We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Weekend Destination!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Basehor, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Weekend Destination!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This is an excellent location and walking distance to many great attractions. The hotel staff was friendly and very attentive. This is a perfect location for anyone suffering from allergies due to animals, smoke, or fragrance. It is free of all these elements :) I highly recommend this hotel, it is beautiful and has an amazing location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steviu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thank you for your review and for your recommendation. I’m glad that you enjoyed our downtown location and close proximity to many wonderful Kansas City sights. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    233
    121
    72
    50
See reviews for
132
149
31
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandera, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I would like to thank the staff at the Crowne Plaza in downtown Kansas City,MO. We stayed there the weekend of June 17-19. Our daughters wedding Reception was next door at the Municipal Auditorium. The entire wedding party prepared for the wedding at the hotel. The staff was so helpful with letting us have an early check in. We needed housekeeping to come give us some extra help and engineering to come to the rescue when fuses were blown from to many hair dyers running. The front desk answered all questions with a smile and helpful attitude.
I really appreciated the front desk staff on Sunday evening when I called to ask of something special of my daughters that was left behind. They didn't make me wait to talk to housekeeping on Monday morning,but went in search of it that evening and found the item. It is that kind of special personal service that will have our family and guests returning to the Crown Plaza KC.
Thank you for helping making our special day a great experience,
pj

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thank you for making the Crowne Plaza a part of your special occasion. We strive to give our guests a memorable experience, so I will be sure to pass on your thanks to our staff. I am so happy to hear that you were able to recover the item left behind. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iola, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Nice downtown hotel. Have stayed several times each without issue. Location is a short walk to P&L Sprint Center etc. Or a cheap cab ride. Staff is great and always helpful. Parking is a few dollars cheaper than other area hotels. Rooftop outdoor pool is also a plus. Guess it can be a little loud on weekends but....I might have some guilt there myself. Definitely plan to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmichael171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thank you for your comments and for your loyalty to our hotel. It’s always great to hear when our guests enjoy the location next to the Power & Light District. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humboldt, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza a few years ago before it was renovated and the recent renovations are definitely an improvement. Comfortable room overall, but not a whole lot of amenities. Extremely small bathroom - very hard to move around in it without bumping the door or counter. Free wi-fi in rooms. There is a nice free breakfast if you're a member of the hotel's reward program. Small but adequate fitness center. Convenient downtown location, steps from the convention center. It's in the Power and Light district, which is brightly lit up at night and there are bright lights shining up the front facade of the hotel. My room was on this side, and there was a lot of light in the room during the night as a result. Didn't bother me, but it might be an issue if you need total darkness at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rengrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. It is certainly great to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated facilities and downtown location near the Power & Light District. We strive to create a memorable experience for each and every guest, and sincerely appreciate hearing what our guests have to say. Thank you so much for staying with us, and we would love to have you stay with us again next time you’re in Kansas City!

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, General Manager/Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This was a perfect location for a business conference.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown! We hope to host you again for your future business travels.

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayett, IN
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Spent eight nights and nine days at this hotel. For me, a hotel stay is good when the staff is kind and helpful. I would especially like to thank AL at the front desk for helping us pick out the perfect dinner spot and for answering all of our questions. I've also got to mention ANDREW down in the Salon area who has been nothing but wonderful and kind. You two make the Crowne Plaza the great stay that it has been!
We've had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MercierL2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. It is always wonderful to hear about the great service our staff members provide our guests, and we have recognized them. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, General Manager/Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I ended up staying here after being disappointed in the hotel that I'd originally reserved. The front desk staff gave me a walk-up rate that was the same as the hotel that I'd just left. The doorman and front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating to me. The front desk staff even printed off a list of things to do in the area and brought the list to my room.

I do appreciate how attentive the attendants were on the concierge floor. The breakfast attendants even remembered the juices that I liked to drink in the morning and the evening attendant remembered my favorite night time cordial. They were all very professional and represented the quality that Crown Plaza's are known for. The concierge attendants are definitely an asset to the hotel.

At first, I was skeptical because my room was in front of the elevator....I am a very light sleeper. I never even heard it. Imagine that! The bed was so soft and comfortable. I normally never take hotel toiletries but...these were the bomb. Very soothing (I have allergies).

If you want great quality and a comfortable stay, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvln_d_wrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I am so happy to hear about the excellent service that our front desk, bell, and concierge staff provided to you, and we will be sure to recognize them. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and for staying at the Crowne Plaza. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Robert Avila, General Manager/Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#22 of 109 in Kansas City
1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#9 of 109 in Kansas City
2,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Address: 1301 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing