We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The staff at this hotel were super nice. The lady at check in was super cheerful and very helpful. The cleaning staff were very friendly. The free breakfast is just ok. The eggs were really watery and the sausage appeared undercooked. They do offer coffee all day which is nice. They have fresh cookies at the front desk, which my family loved. I question however, if this is the best built hotel. The quality seemed to be suspect. This appears to be a fairly new property. We had problems with our electrical and air conditioning. When we first entered our room, we flipped the light switch in the bathroom and blew a circuit. Then later that evening when our group had a meeting in the basement meeting room of the hotel, the box with the electrical switch for turning on/off the lights was very hot to the touch. Our A/C unit worked sporadically. Some in our group complained about thin walls, although our room was in the basement and was quiet for us. Swimming pool is a bit small. Hot tub was not working during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcb95sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear dcb95sol,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry about the electrical and air conditioning problems. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Friendly helpful staff. Issue with Priority Club at check in. Front desk clerk helped resolve issue.
Nice clean room, bath and common areas. Ice machine on our floor and hot tub not working. Upon departure, the front desk clerk helped get our luggage to and into our vehicle all while making pleasant conversation. Quiet room. Slept well. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express. I am glad that we were able to overcome the Priority Club challenge, we certainly value our members. We hope that you enjoyed your class reunion and invite you to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the 30 sec friendly check-in. The room was clean, smelled fresh, and the bed was firm, but comfortable. Breakfast was very adequate and free! Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcy4221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express. It is our pleasure to assist you and we certainly look forward to seeing you during your next Kansas City visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed last weekend for the Colts/Chiefs game. Even wearing our blue and white, we received a warm welcome. Minus a lack of hot water in the showers of both rooms, the rooms were great, the staff (especially at the bar) was awesome. Breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day. Although we decided to walk it, there is even a free shuttle for guests Arrowhead Stadium.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Erichfeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Kansas City and at out hotel. Come back again and wear your Blue and White anytime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Everything was right on this visit. My first, but certainly not my last. 100% consistent attitude from the staff, from manager to custodial. Everyone speaks to you as if you were there every week.
Breakfast was all fresh and well stocked, room conditions were excellent (sometimes, on 2-3 night stays, quality can slip, but not here!), and location was good for this particular trip. Give this HIE a shot. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candyman5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

We are thrilled that you chose our Holiday Inn Express. Our goal is to provide the best in customer service and I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations. The entire staff takes pride in our hotel and strives to make each of our guests feel at home and welcomed. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We had the 2 queen bed suite, which had a ton of space. The mini fridge and microwave was useful. The pool was heated but very disappointed that the hot tub was out of commission. If you have someone staying above you, the ceiling does not have much of a sound barrier. The front desk staff was very helpful. Overall would stay again at this property.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank 4cmckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express. We are so glad that you stayed with us and we apologize for the inconvenience of the hot tub. We hope to have this corrected in the near future and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

As so often is the case, this was a quick one night stay while traveling on a family vacation. Arrived about 1 am, was gone by 9 am. The hotel was typical of the good things you find at an HIE. Our room was a large double queen, which is what we prefer since we travel with a teen son. Two quirks about the room. First, there was a desk and chair but no easy chair or couch to sit on. So if there are two people sitting in the room, one is on the bed. The second was the toilet was positioned very close to the vanity, effective restricting access to half of it. Neither of these are important for a one night stay, but hey I noticed, you decide.
The breakfast was OK. My wife said the biscuits were a little cold and un-appetizing. Outside of that it was a typical HIE breakfast, which works for me because I am a yogurt and oatmeal kind of guy. And ONE cinnamon roll!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBoyBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you so much for staying with our Holiday Inn Express. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. The cinnamon rolls are delicious aren't they? Please come back and see us, and maybe it will be a two cinnamon roll visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
3.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
4.8 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
3.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Stadium
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Address: 8551 E State Route 350, Kansas City, MO 64133-4730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: £87 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing