We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be serious- very good food- not elegant but quite good!”
Review of Ingredient - CLOSED

Ingredient
Price range: US$7 - US$12
Restaurant details
KC-MO
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Be serious- very good food- not elegant but quite good!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Had a casual lunch and the salads were huge and very tasty BUT if you want table service, cloth napkins and Pinot this bees not your place.
The personnel are really fine- super maybe not but polite, clean and appropriate
Try thus place on west side of the Plaza you will not be sorry

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breathdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place to have a bite at the Plaza”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I've been to the Plaza location numerous times over the past few months and I've never been disappointed by the service or the quality of the food. I generally make my own salad: spring mix + diced egg + bacon + mushrooms + mozzarella + parmesan + roasted garlic chipotle dressing. Their burgers and their brunch are awesome too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank violettedemars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I don't know if I can count this as a "visit"”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Unfortunately, I never got to taste the food to see if it redeemed itself. I went to the downtown location of Ingredient on Thursday morning. I had read that it was great for breakfast so I wandered in. A server was in a booth working on a schedule, another was behind the line working on something else, another one was in the back. Each looked up and glared at us and said nothing. The one in the back came to the front, turned around quickly and went back to the back. We waited at the counter to order for about 5 minutes, until it got really awkward and no one waited on us. I tried to come up with reasons - but they were open, they were staffed and we weren't wearing frightening things on our faces (that I could tell).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha, nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Saturday Brunch”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were looking for a filling but quick brunch before heading out for a full day of shopping on the plaza and Ingredient delivered. The variety of options and the quick service and hot coffee left us all very happy. I tried the whole wheat pancakes with spiced pears and it was absolutely delicious. I can't wait to try my own version at home!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“You have to work hard to get a meal this bad on The Plaza”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

There are a dozen great restaurants on the Country Club Plaza. This isn't one of them. It says "Chef owned" on the door, but you would be hard-pressed to find a chef inside.
The food is poorly prepared, and tastes lousy. The "doughnut holes" are just heavy wads of bread dough deep fried beyond recognition.
The atmosphere isn't. It's difficult to find the flatware. They have ten kinds of tea but no honey.
The coffee was good. That's it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ingredient also viewed

Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing