We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in August, a week of great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week in August, a week of great service”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The staff were friendly, professional and most of all made me feel at home while spending a week there on business. From the first encounter with a valet who let me into the parking garage to the front desk, restaurant and executive lounge, these folks were fantastic. I would not hesitate to return to Kansas City if I knew I could stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side (facing the front of the hotel) had a great view, particularly the upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Barry S,

Thank you for the great review!!! Your recognition of the entire team is very much appreciated. We strive for what you experienced every day and I'm so glad you had a week of great service.

I look forward to your next visit with us here in Kansas City.

Thank you,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    232
    119
    69
    48
See reviews for
127
149
31
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Located in Downtown Kansas City, MO, this grand hotel is just mind-blogging. Huge reception area, classy decor, ready-to-help associates are few of the salient features. If you pick up a room above the tenth floor, the view of the city is soothing..I was very impressed with their communication and transport arrangements.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SachinT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear SachinT83,

Thank you for the Five Star review!!! I'm so glad you enjoyed our property. We have a lot to offer and I appreciate you recognizing it.

I look forward to having you back again the next time you visit Kansas City.

Thank you,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed as guests at this hotel for 2 days/ nights, the staff was pleasant and accommodating. However, Mr. Johnson and Mr. Douglas your shuttle drivers, provided remarkable service they not only took our group to desired spots, but provided detailed history of the city and places to go while we were there. Because of their willingness to provide the ultimate customer service, the minor imperfections of the hotel were easily overlooked. (the smell in our room, & popcorn under the sofa) overall, the rooms were comfortable and suited our needs. But your shuttle drivers are awesome and the reason we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Diana B,

Thank you for the great comments about our shuttle drivers. I'm glad they were able to be of service to you. I will share your comments with them. Sorry about the minor imperfections in your room.

The shuttle drivers along with the rest of us look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Was there for a 2-day conference. Staff was always helpful and friendly. Courtesy hotel shuttle was wonderful - drivers were fun and friendly and got you where you needed to go! Rooms were comfortable and clean - everything was in good working order. Even though it appears a little older from the outside, I liked it - it didnt feel like that at all. Rooms are a bit small, but not difficult to get around in. Food was very good (dinner and breakfast) and wait staff were very efficient and nice. The breakfast frittata is delicious! And.....their vending machines have Coke products! Thank you! (While several other hotels are only Pepsi.) Price was quite reasonable. Location was great - one block from the convention center. Would definitely stay there again.
Down sides: A small one - the soda vending machines alternate every other floor with snack vending machines. And some of the soda machines were either out of what Diet Coke or "correct change only", forcing you to find another on a different floor . But just to be able to get my Diet Coke was a bonus. A larger problem - the meeting room on the 28th floor was FREEZING and it was difficult to get them to warm it up.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side overlook the Power and Light District and good view of some of the architectu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLynne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear JLynne 52,

Thank you for the great review and recognizing our associates. I also want to thank you for dining with us during your stay and I am glad you enjoyed the food and service in the restaurant. Sorry about the inconvienance of the vending machines and the temperature of the meeting room. I will look into that.

Thank you,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsons, Kansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Our experience this weekend has been great. We met family annd had a great time. The hotel stay was nice, rooms were comfortable. Our bathroom had a small amount of mildew around toilet but other than that we experienced no problems. The air conditioning worked very well. The breakfast buffet was very good. And bellmen /drivers Darrell and James Douglas were very accommodating and very professional and courteous. This truly does set the tone for a hotel, other than the front desk, they are the first individuals you see. We will certainly come back again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Yvonne D,

I am so glad to hear that you had a great experience at our hotel the weekend you were here. Thank you for recognizing our associates, they really do go the extra step to ensure our guests are happy with their stay. I apologize for the bathroom and I am glad your room was cool and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

We would love to be of service again the next time you need a "Nice Location".

Thank you,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

James and Monte are true ambassadors for Kansas City. They are friendly and go out of their way to be sure Crowne Plaza guests not only get a free ride to their nearby destination but enjoy the journey. They pointed my colleagues and I to great BBQ and gave us some colorful history of the city along the way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Thank you for recognizing our van drivers. They work hard to take care of our guests and I'm glad they were able to get you and your collegues where you needed to go. There is a lot to talk about when it comes to the colorful history of Kansas City and we are all proud to share that with our guests.

Come back and see us again soon,

Thank You,

Jim Wynn, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel is very nice but the structure is a little older. My room seemed dark and a little dreary. My bathroom was small with very little counter space. They delivered a microwave and fridge at my request, but there really was no room for it. TV kept loosing signal. Small fitness center but it got the job done. Nice breakfast bar, coffee shop and bar area. And Of course the bedding was nice, which is very important to me. Great night's rest.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatTeowonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Thank you for being our guest. I'm glad you got a good night's rest on our new beds and thought the breakfast bar, Starbucks and City Bar were nice. I apologize for the TV signal, I hope we got that resolved for you. The bathrooms in our double rooms are the standard size, perhaps on your next visit we can upgrade you to one of suites as they will have a lot more room for you.

I look forward to having your as our guest again the next time you are in town.

Thank you,

Jim Wynn, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#21 of 109 in Kansas City
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Address: 1301 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing