We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ with a laid-back atmosphere”
Review of Danny Edwards BBQ

Danny Edwards BBQ
Ranked #98 of 1,415 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Lindstrom, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good BBQ with a laid-back atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Came here for lunch and something different than Jacks, which I love and didn't want to wait to try Oklahoma Joes. Place is in the industrial part of town. I knew it would be great when I entered and smelled the smoke and saw locals eating. Very casual. Enjoyed a cold draft and sliced smoked turkey and beef. Very tender and good. Sauce is on the side but meat was good even without the sauce. Loved the Santa Fe corn. Hubby had the burnt ends, he enjoyed them also. Would recommend and come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Innga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    30
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This was great KC BBQ, cannot recommend strongly enough!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We drove from Ohio to watch a baseball game and eat real KC BBQ. We had considered Oklahoma Joe's, but were concerned about wait times. We consulted TripAdvisor and saw Danny Edwards was highly rated. I was slightly concerned because there was no wait (we waited 45 minutes the day before at Pappy's Smokehouse in St. Louis), but Danny Edwards knocked it out of the park!

Their thick sliced brisket was so tender and juicy, I cut it w/ my fork! Burnt ends were also juicy, but had the extra kick of flavor from additional rub that was added. I really enjoyed the sweet potato fries. The waitresses were extremely friendly and we met Danny too! They were all great people and served great food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oh_maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maitland, florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Neither One Of Us Liked It We Didn't Even Eat Half Of Our Food.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Neither One Of Us Liked It. We Didn't Even Eat Half Of Our Food.
I had the pork and Pedro had the Brisket. The sauce was peculiar not sweet
they served a pasta salad which was in a strange little plastic taster cup.
They DO NOT have garlic toast OMG how do you eat BBQ without Garlic Toast.
Just plain slices of bread (cheap way to go).
The jambalaya was gross and mushy don't bother ordering it as a side,
We ate all of our fries they were good but for goodness sakes we didn't come to Kansas City for the fries we came for the world class BBQ.
I say save your money (This was $20 plus) and go to another place hint Oklahoma Joe's to die for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mpeacock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We wanted some good bbq on our trip through MO. This place had good reviews and looked nice & casual, so we gave it a shot. We went w/ the ribs, the mexican chili, and homemade coleslaw. The ribs were average both in flavor & meat, which was a slight disappointment since we had our hopes up after hearing about the KC bbq scene. Maybe our expectations were just too high. I also had high hopes for the chili, but it was not what I expected. It'd be really good in the winter, but it was mediocre to us in March. Finally, it was a plus that I could eat the coleslaw since they do more of an Asian slaw and don't use mayo. I can't stand standard mayo-based slaw.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rootabena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Barbeque”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was in town for the weekend and was looking forward to sampling KC Barbeque. First went to Jack Stacks at the plaza, good food. Then I went the following day to Danny Edwards. No contest for me and my 3 friends. Old building, concrete floors and only open for lunch. I am so glad we made it to this old industrial area for some fantastic barbeque, ribs, beef and burnt ends all superb.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdtny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Danny Edwards BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Danny Edwards BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing