We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

The Raphael brings together outsatnding service, excellent food, and a wonderful location + one of the most beautiful hotels in the mid-west. My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. Love this hotel - can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbowens372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear FANTASTIC Guests,

Thank you for selecting the Raphael as your choice for your anniversary, and for sharing all your wonderful comments. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    118
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
142
373
37
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a beautiful boutique hotel. I am very picky about hotel cleanliness and I had NO complaints about this hotel. Everything from the free valet parking to the front desk staff gets an A+ for helpfulness. The location is perfect - right across the street from the Plaza area with lots of shopping and excellent restaurants. Housekeeping leaves cookies and hot chocolate (for the in-room Keurig coffee maker). Our room was a small suite with a bedroom (2 double beds) a living room area and a separate bathroom and vanity area. There were four of us staying together and we had plenty of room. I must also ad that we did a TON of shopping at the Plaza and still had plenty of room with all of our shopping bags. I'd stay there again with no hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photo413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Can't Imagine Staying Anywhere Else,

We truly appreciate Your lead in, almost sounds like our theme song! Seriously, thank you so much for all your kind words and praise. This type of input os always so helpful to share with all of our associates who make it all work. Please come back soon, and enjoy the Raphael and shopping on the Plaza!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas CIty, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

My loyalty to the Marriott Company continues to thrive due to establishments, such as the Raphael with welcoming, courteous, and hospitable staff that I encounter across the States. The facility is likely the most well run hotel I have stayed at in my 7 years as a Marriott patron due, in no small part, to the management, specifically William and Laurie.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Marriott /Raphael Guest,

Thank you for your kind commentss regarding your recent stay with us. I promise that we will share your specific praise about William and Laurie with them. They are what makes our Hotel a special place. We will look forward to your return soon.

Best regardes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just completed another 3 nights at my favorite hotel in Kansas City. Service, style and location make this boutique hotel always a pleasure. My only regret is that they had a better restaurant. Sadly I've never had a decent meal at Chaz. Their happy hours has super chap apps but full price (overpriced) drinks. Terrible service from a staff that really shows how little they care. This place could really learn from the excelent hotel staff

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eccewbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Always a Great Stay Guests,

Thank you for your very kind words regarding your Stay at the Raphael Hotel. I obviously want to apologize for the very diappointing experience you decribed regarding your restaurant visit. I promise that I will share your concerns with the appropriate staff members, in order that we can give attention to those issues. Thank you for your patience, and I hope we will have the opportuntiy to regain your confidence with our dining services.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at The Raphael Hotel over the weekend and was pleasantly surprised. This hotel was updated about three or four years ago. The staff was not certain how long ago the renovation had been. We had booked at King Plaza View Suite using our American Express Platinum points. We checked in and proceeded to our room. Much to our surprise we had everything we had requested, but the "King" bed. I proceeded back to the front desk to inform the clerk that had waited on us. She explained since we had booked through American Express Platinum Points that the hotel is not obligated to fill our complete request. This was news to us, but we did not dispute it. I will hesitate to use American Express Platinum points in the future. We were told by the front desk clerk that American Express books through the likes of Expedia, Travelocity, etc. So if you are booking points, be sure to inquire about this. Anyway, We took the double bedroom and enjoyed! The hotel is small but very nice. The only negative would be the new windows installed are not sound proof. You do hear the traffic but it didn't seem to bother our stay too much. We had breakfast in the restaurant at the hotel and the staff was incredible. The staff throughout the hotel was the same. Our first evening we enjoyed the string quartet on the small front lawn. And if you are traveling to KC during the holidays - it is truly an incredible sight with all of the plaza lit up!!! The location of this particular hotel is the best since it is on the plaza. We were also thrilled to see some of the retail vacancies that had occurred on the plaza a few years ago had filled. Saks is gone:( But the plaza is filled with wonderful restaurants and nice retail shops like Williams Sonoma, St. John, Michael Kors, and the upscale Halls (which has been a part of the plaza for many years). We ate dinner at JJ's restaurant which was also not a disappointment. Five stars! We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: The suite is a better option if you are looking for a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Historic Preference Guests,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Raphael Hotel. I do want to confirm the information you received from our staff regarding the American Express Platium points was correct. Thank you for your understanding of this issue. We truly hope you will return again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Returning home form our daughter's wedding in Denver, we were looking for a quiet get-away before arriving home. Raphael scored well on all categories. Most comfortable bed, ever. This will be our place to stay in KC!

Room Tip: Plaza view is great regardless of high or low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Respite Guests,

Congratulaions on your daughter's wedding! And thank you for choosing the Raphael for your return trip home. We truly appreciate your patronage as well as your kind words. Please come back and see us again soon.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

What a wonderful hotel with exceptionally helpful employees who made our stay extra-special. The hotel is located across from the Plaza and the canal. You can easily walk to your choice of restaurants. But the hotel's restaurant, Chaz, is top notch and we ate there several times during our four day stay. The attached bar offers live music as well. You don't even have to leave the hotel to have a great time!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Plaza for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Romantic Raphael Guests,

You are our favorite kind of guests, you enjoyed the Hotel and Chaz! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Raphael!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing