We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I was completely blown away by this hotel. I travel a lot and the level of service from the staff, to the condition and amenities in the room were top notch. I travel a lot for work and it was a pleasure to discover this amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal and the plaza. Fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexanderlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Unexpected, now that you have discovered us, please make us your regular stop for both business and pleasure. Thank you for your great comments about the staff and hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

No cookie cutter rooms here! Had a room on the 9th floor that was very nice. Plenty of closet space, plenty of room. did not have the best view, mine was mainly of the Hotel Intercontinental across the street, but in talking to a few other guests, there are some rooms that offer a great view of the park or the Plaza, would suggest that you ask for one of them. The main room had a very nice HD flat screen along with one of the newer Keurig coffee makers. Wireless internet access was available and included in the price of the room. There was a mini bar available and surprisingly enough the prices were actually reasonable for the beverages and snacks. No $10.00 peanuts here. A very nice table and workstation were also in the room. To often you get a mini-bar and no room to put your drinks or items that you might like to keep cool. This room had both, which was an added plus. The bedroom was nice and for you iPod people, had a alarm radio which also charged your iPod at the base.
The bathroom has a nice soaking tub and shower, a little small, but it got the job done. The service was very good and the staff go out of their way to ensure that your needs are met. All in all a very good stay and you might do cheaper, but you won't do better in Kansas City.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DywaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Everyone needs to be pampered and it sounds like that was accomplished with your stay at The Raphael. Thank you for enjoying the many amenities that The Raphael offers. We look forward to your next pampering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

What a wonderful treat in KC! This all suite hotel offers all the amenities you'd expect to find in a much pricier hotel. Perfectly clean, wonderful robes, nice bath amenities, comfy towels and linens
and Key Lime pie chocolate waiting in my room upon arrival? Not to mention the complimentary valet parking and wireless? I won't stay anywhere else in KC!
The decor is relaxing and the business traveler has plenty of room to spread out.
I didn't have an opportunity to enjoy the restaurant on property, but it sounds wonderful. My in-room dining was perfect. Can't wait to come back. Oh, and the staff is great too :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britajulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us and using Raphael’s signature bath amenities. It’s great to hear that we could accommodate your business traveling need with the large desks. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Wow, this is a great historic hotel. The employees from both the hotel and the restaurant Chaz were exceptional. My little girl felt like Eloise from the Plaza hotel in New York. The rooms were elegant and very clean. The breakfast served in the room was wonderful. I can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCfromMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

What an honor to say your daughter felt like Eloise from The Plaza in New York. The staff takes great pride in making everyone feel welcomed and special. Thank you very much for spending your girls weekend at The Raphael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed three nights and fell in love with the hotel. Food was really good and the bar in the evening was superb with live music, the bed was wonderful but it was the staff who really made the place. They were really attentive and friendly without being over the top. But the hotel is also brilliantly positioned so you can walk to a huge range of excellent shops and restaurants. It was a great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashteadbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for the great comment about our attentive staff. We are very proud of the level of service they provide to each and every guest. Thank you for joining us in Chaz for food and live music. We look forward to your return to The Raphael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a really wonderful hotel at an unbelievable price. We were on another cross country road trip, this time without the husband. He flew to Denver to meet us for a three day trip and wanted to go to Kansas City, Missouri to sample some famous barbecue. Since he would have only three days and we had three weeks I decided to splurge on a nice hotel and opted for the breakfast package. First of all, the drive from Denver to KC along 70 is spectacular. We had driven part way a few years ago but this time went the entire way and it was beautiful with green rolling hills and lovely farm houses. Spring was in all it's glory. I chose this hotel because it had free valet and free parking, something you don't usually get in a fine hotel. Of course you have to tip like mad but we don't often stay in luxury hotels. We paid mid $300s for a large suite with breakfast for four. Internet was also free and they had the Wall Street Journal. They also had cookies and juice and coffee in the lobby. I missed it but the kids told me about it.

The building itself started life as an apartment building almost 100 years ago. It has a lot of the fantastic character of an old building but fully modernized. I'm originally from San Francisco and it reminded me of my old Edwardian house and was also reminiscent of the Empress Hotel in Victoria, BC. Every person we encountered was fanstastic and we were greeted by every employee with "enjoy your stay" from a maid cleaning a room we passed to a gentleman on the elevator. The view of the river and the fountains was fanstastic. The neighborhood was wonderful. We had only a couple of hours but made the most of our time. The kids loved the giant rabbit statues around town. We saw as we were leaving it was near a museum. I was sorry we didn't have more time but we are already planning a return trip to Kansas City to see what other delights this beautiful city has to offer. It was not at all what we imagined it would be.

There is no pool. I was actually happy about that so I wouldn't be pressured to take the kids swimming and miss walking around Kansas City.

If you have the opportunity to be in the KC area do yourself a favor and splurge on a stay at this hotel. On those rare occasions when we have stayed in 5 star hotels we've paid hundreds more and have not always enjoyed a full suite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragonmom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for staying at The Raphael during your trip to Kansas City. The city has so much to offer as does the Plaza. The staff at The Raphael works very hard to ensure each stay is enjoyable and memorable. Thank you very much and please make a return visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Raphael is a beautiful hotel with excellent service and a great location. The Sunday brunch was amazing. The bed was very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and very patient.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Merricke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve560, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your great comments. Chef Charles d'Ablaing has created a great Sunday Brunch menu with unique items on it. Thank you and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 111 in Kansas City
1,200 reviews
0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 111 in Kansas City
2,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
4 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 111 in Kansas City
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £165 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing