We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from the Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Stay away from the Crowne Plaza”
Reviewed 16 October 2007

I can only second some of the comments from earlier reviews. My room smelled like cigarette smoke, the carpets were dirty, the "gym" was a hotel room emptied out with two old treadmills. No information on hotel services in the room. My bathtub had mold. Maid services put an old cracker that had fallen on the floor back on my night stand ;o(
They seem to barely function. Not worth the money.

  • Liked — close to convention center
  • Disliked — dirty, no amenities
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ocean35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    232
    119
    69
    48
See reviews for
127
149
31
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

I have to admit...I was a little nervous staying @ this hotel during a recent conference due to other reviews I read on this site. However, I found it to be quite satisfactory. I had a suite which had very comfortable accomodations. It is an older hotel; but, you can tell updating has been done. When I called down to the front desk and requested an item for my coffee pot; they called back within 20 minutes. I also had one slight problem with the toiliet; but, they had it fixed within the hour. The carpet was a little worn; but, overall, I would stay @ this hotel again for the price I paid.

  • Liked — Front Desk and Housekeeping service
  • Disliked — worn carpet
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank moose1Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln Neb,
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2007

'OH MY GOD' I PAID OUT MY NOSE TO HAVE A NICE HOTEL
( 4 STARS I DON'T THINK SO ) My Husband and I came to Kansas for the first time to see a Nascar race Hotels.com said this was a vary nice and upscale hotel OK our first night the sleep number bed would not stay pumped up so my husband didn't sleep well all night, the carpet was dirty, the ice machine on our floor didn't work so the next morning we ask for a new room no problem, so now the new room the carpet was SICK
dirty, dirty, dirty, the water was so slow it would take you 30 min. to take a shower and to top this all off GUESS WHAT we still had to pay to park in the hotel parking lot yes $6.oo per day what is that I have stayed at alot of hotels that were alot nicer and NEVER had to pay for parking. PLEASE IF YOU STAY AT THIS HOTEL IT IS NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL I WOULD GIVE IT A -- 4 STAR HOTEL I would stay at a super 8 hotel you would be better off I have always had good luck with the super 8 hotels I wish you good luck.

  • Liked — nothing (maybe the merriott light show from our window)
  • Disliked — the whole pkg
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

stayed five days,four days too long.room and carpet dirty and small. no hooks to hang things,very few plugs. tub dripped the whole time. staff polite but not knowlegeable. houskeeping did half a job paint ball group raising hell for 3 days. my car was pelted with paint balls. why did i have to pay an extra 5 dollars a day for the parking garage. our friends stayed in a 2 room suite for the same price we paid. no drinks in coke machines,ice machine did not work. i would stay in a super 8 next time. they have better ammenities.

  • Liked — the day we left
  • Disliked — attitude of staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank retired001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

I was very worried after reading several negative reviews on this hotel thru Trip Advisor, but when we got there I was pleasantly surprised. Amy at the front desk was wonderful and very helpful! I booked the hotel thru Priceline. I asked for a 3 Star Downtown and got it for $60.00. As it turns out, I probabably could have gotten it for as low as $40.00, so give it a try! The lobby is nice, and the attached parking garage has in/out access for only $5.00. I requested a room on the 20th or higher floor with a sleep number bed and got it no problem. Again, thanks to Amy!
I travel alot so I am a big-time hotel snob when it comes to clean rooms and this one was! The sleep number beds were very comfortable with crisp white bedding and no nasty comforters. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Comfortable, Clean bedding - Access to computer in the lobby, great for printing boarding pass
  • Disliked — Construction all around the downtown area
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Larry-0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
1,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#45 of 109 in Kansas City
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#21 of 109 in Kansas City
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Address: 1301 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing