We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Rate - Ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Rate - Ok hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed two nights over the Labor Day weekend. Here are the pros and cons.

Pro
Check in was fast and easy
Employees were very helpful
Room was very clean
Parking garage (it was raining hard)
Great locale for KC events
Nice Pool

Con
- The parking lot was full, even though we had paid for it. This was discouraging to come back at 11 p.m. at night and discover a full parking garage. Valet said they overbooked, and that people were parking 2 cars per one room. Either way it was a mess.
- The mattresses are very firm
- The bathrooms are very small
- Hard to get an elevator (especially the parking garage ones)

Overall, with the great rate I got, I would stay there again (as long as I got the same rate via Hotwire). Hotel did offer valet parking for free because of the full lot. The valet said they were parking cars 4 blocks away! I do credit the staff for dealing with this problem, especially since the valets or the front desk did not create the problem. I would not pay the full price for this hotel. Not a bad choice, but not excellent either, it was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Youthal,

Thank you for your comments and recognizing all the "Pros" you experienced during your visit. I apologize for the parking garage filling up; I hope that didn't cause you too much inconvenience.

I know you have many choices when it comes to where you stay, please give us another opportunity to have you as our guest again the next time you visit Kansas City.


Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    225
    113
    66
    46
See reviews for
121
143
30
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed three nights during Labor Day weekend and it was a lackluster performance. We arrived and the staff were courteous, check in simple, and ability to get to the room was easy. Honestly however, it just continued downhill from that point forward. Also, we were given a welcome bag from the bride and groom by the hotel reception only to find that they charged them per bag for handing them out...the only 'hand' in the entire affair!

We were staying under a group rate for a wedding, so the bride/groom easily brought the hotel 30-40 rooms over the course of three nights, thus one would assume management would ensure them and their guests maximum comfort? Not a chance! First, the shuttle service availability was deplorable. We couldn't get them to take us across the street let alone set up anything in advance. As a result taxis were utilized and (this coming from someone who travels regularly to multiple locales in the world on a quarterly basis) were not at all familiar with anything outside of the "downtown" area (less the airport of course which is a $45+ cab ride minimum one way). We were nevertheless able to get them to take the group back and forth to one downtown area event only, and then amazingly they showed up at the end of one of the other events a day later. We queried management, who must not have any latitude to act or think independently, would not budge on availability, etc. The drivers; however, were great...when they took us anywhere. Interestingly enough, the shuttles did have plenty of time to take airline personnel to and from the airport on demand AND provide them w/a $47 per night room rate! That was over twice what our GROUP rate was for reference.

Next, the hotel boasts about their 'recent renovations'; however, this is not exactly the truth. For example, if you upgrade furniture and fixtures I do not consider this renovation but rather a spruce up of legacy, aging infrastructure. The room appeared nice enough, but the elevators, doors, bathrooms, hot water heaters, and HVAC (Heating and Air Systems) were at least 20 years old. Hot water in the shower after about five minutes, a wall/window-type AC, key cards that worked throughout the hotel about 50% of the time, and bathroom tile from 1988 were all it took for the actual 'renovation' (or lack thereof) to show its true colors. Bottom line, much more work for this property to be considered 'renovated' or updated.

Breakfast on the 26th floor was something of a high note per se (complimentary), but we had no idea if it weren't for another guest who stumbled upon it and told us! So, we went up twice for this small, continental-type breakfast and were never able to get the key cards to work (employee overseeing let us in both times and confirmed our room # each time and then of course became confused as to why it didn't work). Further, we did not take a car but did hear from at least three other guests who did park and could not get their key cards to enter or exit the lot (an employee actually had to man the gate at one point!).

In summary, I can think of at least two other properties in the downtown area with equal rates and astonishingly better accommodations (Mariott and Hilton). The hotel staff, writ large, were actually very pleasant. It was inevitably the inability of management to effectively run the hotel properly in my opinion. The bride's brother had his wedding at this hotel four years past and were pleased, but it's obvious things have changed for the worse.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Nathan B,

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. Our shuttle service is on a first come first serve basis and any volume of requests would affect the availability of the shuttle. We are constantly making improvements to our hotel for the comfort of our guests. I'm glad you found the room to be nice enough.

I would welcome a conversation with you if you would like to give me a call sometime.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

It was my husbands birthday and we decided to go to the Irish Fest at Crown Center. I booked the hotel on Hotwire so I got a very good rate. We checked into the hotel and an authorization was put on my debit card. I was okay with this because at the end of the stay my parking and my breakfast was taken out of the authorization (charges we would have paid anyway). The front desk staff was courteous and efficient. We had a drink at the City Bar in the hotel and the bartender was fantastic. She gave us information about the hotel and even secured us more coffee for our room as it is a one cup coffee maker and there are two of us. We had breakfast in the hotel restaraunt and it was great. The service was fantastic! We then took the shuttle to Crown Center to the Irish Fest. The shuttle driver was hilarious and dropped us right at the enterance. We called the hotel to have the shuttle pick us up and we were picked up in about fifteen minutes. We went to the pool to cool off and that pool was a bit chilly, but still okay. Overall it was a good stay. A note about the parking: When we checked in the self-parking was full and we were forced to valet. When our car was returned to us we had received a parking ticket from the hotel. I had to go back in and get that cleared up. There are several public lots around the hotel that may have been a bit cheaper so you need to decide whether you want to go with the hotel parking or not. The cost for self-parking is $13/night and valet is $18/night.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Maria B,

Thank you for the great comments about our front desk associates. I'm glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our lounge and found our bartender to be fantastic as well as breakfast the next morning. Sounds like our Shuttle drivers were able to entertain you all while getting you to and from the festival. I apologize about the parking situation and hope that it didn't delay your departure.

On behalf of the entire staff, we look forward to you staying with us again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I just stayed for 3 nights for a conference. When I showed up later in the PM the woman at front desk was far less than helpful. My room had been pre paid by the owner of my business. When I first told her this she bluntly said no, it has not been. After insisting to her it had been paid she looked around for few minutes and found that it had. After that she had no idea how to run my card for incedentals.


The pool was not very warm and several of the machines in the workout room were broken.

Our room was just above the parking garage and we frequntly heard thumping bass from a vehicle in the garage. There was also a very bright spotlight shining up onto the building that lit up our room like crazy. With the blinds closed it was tolerable, still far lighter than I would prefer. The bathroom is also very small as many others have mentioned (the towel rack is in the shower stall because so small) Overall for the $ of this room it was very average.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Please accept my apologies for the issues you had a check in. I am looking into the other issues you mentioned and I am sorry if they caused you any inconvenience during your stay.

Please give us another opportunity to be more than "just Ok" the next time you visit downtown.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The staff were friendly, professional and most of all made me feel at home while spending a week there on business. From the first encounter with a valet who let me into the parking garage to the front desk, restaurant and executive lounge, these folks were fantastic. I would not hesitate to return to Kansas City if I knew I could stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side (facing the front of the hotel) had a great view, particularly the upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Barry S,

Thank you for the great review!!! Your recognition of the entire team is very much appreciated. We strive for what you experienced every day and I'm so glad you had a week of great service.

I look forward to your next visit with us here in Kansas City.

Thank you,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Located in Downtown Kansas City, MO, this grand hotel is just mind-blogging. Huge reception area, classy decor, ready-to-help associates are few of the salient features. If you pick up a room above the tenth floor, the view of the city is soothing..I was very impressed with their communication and transport arrangements.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SachinT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear SachinT83,

Thank you for the Five Star review!!! I'm so glad you enjoyed our property. We have a lot to offer and I appreciate you recognizing it.

I look forward to having you back again the next time you visit Kansas City.

Thank you,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed as guests at this hotel for 2 days/ nights, the staff was pleasant and accommodating. However, Mr. Johnson and Mr. Douglas your shuttle drivers, provided remarkable service they not only took our group to desired spots, but provided detailed history of the city and places to go while we were there. Because of their willingness to provide the ultimate customer service, the minor imperfections of the hotel were easily overlooked. (the smell in our room, & popcorn under the sofa) overall, the rooms were comfortable and suited our needs. But your shuttle drivers are awesome and the reason we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Diana B,

Thank you for the great comments about our shuttle drivers. I'm glad they were able to be of service to you. I will share your comments with them. Sorry about the minor imperfections in your room.

The shuttle drivers along with the rest of us look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#45 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Address: 1301 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing