We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - close to airport, but quiet rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great location - close to airport, but quiet rooms”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here one night because of a rock/gem show in the area. The location was perfect for us- close to the airport and the highway, but the rooms were quiet. Immaculate hotel- room, lobby, breakfast area all sparkling clean. We had a 2 bed room and there was also a sitting area with a fold out, wet bar counter and desk (just like what is pictured on the hotel website). I believe the 2 bed room has more space looking at reader photos. There was a coffee pot and fridge (no microwave). Many outlets to plug in chargers, laptops, etc without having to crawl on the floor or move furniture.

There are a few restaurants close by (walking distance) and a stairway leads down the hillside from the hotel parking lot to the Waffle House parking so no need to walk down the street or bushwack down the hill. You can also get beverages and snacks at the lobby if you don't want to go out.

Breakfast was wonderful - one of the best 'included' breakfasts we have encountered. Hot and cold items, fresh and restocked continually. It was great to have real dishes and not eat off of styrofoam with plasticware. The set up of tables around the lobby area/breakfast nook make it more restaurant/home like than a cafeteria. Easy to have a conversation or read the paper without distractions. Everyone we met on staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank den&holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    224
    56
    18
    17
See reviews for
267
143
57
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Great location off/near the interstate. The room was immaculate and cozy, and looked exactly like the hotel pictures provided on the site. Great for business travelers. They offered first-run movies in the room for a small cost, which we took advantage of. It was great not having to leave your room to watch a newer movie. Small office area is downstairs with a printer or two that we were able to use without any issues. Wi-Fi connection worked well in the room and was easy to use. Breakfast was great and offered a good variety. My husband and I stayed here with our son for one night. It would have been nice to relax by the indoor pool or hot tub, which they did not have, so we were a bit disappointed. Please note that there are two double beds in the rooms, and we are used to queen size beds. Close to restaurants (Cracker Barrel is a block away) and shopping is close-by at the next exit. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskerluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elwood, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

It's hard to go wrong with this chain, the room was spacious and clean and QUIET, being near an airport this was an unexpected plus. The only reason I did not go five stars is the breakfast seemed a little below what I've experienced at other Hyatt Places and unless there is parking many of us didn't see, there are not enough spaces. People were parked along the curbs and in the street and that's not something I appreciate at a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I have stayed at several hotels close to KCI to avoid an hour drive the day of a flight, but will never stay at another hotel but Hyatt Place going forward. For the price, the room was very large and had a great set up with the "living room", wet bar and work desk as well as a TV which can be seen from both the bed and the couch area. I easily would have expected to pay double for the size of the room, and many of the neighboring hotels were priced more for smaller, plain rooms.

I used the Park and Stay package (or whatever it is called), and it ended up being less than $4 per day to park at the hotel lot compared to $8 or more for local parking services. That price cannot be beat!

I do have 2 small gripes with the hotel. The 1st was the conflicting info between the main Hyatt reservation # and the hotel itself. I tried calling the hotel directly, but got just a fast busy for 2 days straight so decided to call the 800# since I needed to make sure the airport shuttle started early enough for a 6a flight. I was told at the reservation # that the shuttle started at 4a whereas once I checked in was told it was 4:30a. Also, they overbooked the shuttle and we had to depend on the Sleep Inn shuttle to get us to the airport on time. The 2nd issue was the cleanliness of the "bed in bag" for the couch. While the blanket in the bag was tied up like it had been "quality checked" by housekeeping, it actually was dirty with food crumbs all over it...I ended up not using a blanket at all on the couch and it went back into the bag.

While I think the hotel needs to get it's local # fixed and be on the same page as the main reservation line, this won't stop me from using this hotel for all future trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree Corners, GA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Due to the snowstorm in Kansas City, I was stuck for two nights. It made being stuck less painful. The rooms are really nice--the flat screen tv massive. The work desk was big enough to spread out my materials, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were beyond helpful and really should be applauded for their positive attitudes. The happy hour 1/2 off prices were really good and the 1/2 off appetizers were very large. I had the cheese tray which included warm herb bread, and the nacho supreme with chicken. Both really enjoyable. The driver took me to walmart to get some supplies when I saw that I would be stuck there for a while. He was great and very nice, making sure I didn't slip in the snow.
The breakfast was really good, but for folks that are gluten free it leaves you to cereal or yoguart. I wish more places would at least think about gluten free folks.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santafake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slingerlands, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Blizzard meant two nights here. Staff was fantastic and very patient with the sold-out group of patrons. Excellent food options! Really healthy choices and a great breakfast. Able to work (free internet access) and play (nice gym). Great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2skicutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamhill, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We met here for a meeting of about 10 people. The rooms were spacious, free wifi, nice desk, nice kitchenette. There was plenty of room downstairs for happy hour (half price drinks) or gathering in lobby. The free breakfast was about the best I've seen! You can order other meals but they weren't that great. They also have free shuttle to airport or Zona Rosa for shopping and more restaurants. I would definitely go again for a meeting place!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
1.8 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#17 of 109 in Kansas City
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 109 in Kansas City
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Address: 7600 NW 97th Ter, Kansas City, MO 64153-1831 (Formerly "AmeriSuites")
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
#3 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport Hotel Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City
Kansas City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing