We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paper Thin Walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Ranked #22 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paper Thin Walls”
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Paper thin walls, lumpy pillows, stiff sheets, abrasive towels. That just about describes our stay at this hotel. The only thing that was good about our stay was the very friendly and accommodating staff. For a hotel of this class, I expected much more. Given the choices in the area, this is definitely on the bottom of my list. I only wish I checked with tripadvisor before booking this hotel.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Paper Thin Walls
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    223
    112
    65
    46
See reviews for
119
143
30
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humboldt, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

I stayed in this hotel because I was attending a function at the convention center. It was very convenient for that purpose. There is a bus that stops just outside the hotel (the MAX bus) that makes it very convenient for seeing the city. The hotel is okay, but needs some updating and renovations. The room did show signs of wear throughout - a torn lamp, some scuff marks on the wall, and a mark on the bedding - nothing major, but altogether it made it feel a little worn. The room was small, but the bed was comfortable. The hotel seemed to use some kind of highly scented cleaning product in the room, which I found to be unpleasantly strong. No problems with hotel staff, and when I had a problem (towels left in a pile on the bathroom floor after cleaning) it was resolved promptly.

  • Liked — Close to convention center
  • Disliked — Needs a renovation
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rengrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

The rooms need a major overhaul - dirty carpet, dirty furniture, peeling wallpaper, bathtub with dirty non-slip stickers on the base of the tub...just gave me the eeby-jeebies. For $119 per night in KC, I felt robbed. I wouldn't take my flip-flops off in the room.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location to the Convention Center and the new Power & Light District and Sprint Center. If you want to be walking distance to either of these venues, and don't care about having a nice room, or you find a way to spend only $50 per night on a room at the Crowne, then do it. Otherwise I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We decided to go to Kansas City last minute for Memorial Weekend. We booked this hotel on Hotwire for $69/night plus taxes.

Location: The hotel is downtown, adjacent from the Convention Center. There are restaurants within walking distance. It is about a mile from Union Station/Crown Center. About 5 miles from Westport/Country Club Plaza.

Rooms: Rooms were fine. Beds were comfortable. There was no mini-fridge but there was a coffee maker in room. The bathroom was a little small. There is a pool on the 7th floor but we did not use it so can't comment.

Parking: There is also a $13 per day parking charge that allows for in/out access. The parking garage elevators were not always working but it wasn't a big deal to walk down/up a few flights.

The only complaint I had is that I went on a 1/2 hour search for a bottle of water. Vending machines are on random floors - some had food vending, others had soda. I walked around forever trying to find a machine that had water. I finally gave up.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Parking garage elevators
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faith_stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

We stayed at this hotel as a stop on a road trip. We got a great deal on the room and I wasn't expecting much for how little we paid. The lobby was very nice, and the staff was very courteous. We had a late dinner in one of the restaurants inside the hotel and it was very good. The room itself was a little on the small side, but the Sleep Number bed more than made up for it. I slept like a rock, which is saying a lot considering I usually never sleep well in hotels. We ordered room service breakfast and it was decent and on time. Thank god the hotel had restaurants inside, or we would have starved, we couldn't find anywhere to eat nearby besides an adults only bar! The Marriott light show was really cool too if you get a chance to see it. Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The super comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — Nowhere to eat nearby.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidnapped_Gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2008

There is nothing that special about this hotel. The grand, open lobby is deceiving and makes you feel like you are about to experience something wonderful. The first step out of the elevator into the claustrophobic hallways lead us to our small room with a decent view. I guess the room wouldn't have seemed so small but the ceilings were very low and made us feel stifled. The walls are thin and we experienced alot of noise disturbance. I guess that is why they provide the handy sleep kit. Can't complain about the Sleep Number bed and nice pillows/linens. TVs are outdated and very limited in channel options. Friendly and courteous service and the location is convenient to all that Kansas City has to offer, however, price of parking is not included with the hotel.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank lawags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

My father and I came into KC on 12 March for the Big 12 basketball tournament with other family members joining us 15 March for spring-break. At various points we had rooms on the 26th and 27th floors.

Our experience with the Crowne Plaza was positive. The rooms had ample space, seemed to be newly renovated, had comfortable beds, and provided great views over the city.

We found all employees of the hotel to be friendly and service-oriented. The front desk personnel in particular do a great job. One thing the hotel does very, very well is provide written directions to various points of interest in the city. We found this to be invaluable.

As a downtown hotel, many restaurants are geared to the lunch crowd. However the Light & Power Entertainment district is only 3 blocks away (in the direction of the Sprint Center) and provides a good selection of restaurants and bars.

The Crowne Plaza is perfectly located for events at Municipal Auditorium and the Sprint Center. Casino Cruiser (city bus service with bus stop just outside the Marriott) provides cheap transportation to 3 casinos.

We had no complaints from the 6 members in our party, ranging in age from 12 to 73. We were quite satisfied with the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BUBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#19 of 108 in Kansas City
1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#13 of 108 in Kansas City
1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#44 of 108 in Kansas City
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Address: 1301 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing