We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Jewel”
Review of Union Station

Union Station
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.00*
and up
Kansas City Single Loop City Tour
Ranked #7 of 153 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
198 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Real Jewel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had not been inside Union Station in KC in perhaps 25 years. Wow. It looked as clean and fresh as it must have way back in the day when it first opened. Swear if I closed my eyes I could hear the old steam train whistles of long ago. Did not get to see the whole interior last Saturday due to private parties that were taking place in various secitons of the building. But we did get to Pierponts for a drink in the bar. A must see for KC visitors.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frenchmanscove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    576
    162
    25
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
250 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

this place did not used to be that much, but they have really renovated it. since they built a shopping mall and other things in this place, it has improved 100% now well worth while to visit, and some good eateries here, too. this is close to Liberty Memorial, too (world War I museum). it is also very near Crown center shops and hotel. also you have good bus service to the country club plaza. bus is better than trying to find parking in the country club plaza shopping area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raytown, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Problems with Tut exhibit. Parking is awful”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Tut exhibit was WONDERFUL!!! Our problems were with how Union Station handled things.

The parking lot was full. We were directed to go to the parking garage. We went in the parking garage and the only spots were for USPS employees ONLY. Everything was full. There used to be a parking lot to park in but that was taped off. We almost left. They should have better parking.

There were NO signs to say where to go. When we asked the info desk, the lady didn't speak clearly. we finally understood that we needed to go one place if we were paying cash and another if we were paying with credit. So, we went down the elevator...NO signs telling us where to go get tickets. We found the exhibit. Then someone (a customer) that told us where to get tickets. There was ONE kiosk in the middle of a hallway at the bottom of the stairs. ONE machine and a LINE of people. Got our tickets and there was ONE person taking tickets, giving out head/handsets and giving directions; he was an older man and overwhelmed. Anyone could have walked in. Once you are in, you cannot leave until the end. You cannot take food or drink in.

No one said that we needed the headset/handset for the opening movie. EVERYONE figured it out a couple minutes in.

After All those issues, once we finally got going, this was an AWESOME!! exhibit. We were fascinated by all the information and displays. It was an exciting 2 hours. We don't think it is a good thing for kids under 6 or ones that get antsy. Some of the narratives are long.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Getting better with age”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This train station is 100 years old this year and is still highly functional. We had several meals at the restaurants inside and they were fantastic. Go for the history, food, or your train home but it is worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful plays and a great science center!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My kids and I were in KC MO last week accompanying my husband on a work trip. So we were solo during the day. We were able to see a kid's play (Junie B Jones), a preschool-appropriate "show" at the planetarium and go to Science City. All of our experiences there were wonderful. The only qualms I have are that we didn't know where to park and realized when it was too late that we paid way too much money to park. We parked in front of the building, so even though it was a lot of money, it was super convenient when the kids got tired. The other issue was that we didn't know how to find things and there wasn't great signage. The escalator was also broken so my kids had to take a lot of stairs, which we all know isn't fun when they're exhausted from a fun day!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Station also viewed

 

Been to Union Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing