We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing KC Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing KC Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The service is outstanding. The rooms are amazing. I had a corner Plaza view suite. The room was clean and beautiful, and the view alone makes you want not to leave the room. The location is right off the Plaza. Incredible restaurants and shopping close buy.

Room Tip: Corner Plaza View ite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Etre1,

Thank you for being our guest, and for taking the time to share your very kind thoughts about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your valued input as well as your patronage. Please plan on returning to see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    118
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
142
373
37
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were choosing between this hotel and another that was a bit less expensive - and I am so glad we choose the Raphael. Everyone was so helpful and humored our continued discussion of best BBQ places (especially David, Bob and Nate). April went out of her way to find us extra mints. Everyone made us feel welcome. The first night when we arrived the chef of the restaurant was cooking steak in the entrance way (which was wonderful).

Our room was very nice - the bed was super comfortable. There was a fridge to put the leftover BBQ (Oklahoma Joe's was best).

Parking is free and the location is fantastic - we walked over to the plaza every day. I think the best location in KC. It was an easy drive to the baseball game, art museums, negro league hall of fame, Truman Library, etc.

Green Features: Guests could skip changing the sheets each night by placing a card on the bed. They should consider something similar for the towels.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperMom48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear SuperMom,

Thank you for being our guest and sharing your comments not only about the Hotel, but about so many of our associates by name as well. We really appreciate your efforts!

Please plan on returning to see us again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

When my husband and I are going to Kansas City and have the time to stay awhile, we stay at Hotel Raphael. We stayed this past weekend and the experience was wonderful, as always. Everyone is so friendly. We stayed in a suite that even had a partial plaza view, even though it was not advertised as such. We had a mini-fridge which was so handy and the parking and wifi are complimentary with the room.

Green Features: We were given the opportunity to not have our sheets changed but our towels were replaced -- we could have easily used them one more day.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Carolyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear 20Carolyn10,

Thank you for your very kind review and your recent patronage, we certainly feel honored to be your "favorite hotel in KC"! We will hard to retain that title, so please count on us on your next trip back. We will look forward to your return...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our family stayed here on a road trip and enjoyed being pampered at The Raphael. Our small suite was perfect for a family of four. We had a great rest and plenty of space to get ready in the morning with the dressing area separate from bathroom/shower area. We used the workout room and although smallish, it perfectly suited us and our workout needs. It was nice and clean with good equipment and stocked with fresh towels and water. We had our choice of hot foods in the restaurant for a satisfying, excellent breakfast. What a nice change from the ho-hum continental breakfast choices at most hotels these days. It was a quick walk to the many plaza shops and restaurants. A beautiful, convenient location. We all give thumbs up to The Raphael. We WILL stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marahja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Marahja,

We really enjoy your "Raves for the Raphael", thank you for all of your kind words and your generous review. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy all of our services. Please plan on retuning to see us again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a great hotel located near the Country Club Plaza. We stayed here for a little mini-moon after our wedding in May. The staff was friendly and the room was spacious and clean. Great bar and music in the lounge, an unexpected perk for a Sunday night. I will stay here again for the great location and awesome views of the plaza.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Front Office Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Kendra,

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for celebrating your "mini-moon" with us at the Raphael Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again on the Plaza.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is my absolute favorite hotel in Kansas City. I love the Plaza location, beautiful lobby, and well-appointed rooms. Everything is sparkling clean. Service is always top-notch when I stay here. There are so many little touches that make me never want to leave like the tea and coffee in the lobby, fresh fruit, and cookies. The Kuerig coffee in the room along with the high-quality toiletries, bath robes, and deep soaker tub help me feel so relaxed and pampered. The gym is great and offers earphones, bottled waters, and healthy snacks. Don't miss dinner and drinks at The Chaz before you drift off in the luxurious bedding on the quality mattress. I suggest a suite facing the plaza. It's a beautiful view and spacious room. I have stayed many times, and I now refuse to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a Plaza view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeKB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Front Office Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear MeKB123,

Thank you for staying at the Raphael Hotel and sharing your feedback. We are honored to be your "Absolute favorite" hotel and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
250 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

this place exceeded my expectations. it is a bit pricey, but it does have some good features
I like that I can walk to the country club Plaza from here. it is a scenic walk in the warm weather. the service here was real good. the rooms were clean and very nice. they were willing to accommodate a solo stay, and treated me well. .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Bill G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and all your kind words. We are pleased you were so pleased! We hope to see you again in the near future....

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2015 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing