We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for the whole family”
Review of Kansas City Zoo

Kansas City Zoo
Ranked #10 of 153 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the Kansas City Zoo, with more than 1,700 animals on 202 acres, it's the most affordable family fun for kids of all ages. For weekend activities and events, visit the Zoo website.
Chula, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fun for the whole family”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Free parking and so many nice areas to sit plus extra restaurants to eat at so not just a KID area. Love the Sky Safari ride as you drift over acres of wildlife beside a river so you are seeing everything from turtles to giraffe, Zebra, rhino's and more.
Have a nice train that runs through and around exhibits so if animals are on the back side of the enclosures you can still see them. Saves on those who have trouble walking as it is a LARGE area. They also have a tram to help you.
A work in progress always adding and changing so plenty to see.
LOVE the polar bear exhibit...Nikita loves to swim right to the window and flip on his back as he swims in his pool area.
The new penguin exhibit is amazing so many species and they swim right up to the windows and around and you can watch their feeding and social interactions.
SO much to see and talk about would be writing an essay if I keep on.
COME and check it out - you will LOVE the ZOO!!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissouriGranny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    450
    143
    29
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“New exhibits just keep coming”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The entry area was redone and, over the last few years, has added a very well-done penguin habitat, terrific polar bear facilities (has to be one of the best in the country), updated sea lion exhibit, a good restaurant, and so on. Zoo is huge (the only city park in the U.S. that is bigger is NYC's Central Park, so you may want to do 1/2 one day (everything but the Africa area) and Africa on your next trip. New Asia area just started construction.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BruceandCathy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must go to in Kansas City”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We got to the zoo early and got to park up front. The entire zoo was great from start to finish. You first go to watch the polar bears, so awesome. Watch out when you get to the Australia section, the kangaroo's are with you on the walking path! It took us 4 1/2 hours of walking to make it around the entire zoo. Not to mention all the zoo employees are very nice and will answer any questions you have.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Old and run down”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We live in MN and this zoo is worse than the Como Zoo in my opinion. I did like that since we have a membership at another zoo we got a discount on admission. I would've been very upset if I paid full price for this place because it's not worth it.

Dislikes:
1. Not enough misting fans for hot days like the day we went.
2. Lots of the exhibits were run down or no longer in use.
3. Food choices suck!
4. The layout like most zoos is stupid, you go one way and then pass something so you end up back tracking and walking a whole lot more
5. My car got keyed....I did read a review that said it wasn't in a nice area and I guess that's true!

Likes
1. Friendly staff
2. We got a free ride on a tram
3. They have elephants not many zoos do
4. Lots of "meet the zookeeper" events the day we went


Overall I was not pleased with this zoo and would not make a return trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Kansas City Jewel for kids and grown ups!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Set in beautiful Swope Park, the Kabsas City zoo is filled with all of the favorite animals we love and recreated habitats. We absolutely loved the polar bear exhibit and watching him swim from under water viewing! Take the free tram train to explore the lions, elephants and seals. This is a large zoo and beautifully laid out. Wear comfortable shoes and eat before you go. There is a snack bar. Great gift store!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kansas City Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Kansas City Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing