We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but the structure is older.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel is very nice but the structure is a little older. My room seemed dark and a little dreary. My bathroom was small with very little counter space. They delivered a microwave and fridge at my request, but there really was no room for it. TV kept loosing signal. Small fitness center but it got the job done. Nice breakfast bar, coffee shop and bar area. And Of course the bedding was nice, which is very important to me. Great night's rest.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatTeowonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you for being our guest. I'm glad you got a good night's rest on our new beds and thought the breakfast bar, Starbucks and City Bar were nice. I apologize for the TV signal, I hope we got that resolved for you. The bathrooms in our double rooms are the standard size, perhaps on your next visit we can upgrade you to one of suites as they will have a lot more room for you.

I look forward to having your as our guest again the next time you are in town.

Thank you,

Jim Wynn, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Wife and I went here for a night trip away during the week. The hotel had exceptionally fast elevator service and the room service was exceptional. The location in KC is unbeatable if your looking to be near the Power and Light District. My only complaints were a small bathroom and we had to wait several minutes at the valet when we arrived at the hotel, which was a little surprising considering the hotel was not that busy at the time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-State_Travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you for your great comments about our hotel, you can't beat the location for enjoying the variety of events that happen downtown. I'm glad you had the opportunity to have room service during your stay and you found it to be exceptional. I apologize for the delay with the valet service.

Please consider our hotel in your future visits to downtown Kansas City.

Thank you,

Jim Wynn, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

This is a great location: right next to the convention center and Music Hall. Very close to Power & Light as well. Didn't want to pay to park in the garage, so I drove around until I found a spot about two blocks away on the street.
Check in was a little slow, only two people working the front desk on a Saturday evening seemed a little short staffed, but it didn't take too long. One inconvenience was that my key didn't work when arriving to my room on the 18th floor. Called the front desk with the phone by the elevator, and someone was there in a few minutes with new keys that worked. She did not offer an apology, which I thought was odd.
Room was very nice and clean. Beds were comfy.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cneiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel. I'm glad you thought our new beds were comfortable and your room was nice and clean. I apologize for the keys not working at first and I'm glad we got that taken care of for you quickly,

I look forward to having you as our guest the next time you need an excellent location downtown.

Thank you,

Jim Wynn, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Short distance to Power & Light District however not close to much shopping or restaurants in my opinion. The room was average, beds were comfortable. Pool was a huge disappointment!!!! Very small, had no lounge chairs at all, and only about a dozen chairs to sit on. Who wants to sunbathe without lounge chairs???? They advertise it as 'rooftop' so you would think the view was great but really it is on the roof of the underground parking so only about on the 7th floor so not too spectacular. Lobby was very nice and bar area. Starbucks a nice feature too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. Our location is ideal for any thing happening in the downtown area. I'm glad you liked our lobby, bar and Starbucks. I'm sorry about the pool furniture, the new furniture was on back order during your stay but has arrived since then. I look forward to having you back as our guest on your future visits to Kansas City.

Thank you,

Jim Wynn, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The rooms were dirty, small, and uncomfortable. The pool is 1/10th the size it should be, and on the 7th floor (not the roof top, as one may expect). Our air conditioner was loud and broken. The breakfast buffet is awful (and overpriced). And we woke up to a cockroach scurrying across the floor. Seriously disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,

This is the first time I have heard someone describe our hotel this way. I'm sorry you were seriously dissapointed. The roach you are describing is actually a beetle that comes out during the summer season around the pool area for a few weeks. We do not have roaches in our hotel.

I apologize that we didn't live up to your expectations.

Thank you,

Jim Wynn, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel has an excellent location if night life is your thing. It is walking distance to the Power and Light district. From what I could tell, the location is what one is paying for here. The beds were small, there was a lack of information in the room regarding hotel services and amenities, local businesses and attractions, check-out time and T.V. channels. To make matters worse, our air conditioner wasn't quite functioning correctly. Frankly, I've had better stays at much less expensive hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,

I'm sorry you feel that your stay was not worth the price. I would like an opportunity to discuss this with you, if you would like to give me a call direct at 816-460-6605.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you,

Jim Wynn, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza after attending a wedding at the Scarritt Ballroom. The room was great, with a nice sized bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the a/c was definitely needed due to the heat. Enjoyed the quick walk to the Power and Light. My only complaint...after a wedding reception and an late night out at Power and Light, the front desk called at 2:15 AM to ask if they could retrieve the roll-away bed they "mistakenly" left in my room. I didn't really appreciate that...

However, having a Starbucks downstairs is a nice touch and the room was clean. Would recommend to out-of-town guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here with us. I'm glad your room was great and you enjoyed our brand new beds and you found your room to be clean. Sorry about the call at 2:15am that should have never happened. I'm glad we were ready for you in Starbucks the next morning.

Please be our guest again the next time you visit Kansas City.

Thank you,

Jim Wynn, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 111 in Kansas City
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#17 of 111 in Kansas City
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 111 in Kansas City
2,291 reviews
1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
4.1 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 111 in Kansas City
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Address: 1301 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £133 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing