We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Place better than the beautiful Raphael on the Plaza in Kansas City, MO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“No Place better than the beautiful Raphael on the Plaza in Kansas City, MO”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Mr. Bill Carter, GM
The Raphael Hotel & Chaz` Restaurant
325 Ward Parkway, KCMO 64112

Dear Mr. Carter,

Mr. Carter, thanks to you, our accommodations and room 802 was perfect! From The Chaz` to the Hotel, every associate WOWED us again! What a joy to share another great anniversary getaway at the beautiful Raphael Hotel and our fine dining experiences at The Chaz` Restaurant. The Sunday night deal is the deal of deals, but it’s your incredible staff that keeps us returning. What makes our experiences so wonderful is knowing the second we arrive, we will be treated like kings and queens. With the pride and the passion that every Raphael employee exhibits, it’s obvious they have been given hands on, meticulously detailed training. I made sure every staff person was told how Mr. Carter had gone out of his way to make our stay one we will always remember. The positive comments I received proved great respect and admiration for you and your outstanding management leadership.
But have to say, making my initial reservations was a bit of a stretch. And if I could humbly make a suggestion, do away with transferring the reservation calls! My call to the hotel was first sent to somewhere at the Autograph headquarters and the man I spoke with barely spoke English. I asked to be transferred back to the Raphael location and he was very short and said he would take my reservations. So I just hung up. I had to look up your card to get the direct number. I hope that the system of sending calls to another location and to folks that just aren’t Raphael material hasn’t caused any loss of business.
At the moment of our arrival smiling Rick greeted us, helped us with our luggage, and made us feel like home folks. Our check was smooth and the phone follow up making sure our room was perfect was most considerate. We made sure that entertainer/waiter extraordinaire Josh Minnis was ready for us on Saturday night and Douglin Scmidt was set for Sunday night. We told Rick that we had to get another dose of Josh just to make our anniversary perfect! We got the perfect table for quiet romance and please tell David, not only was the meal fabulous but Josh’s entertainment was free!
We were very pleased to meet Chef Charles d’Ablain! Sorry we weren’t ablt to tour the kitchen but know Valintine’s was crazy good!
The beautiful table cloths, classy flatware and creative plates, precise wine stemware, to the chilled salad plates, not one detail was overlooked. Hats off again to Chef Charles d'Ablaing! Maybe our next visit we can tour the kitchen and meet the rest of the culinary staff.
Both nights my wife’s entrée’s were right on! Saturday Cheri loved the salmon and Sunday night the Sea Bass. Cheri says I am boring but loved the strip steaks both nights. The sides were masterfully paired and the desserts were spot on! Please be assured, we have done our part and will continue to tell others about the beautiful Raphael and the wonderful fine dining experience that awaits you at The Chaz Restaurant. Most of all, the fun from one who knows how to make you laugh, a good dose of Josh cures any ailing attitude!~
The one hour message from Laura and Jenny was the best we have ever had. We will request them again next year.

Devoted and thoroughly satisfied customers,


Woody and Cheri Woodward

Room Tip: Views of the Plaza are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Woody,

Thank you so much for all your kind words about your recent stay with us at the Raphael and while dining at Chaz. We are so appreciative of all your efforts with the survey, and while you were actually here at the hotel, and interacting with so many of our associates. We will all look forward to your return!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    126
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
152
397
37
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

A perfect hotel experience during our snowy cross-country road trip. The hot chocolate in the lobby, in addition to the friendly staff, was the ultimate welcoming this chilly evening. Free wifi, free parking, comfortable bed, nice views, and monogrammed everything - what more could we ask for? Great location on country club plaza along the canal; felt very safe walking around at night. Hotel had historic charm with upscale renovations - would definitely recommend The Raphael for a romantic weekend getaway or short stopover on a US adventure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scottirose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Scottierose,

Thank you for the wonderful description of a perfect winter evening. We are pleased you were able to enjoy it with us.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts, please plan on returning soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Well located for the business areas outside the city. Comfortable. Nice service. I stayed in one of the junior suites and it was excellent value. Warm, friendly welcome on the desk and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Stan W.,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope you will plan on returning soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a surprise! We were driving from Chicago to Los Angeles and hit bad weather so we had to detour to KC. This hotel is an architectural treat. The service was wonderful and the room was exceptional.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beanie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Beanie,

We hope this finds you safe and sound in LA by now. Thank you for your very kind review, please don't wait for another snowstorm to come back and see us. We truly appreciate your patronage.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park 675
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We just completed a two nights stay at the Raphael, and were very impressed. Our room was small, but very clean and tastefully decorated. We had great Plaza view, and all of the employees we encountered were friendly and nice, not to mention helpful. You really felt they were happy you were there. Loved the bar lounge and nightly live jazz. Ordered room service and it was prompt and delicious. Look forward to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisces310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased you enjoyed a "Wonderful Stay".
It is always so helpful to share all input with all of our associates. Please plan on returning soon.

Thanks Again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Raphael is many things, and that’s why it’s an exceptional hotel. It occupies a privileged location on the Country Club Plaza. It exudes charm, as evidenced by the brick exterior and circular driveway. It’s classy without a hint of pretension. The rooms are elegant and modern. I’ve stayed at the Raphael dozens of times through the years. Like a fine wine, it seems to get better with every passing year.

This occasion was a quick weekend escape. I arrived just after 2pm. It was an unseasonably warm day, and the crowd was bustling in the lobby. The front desk associate was pleased to inform me that we had been upgraded, but the room was not ready. While I’m typically reticent to wait, I’m glad I did. The 7th floor room was larger than my first apartment. The door opened to a spacious living area and conference table. A handy coffee bar and refrigerator were also in place. The room could easily accommodate a small family.

What immediately struck me about the bedroom was the impeccably folded bed. The white sheets were set against a checkered yellow backdrop and beige headboard. Pillows were plentiful, and the bed was comfortable. The bed was perfectly positioned - one could watch a favorite program and revel in a plaza view. The setting was reminiscent of an urban, European hotel. If I had to find fault, my only qualms would be that there was only one bedside table, and there were not reading lamps.

Much like the rest of the room, the bathroom impressed. The tiles were sparkling white, and the fixtures were not your dime-a-dozen hotel variety. The monogramed towels were sizeable and soft. I’m not one for a soaking tub, but there was something about the shower/bathtub combination which just seemed right. Perhaps it’s the uniqueness which fit the hotel. Perhaps it’s the pristine condition. Either way, the space was warm and inviting. Yes, I’m still taking about the bathroom. My only qualm was the low shower pressure, although I have to mince my words a bit for an older property.

As a Marriott Platinum member, I received a breakfast coupon. Unlike so many other Marriott properties, there was not a litany of restrictions. Most notably, room service was an option. I took full advantage and even ordered an extra entrée. Much to my surprise, the hotel did not charge me for the second item. And there was no charge for the room delivery. In an age where nickel-and-dime charges are more ubiquitous than Starbucks, this was a truly a welcome site.

Outside the room, I briefly visited the exercise facility. The equipment was standard, and an appropriate assortment for the hotel’s size. The hotel restaurant is one of the better options in Kansas City. Finally, self-parking is behind the hotel. Valet parking is also available.

In summary, the Raphael remains ensconced as one of my favorite hotels. The hotel has charm and character. It’s truly the grand dame of Kansas City hotels.

Pros: Plaza views, warm and inviting bathroom, no nickel-and-diming here

Cons: Low water pressure in shower

Room Tip: High floor, plaza view - you'll think you're in Europe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear SCL44,

What can we say but, "thank you so much". We truly appreciate all the effort and details you put into your review! It is always such a pleasure to share this type of input with all of our associates, who work so hard to make it all happen. Please plan on returning and seeing us again soon....

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Unbeatable location on the Plaza--walk to restaurants and shops. A historic hotel that has been beautifully renovated. Rooms were tastefully updated since our last visit a few years ago. Our room, a junior suit, was not very large, but it was very well organized. Very small closet was the only complaint. Service was faultless and the room was immaculately clean. Rather spendy by Kansas City standards, but parking and wi fi are free. A small AARP or AAA discount is available if you book directly with the hotel. We called ahead to request early check in, and were treated to an upgraded room as well as early check in. Sunday brunch in the hotel restaurant (Chaz's) was quite nice as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
DDear Dallas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us, and your Brunch experience in Chaz as well. We really enjoy sharing reviews like this with all of our associates, who make it all happen. Thank you for your valued input and your patronage, we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 108 in Kansas City
1,144 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#8 of 108 in Kansas City
2,205 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing