We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kansas City hotel for Royals game”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
NEBRASKA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kansas City hotel for Royals game”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

just got back from taking my grandsons and son to a Royals ballgame. We stayed here and were not disappointed. The staff was great, even loaned me a pen to take to the ball game. The rooms were good sized, clean and comfortable. They allowed us a late check out (Priority Club) so the boys could go swimming before we left. Great Place to base yourself for a ball game or even Worlds of Fun. Breakfast was the usual fare. Rolls were great!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCTRAVELLER10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We highly appreciate the kind words that you have for our staffs. I’ll make sure to let them know your comment as we always strive for the best customer experience. We hope to see you again so that we can provide the quality of service you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    34
    24
    13
    10
See reviews for
46
24
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just an average stay. The hotel rooms are a bit noisy due to thin walls and floors. A/C fan doesn't have a Stay On function to block out noise while you sleep, if you like that. Other than that the rooms were nice as was the lobby, staff, and grounds. Hot breakfast was standard eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy fare. Some cold cereals, toast, et al. No fresh fruit!!

Pool is tiny, but acceptable for little ones to play in. Spa didn't have water in it while we were there.

Location is okay with a few fastfood places down the street (south) in Raytown. One Mexican restaurant nearby that had good food (Don't recall the name). It is on a divided parkway southbound side.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear RandyOK,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the AC unit has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The front desk staff couldn't have been friendlier. They even upgraded us to a suite and we didn't ask. The room was clean and spacious and we slept well. The hot items on the breakfast bar are a plus. We even enjoyed the view of five deer playing in a wooded area behind the hotel. In all, this hotel seemed more like what you would find in higher end suburbs.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff for suggestions, we were on the back side with a nice view and no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carym357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It is very important for us that our guests feel comfortable and home. And thank you for appreciating the breakfast that we are proving our guest. We’ll still continue to improve our service. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plainfield nj
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in March. I thought the front desk went out of their way to help me w a problem I had. I thought the coffee was lousy and the dining room staff very pleasant and attentive. I probably will not stay there again ( location) but I am most grateful to the front desk staff for their help.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnessjmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear agnessjmclean,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. On the other hand, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Plains, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Great place but breakfast was awful! If you go to McDonald's for breakfast your better off. I did like the rooms and it is clean. The eggs are powder just add water.. sausage ewwww.. as long as you don't have to eat there more than one day you will be fine.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savurfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We will ensure to maintain the quality of service that you are most comfortable and great breakfast experience to enjoy during your next visit in our Hotel. I apologize about the breakfast. Rest assured that I’ll address this right away. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stay totally away from that place. First, it is not in a very nice part of town which is ok. This is my story. I went for a wedding in KC and this place was a few minutes away from the wedding site.

When we got into the room I noticed the sink was dirty, there was some liquid spilled on the sofa, who knows what it was.

When we left for the wedding I told the lady about the problems and she said she was going to take care of them. 6 hours later when we came back she told me they had been so busy that they couldn't fix the problem but she was going to adjust our bill next day, which is not what we wanted, we wanted a CLEAN ROOM.

The next day we got our bill with the regular amount and when I went to the counter we were only deducted 10 dollars.

The place is under-staffed seems like there is only one person working at front desk and the cleaners come in the morning, so there is a very high chance that you get a dirty room.

This have been the worst 100 bucks I have ever spent in my life. DONT EVER GO THERE

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emf2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear emf2004,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are very sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay at our hotel and offer my sincere apologies for the poor service and conditions you experienced, which are certainly not up to our usual standards. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Jenks, OK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My son and his fiance started working with the manager at this hotel in early February and booked a block of rooms for guests at their wedding in late April. They were also told they could have use of the conference room for a family get together to have bar b que catered in. As guests have tried to make their reservations, they are being told there is no "reserved" rooms for them at the price quoted and they have nothing regarding the wedding party. When they try to talk with the manager, she will not return calls. Then they are told that the conference room has been booked by someone else for that day and time. My kids had to go through the corporate level of Holiday Inn and even then all that was suggested is that they relocate to a different hotel. They were helped in finding another hotel by corporate. I will never do business here again and I have stayed there before.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear okiejohn,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are pleased to know that your party were assisted in finding an alternative accommodations. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment your party may have had. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and forwarded to the appropriate departments for future considerations.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
3.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
3.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Stadium
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
3.3 mi away
Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Address: 8551 E State Route 350, Kansas City, MO 64133-4730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing