a suprise birthday present for my boyfriend's birthday and the staff was incredibly accomadating and friendly. The hotel is historic and beautiful but still has a crisp, clean feel. Our room lacked nothing. The jacuzzi and shower were amazing! The room service from the restaurant was the best I've ever had. Everyone fromt the valet to the front desk were helpful in faciltating the suprise with me and provided nothing but the highest quality service. We will definately be back many times over.

Room Tip: Great views of the Counrty Club Plaza on the north side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for celebrating your boyfriend’s birthday at The Raphael and Chaz. The staff enjoys helping make every special event a lifetime memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at The Raphael to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We reserved a plaza view 2 room king suite. We were given Room 902, which was a corner room on the top floor...the view was fantastic! We were also greeted with a bottle of wine, compliments of The Raphael.The room was lovely! The furnishings and amenities were first class.

I will echo the previous review regarding the Staff - they were exceptionally attentive and helpful and also very friendly.

We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant - The Chaz. It was the perfect conclusion to a very special day. The food and service were excellent.

Thank you Raphael for making our anniversary so special!

I

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary. Suite 902 has a great view of the plaza and a very comfortable room to relax with a bottle of wine. Thank you for making us a part of this very important celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Ne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at the Rahpael, and it won't be the last. The entire facility was extremely clean, classy and elegant. It is one of the best locations in the Plaza area. Staff are very warm and helpful. The Chaz restaurant was fabulous. I gave the room only a 4 rating because this is the first time we stayed in a standard room and they are a little small. Sport for a larger one if you can afford it. No gouging on the parking - it's free! Take the breakfast option, it's a deal. Staying here is not cheap, but well worth it. You will enjoy this place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalTraveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for staying at The Raphael and dining in Chaz. We agree with you that the food in Chaz is fabulous. Charles d’Ablaing our Chef does an outstanding job with all the food operations. Thank you, and we look forward to your fourth return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Once in a very great while you stumble across something truly unique and special. The Raphael is such a place, from the exceptionally attentive and helpful bellmen, to the efficient front desk, to the first class restaurant, and the best nights sleep I've had in years. I almost asked if I could buy a complete bed to take home, but who wants to go home when you can be treated like royalty. The rooms are beautiful, and comfortable with every convenience and amenity imaginable. All this located across a scenic canal from the Plaza, the beautiful shopping and restaurant hub of the city. You owe yourself this experience!

Unfortunately for the competition, we now have this as a benchark and are likely to be disappointed until our next visit to the Raphael.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic but the northern exposures have an especially great view of the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
I am very happy you stumbled upon The Raphael Hotel. As you noted The Raphael is positioned perfectly next to the Country Club Plaza. I will pass along your compliments to the staff. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

First strike: Made a reservation, only to show up after dinner with no room available. So, we stayed at the InterContinental across the street, and loved the hotel. Rooms have better views, and balconies for coffee in the morning overlooking the Plaza.
Second strike: The Raphael comped us a room for the hassle, and we took them up on it. When we arrived at 9:30 after a show, although the desk clerk knew the room was comped, she wouldn't let us stay unless we had the paper with my name on it! (Even though I had picture ID's and credit cards.) Her response was, "Well, you can drive home and get it." (!) The supervisor was not on site, and she wouldn't call him. So, we drove home and called the supervisor. He agreed that nowhere did it say we needed the piece of paper to check in. Raphael's response was to offer to pay for dinner. I wouldn't walk across the street to stay at this hotel if you paid me for it! (There will be no opportunity for a third strike!) The service is abysmal! It's too bad...the location is great.
Besides, the Intercontinental has much, much, more to offer.
Don't say you weren't warned!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kimber E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
I would very much like to review this situation with you. If you could please send your email address and phone number I will be in contact with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing