We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Digs But Great Service & Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is yet another ancient downtown hotel that has been sort of renovated but still has the vestiges of the creepy, run down convention hotel it has been since birth. The rooms and lobby have been updated, and they are OK, but not as nice as they would appear in the photos on the Marriott website. The rooms have very low ceilings and small bathrooms. The bathroom was in mediocre condition (peeling paint, rusted fixtures, peeling wallpaper, stained grout). The hallways, elevator and other common areas have not really been updated, so they look old, tired and unappealing. Overall, I was unhappy with the condition of the property and decided to check out and move on. A manager was extremely helpful and apologetic. He refunded my money, offered to find me alternate accommodations and seemed to genuinely care about my concerns. So, the physical plant is just so-so (not good value for the fairly steep rate), but the staff is excellent and very professional.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 91,150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback!

We apologize that our hotel’s appearance did not live up to your expectations. A complete renovation of our property (guest rooms and all public areas) was done in 2009 and the photos on our website were taken upon completion of the project.

We do appreciate the positive comments about our Staff and service.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

Spent one night and was very surprised by the Country Club Plaza area nearby. A short walk from the hotel with lots of good shopping and restaurants. Not super convenient to the airport or I70, but not terribly far either. Would definitely stay in this area again if visiting. Hotel was clean and warm on a cold December night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamond_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to offer post a review. We appreciate the positive feedback; our goal is to always ensure the highest level of service and comfort for our guests.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us excellent.
We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
816.303.4559 Direct

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel offered the comfort of better than normal stay. The hotel staff was very informative in recommending places to visit. A must see or to be seen when visiting downtown Kansas City! Lots of night life and resteraunts for couples and family. Will visit again in the warmer months.

Room Tip: I prefer the corner rooms which were larger. Can accomodate up to four adults.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123DELAJUANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izabellatoma, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Glad to hear you like our Corner Rooms! We actually have two different types of corner rooms, one is larger and nice for families with a fold out couch and the other is geared more towards a romantic night for a couple with a panoramic view of the Country Club Plaza and a small dining area. Thanks for your feedback and we look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband & I drove to Kansas City due to the fact that he had an exam to take. We booked a last minute overnight trip at this hotel. Finding the entrance was a bit confusing but the staff was very welcoming. Our room had a wonderful view of the plaza from sunset to sunrise. However, we opted for a feather free room, our pillows were somewhat comfortable and it was very disappointing to sleep with a rough vellux blanket stuffed in a duvet cover. It was not what I expected for the bedding at a Marriott. Parking was a little expensive but I guess parking fees are charged everywhere in Kansas City. Now for the positive feedback,other than the minor bedding situation we had a pleasant stay. The room was very clean, it included a small refrigerator, and the view of the plaza from our room was spectacular. The hotel is conveniently located near the plaza. I loved that our room had hanging photographs of the plaza instead of random pictures. It was very welcoming and it made us want to explore the plaza instead of staying in our room. The hotel has a shuttle which is wonderful, I guess that compensates for parking fees. The plaza is walking distance for those who prefer walking. It features a vast variety of shops and wonderful restaurants. There is also a museum that offers free admission located behind the hotel's parking garage. Finally, the hotel has a wonderful exercise facility for those who cannot live with out their daily work out routine. It was a memorable short trip and we will most definitely come back to visit and stay here.

Room Tip: Request a room in the higher level facing the plaza area. The entrance is very tricky,there is also...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvynetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izabellatoma, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you so much for all the great comments! I was disappointed to hear the blanket that was feather free was not comfortable but this is something we can easily change. Most of our rooms have feather duvets but with a feather free request we also need to have a comprable standard.
We hope to have you back and thanks again for all of the great feedback from Illinois!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and I recently visited Kansas City for a get-away weekend and decided that we wanted to stay on the Country Club Plaza. I have a preference for Marriot hotels as I have found them to be consistently good places to stay no matter what city or country. This Marriot is an excellent example of a "typical" Marriot. Our room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was immaculate, though the one in our room was a little bit smaller than I would have expected. One oddity for me was that the hair dryer is stored in a cloth bag in the closet rather than in the bathroom itself. One up side to staying at a Marriot is that you can request extra towels when reserving the room on line.
The hotel offers valet parking as well as self-parking. Either way, you are going to pay to park your car on site. One should not shy away from the hotel because of the parking charges. Literally anyplace where you want to park in this area has a fee attached. Driving your car onto the Plaza for dinner is going to cost you at least as much as the valet service at the hotel. The Marriot offers a free shuttle service both to and from the Plaza. Of course, if you prefer to walk, it is about a quarter mile to get from the front door to the shops in the Plaza. Those who have visited the Plaza before know that you will do quite a bit of walking if you want to visit all that the Plaza has to offer. We had about a ten minute wait to take the shuttle to the plaza. When we wished to return to the hotel, we called the service number and the shuttle was pulled up to the curb within five minutes of the call.
The thing that sets Marriot apart from other hotels is the level of service that you receive. After leaving our vehicle with the valet, my wife realized that she had left her coat in the car. A call down to the desk resulted in an associate arriving at our door (on the tenth floor) with my wife's coat in a matter of minutes. Had I parked myself, I would have had to go get that coat myself.
The lady at the front desk was very polite and efficient; in fact, everyone from the valet to the shuttle driver were extremely polite and accomodating.
My only real issue with the hotel is the fact that IF they have noisy guests out in the hallway, you are probably going to be able to hear it, so keep that in mind if you are planning to stay on weekends or around holidays etc.
The hotel has a bar and a restaurant, but with the Plaza night-life being so close, we had no reason to try the ammenities. A small refrigerator is available upon request for a charge as is internet access. I would prefer that Internet is complimentary in this day and age, but this is not the case.
I would conclude this review with a couple of comments. First, if you are staying here, you need to remember that everything in the area is "upscale" and thus has a little higher price tag on it than you might find in other parts of the greater Kansas City area. The second comment is that the Plaza is centrally located, so exploring Kansas City is rather convenient when using the Plaza as a start point.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cargotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Recently stayed there for a business meeting and it was perfect. The rooms were nice and spacious, the bar was more than adequate, parking was easy, free shuttle to local resteraunts and shopping and the staff members were great. I couldn't ask for anything else. Definitely recommend this hotel in KC.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlhoward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback!

We are delighted that we met all your expectations during your stay. Our goal is to make every guest feel welcome and right at home.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing
8163034559

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Took the kids to stay where we could see the Plaza Lights. Even though this hotel is not right on the Plaza, they do have rooms that still provide a nice view of the lights. Staff was very nice and room was updated and very functional. Overall a very nice stay. One word of warning, the pool is really a lap pool, not the best for small children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Plaza View.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauimeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank you for your review!

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we appreciate the positive feedback.

We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future!

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing
8163034559

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 109 in Kansas City
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza

Address: 4445 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#30 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £135 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza is a reimagined, modern and chic hotel in Kansas City, Missouri offering a convenient location in the Country Club Plaza near the city's top attractions. Our upscale accommodations are minutes from the Power & Light District, Sprint Center, Kauffman Stadium and Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, among other premier destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing