We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“SIMPLY PERFECT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I ventured over for the Missouri- Georgia game and what an incredible treat! this historic hotel built in the 1920's is simply perfect. The staff is amazing and they took care of every little issue with a smile! This hotel overlooks the riverwalk and the wonderful Plaza district which is loaded with up scale shopping and restaurants to suit your palate. We dined at Chaz restaurant which offered jazz music on the weekend. Pure romance!

Room Tip: Go for the top floors (6-9) with a corner room. The bedroom offers a panoramic view of the riverwalk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Lovely Hotel Guests,

Lovely is a wonderful description that we appreciate so much! Thank you for all your kind words. Please make plans on returning soon to your favorite "lovely" hotel!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    121
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
145
376
37
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
455 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I picked this hotel because of tripadvisor, and we were so happy with it! It is very classy and quaint. The room was lovely and very clean. The front desk was very helpful whenever we asked them any questions. We had breakfast coupons at the restaurant Chaz in the hotel and the breakfast was really great. We had the bananas foster french toast - delicious. The hotel is very close to the Country Club Plaza area of shops and restaurants. We just walked over there to look around and grab food at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

WOW is all I can say about The Raphael Hotel. We went to KC to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and wanted to stay near Country Club Plaza. I researched all of the Plaza area hotels, and finally decided on The Raphael. We were a little leery of staying at a renovated historical property because of a previous bad experience in another City, but we worried needlessly. Upon arrival, we learned that not only was the parking free, there was free valet service as well. The front desk attendant, Kane, was so gracious and kind to us - he upgraded us to a suite since it was our anniversary. The place was immaculate and decorated beautifully. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. It is so worth the extra money to stay here (and it is not all that much more expensive than other Plaza hotels, especially considering that other hotels charge for parking and other extras). The bed had the most comfortable mattress (I even checked the tag to see what kind it was). We were completely impressed with the property and the staff, and felt extremely pampered. We will most definitely return to this property and encourage anyone staying near the Country Club Plaza to check it out! Thank you for making our 20th anniversary celebration so special!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanaCof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

My family of five (including kids 14, 11 and 5) had a wonderful experience at this beautiful historic hotel. From the moment we registered we were treated very well. A roomy suite with two comfy queens and a great pull out couch were our home for 2 nights. Everything was top notch. The only complaint I have is that there is no door from the bedroom to the "living area" so you can't watch TV or get much privacy from one area to another. The other issue was street noise, but no fault of the hotel. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, but the portions were beyond huge! All in all a great visit.

Room Tip: If you want quiet don't have a room facing the Intercontinental across the street - loud fountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citygirl2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I found this hotel when looking for a hotel near the Plaza for a work trip. The Residence Inn and Courtyards were actually more expensive for me (I use a state government rate). The room was beautiful; a small suite. I didn't have a view, but didn't care about having one or not in KC. This is the type of place where you get bath salts and an old fashioned mending kit with the free toiletries. I love that kind of stuff. Internet and parking are free, too! The fitness room is just that - it's not a hotel "gym." I wish they had even a modest pool or hot tub. The location is great - I had business in Lawrence, KS and Overland Park, so it was a great spot for me. 30 minutes from MCI - an easy drive up/down I-71 if you are a nervous-Nelly driver like me. The Chaz, their restaurant, isn't great. I had a late lunch there and the steak sandwich was a chewy mess and the waiter was annoyingly chatty with me. (Please don't pretend you want to discuss my wine selection if you really don't know what you're talking about.)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Tip Top Marriott Guest,

Thank you for all your input on your recent stay with us. We are very plaeased you enjoy the Raphael. I o however want to apologize for the comments you shared in regards to y our steak sandwich. I promise that we will address this issue and correct it. Thank you again for all your input. Please plan on returning again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

A wonderful experience that will always be treasured. From the moment you set foot in the establishment you know you are in a special place that treasures your presence. And for all this luxury, in a fabulous location next to the famous Country club plaza, with its elegant shops and restaurants, the rates are so low, slightly higher than a good motel. Don't miss this experience, if you are anywhere in the vicinity. In fact, go out of your way to stay here for all its charms and special feeling, even if it requires an extra day or two to saviour its pleasures.

The walks around the area are enchanting from the gondolas on the creek to the wonderful architecture of the Plaza and its fountains and intriguing statues.

Also the restaurant Chaz is special for all meals. See separate review.

Room Tip: All great. Suites are real special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryKitty8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Elegance,

What a great comparison of elegance and comfort! This is exactly what we strive for. Thank you for your kind words regarding your experience in Chaz at the Rafael Hotel. Don't forget about our Thanksgivng Buffet in Chaz, it will be another truly combination of elegance and comfort! Hope to see you agin soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Raphael has become forever intertwined in our love story... This hotel is luxurious, and the most romantic place to stay in all of Kansas City. Best, the food is outstanding - from the romantic dinners in the Chaz to the Mother’s Day Brunch we took the whole family too - the food is talked about months later - it’s that good. If you want to MAKE an occasion special - work in either a meal or lodging at the Raphael and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Outstanding Food and Lodging Guests,

Thank you so much for all your kind words about the Raphael and Chaz. We are very pleased to read you reccomend us to make an occasion special! What more could we ask for? Please come back and see us soon....

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing