We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms but not friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean rooms but not friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed there over the past weekend for a baseball tourney. We were one of 3 teams staying here. The rooms were clean, average size. The pool is tiny and the hot tub had a funny yellow color to it.
The staff was incredibly rude and unaccommodating. We asked if we could use the breakfast area for ordering pizza Saturday night and we were told no. We then asked if we could rent the meeting room that was sitting empty. The gal at the front desk said "we will not rent to a baseball team." ?? Then we asked if they could turn the tv channel in the lobby to the game and she said "no, the manager does not want people congregating in the lobby, such as you are doing now." Really??? What is the point of partnering with the people putting the tournament on but not providing ANY space for the team to hang out together?
The other thing we could not figure out is why they wouldn't put our team all together in the same general area. We blocked the rooms at the same time, wouldn't it make sense to have everyone together, not spread across the hotel?
The shower was COLD in the morning. We were told that was because the hotel was full. We have stayed at other hotels that have been full and that was not an issue.
Coffee was horrid.
We will not stay again. Which is disappointing as we stay at Choice hotels all the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
I would like to respond to your comments, we had three baseball teams in the hotel during this time, the hotel has several double bed rooms and "most" are together, but some are throughout the hotel. When we have to use these rooms for large groups, some guests have to be on other floors.

The meeting room was not available due to it being painted. Also there were materials laid out or we would have rented it out to your group.

The lobby is not to be utilized as a place to gather and drink alcohol. There are other guests checking into the hotel as well. The front desk associate did offer a list of several nearby sports bars for you
to choose from if you wanted to go that route.

Yes, we did have a couple of boilers that did act up under the high-demand morning and could not keep up with hot water needs. We had service people at the hotel by 10:00am and the problem resolved by 11:00am the same day. (Saturday)

We thank you for your comments, but please do not let this reflect on Choice Hotels, Inc. As like most hotel companies, hotels are franchised ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    71
    27
    23
    21
See reviews for
105
51
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

You cannot beat the quality of this hotel for the price you pay. The room was fairly clean with plenty of room. We stayed here for one night before our flight out the next morning. If you are a light sleeper beware of the interstate noise. The breakfast was more than we expected. It was the perfect start to our vacation. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonelocB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our shuttle to the airport is a great service we provide to our guests at no charge. (4:30am-11:00pm) We are appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Son and family flew in to the Kansas City Airport. Rather than have a 2-hour, late night drive, we booked two rooms at this hotel. Checked in, early. The hotel shuttled my wife and I to the airport to meet the son's plane. Then, the shuttle picked all 7 of us up and returned us to the hotel... promptly. The desk staff went out of their way to please. HUGE continental breakfast. Clean rooms. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and for you taking the time to share your experience with this site for all to see. I will share your kind comments with my staff.

Thank you and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

2nd snow storm left me here. everyone was great except Tausha. She was very rude & wasn't going to let me keep my 2nd night (even though i had already reserved it) until another desk clerk intervened. The morning shuttle driver Phil was excellent. he not only got to work but drivers exceedingly well in very bad weather. Breakfast was very good with a large selection. The parking had all the snow scraped away very nicely so I had little to move myself. the water pressure was a little low. All said I would stay here again.

Room Tip: higher floors are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdays2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It was a very trying time for all of us as we recieved so much snow over the those two days and the hotel was 100% full.

We had many guests that had reservations for just one night but did not know if they should check out or if their flight was going to be cancelled again and want to stay another night. We also had arriving guests with confirmed reservations that those rooms were assigned to. That is why we did not allow any late check outs so those rooms could be serviced for them.

We are happy you were pleased with the other aspects of the hotel. Please try us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed during the 2nd snow storm in Feb. Went to the front desk to ask for blanket Tausha was very rude, wouldn't help, another young lady took the time to help,The next morning Tausha informed me that I hadn't booked a room for the night (which I had booked 2 night) she was not a pleasant person. The shuttle driver, was pleasant and friendly. The breakfast was great blueberry muffins, coffee, make your own waffles, they had a good variety for breakfast. The location is close to were I work.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
We are sorry for the confusion during your stay with us and the request for a blanket. With the room type you had, the extra blanket for the sofa fold-out bed, is found on the top shelf in the closet. We don't make the bed with the blanket on, because it is bulky and hard to fold the bed back up.

The reservation you had for the second night was made through a third-party site and in another person's name. However, we did find it and we were able to have you for a second night. It was a very trying time during the huge snow storm that lasted for a few days and shut
the airport down for a day and a half.

Thank you for your business and your review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had some airline issues and opted to stay at this little gem while they were resolved. We didn't have a reservation and checked in as walk-ins with no problems whatsoever. The front-desk clerk was so friendly and truly made us feel like he valued our business. Our room was VERY clean. It smelled good, it was clean and had no signs of any pests.
Breakfast was tastey and there are all kinds of places that deliver right to your room. The front desk had an assortment of menus.
The only bad thing I can say is there was no ice machine on the 2nd floor. It may be one now, who knows but it wasnt worth making a fuss about. It was just a simple walk to the 1st floor.
I will definitely be staying at this hotel again when in the area. Wonderful relaxing hotel for an excellent bargain!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1lexy2luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I will share them with the entire staff.

During your visit we had a huge snow storm, 13 inches of snow! Very challenging, but we all got through it, thanks to my hardworking staff that made it in to work over those three days.

Hope to see you again soon, minus the snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed here just before Feb. snowstorm so we could make flight;after learning we could not park car long term told desk clerk we would park car in long term parking lot at MCI;asked her where I could be picked up;she assured me shuttle driver would get me there;called her gave location, after parking car; she advised would pick me up in 15 or 20 minutes;after calling a second time she said she would take my cell number and have driver call me to make sure he could find me;finally made connections with shuttle driver who advised he would not pick me up in lot and to take transfer to a airport-total miserable-frozen time in pkg. lot one hour;desk clerk did not get back to me as promised with an adjustment for difficulty;neither did manager despite assurances of 2nd desk clerk next morning.Many positives about this hotel ruined by staff failures.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank garyfKansasCityMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I want to take this time to share some of the answers to your statements.

Kansas City was hit with a blizzard, we received 11 inches of snow. The airport was closed down for a day and a half. It was challenging for guests, hotel staff and for the normal operation of the hotel. We even stopped the shuttle service for a good portion of the day for safety reasons.

No where is it posted that you can leave your car in our parking lot while you are gone on a trip. If we allowed that our lot would fill up and our nightly guests would have no place to park. We try to inform guests of the different parking options when they ask. Parking ranges from $7.00 up to $24.00 per day. We (or any commercial vehicle) is not allowed to pick up in the airport parking lots. They have their own shuttles from the lot to the airport. Most guests drop off their cars on the way to the airport rather than pay for the day before.

We invite you to come and stay with us again. Contact me directly at the hotel and I'm sure we can work something out for you for the confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#39 of 109 in Kansas City
238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kansas City Airport
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport

Property: Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
Address: 11100 N Ambassador Dr, I-29 & 112th Street Exit #12, Kansas City, MO 64153-2013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for both business and leisure travelers alike, the Comfort Inn Kansas City / Airport hotel is two miles from the Kansas City International Airport and offers free airport transportation for its guests with advanced notice. (5:00am-11:00pm)Popular attractions minutes from your guestroom door include:Sprint Arena & Power & Light DistrictDowntown Kansas City - Convention CenterArrowhead(KC Chiefs) Kauffman(Royals) StadiumsWorlds of Fun and Oceans of Fun theme parks Sea Life Aquarium & LEGOLAND Discovery Center Park UniversityAs a guests of Comfort Inn, you will enjoy features like:A 100% Smoke Free hotel.Small Meeting Room. (Call hotel for availabiity)Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access Business & Fitness Center.Saltwater indoor heated pool and hot tub Free local and long distance calls.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at our Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs,sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffles in two flavors!All spacious guest rooms are furnished with 32-inch flat-screen, LCD televisions, coffee makers with free coffee, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious work desks, voice mail, irons, ironing boards. Guest laundry facilities are located on the premises and dry-cleaning service,(same day) Mon-Fri.The Comfort Inn Kansas City / Airport hotel offers warm, inviting and affordable accommodations close to all the best Kansas City has to offer. When you are looking for friendly service, countless features and a great location, make us your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing