We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night to take in the attractions around Kansas City. This was not my first choice, due to most hotels being full but was very surprised. This hotel is with in walking distance of the Country Club Plaza. Check in was fast and the front desk personnel were very pleasent and helpful. Our room was nice, spacious, quite and the bed was outstanding. Further the entire hotel from front desk, lobby, bar, evelators and our room was very clean. At no time did we see any trash. We needed to use the sofa bed, when we told the front desk personnel it was not problem. When we arrived back later that night it was made up and ready to go!! The elevators are fast but are in constant use. To get into the hotel is some easy as parking is very limited. I would recommend that you have them park the car for you when staying. Good hotel, up to Marriott standards. Would stay here again.

Green Features: Marriott is very enviromentally friendly, I support the reuse of towels to save our enviroment.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hog46man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesPLZA, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Sounds like a good trip Mark - hope we get to have the opportunity to deliver another great Marriott Experience on your next stay in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    198
    98
    39
    28
See reviews for
91
123
27
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
238 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and had no issues. The location is superb for the shopping, dining, and nightlife of Country Club Plaza as you could walk no problem. Hotel is also near the Nelson- Atkins Museum, the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art, and the Kansas City Art Institute (all 3 behind the hotel)...again walking distance. The rooms are nice, clean, functional, and quite large (we had a concierge level room on the upper floors). The room had a big king bed, sofa, and coffe table. I could say that the room had a terrific view had it not been for another high rise in front of us (not directly next to us but close enough that it was an eyesore for a view) but we realize this is not the fault of the hotel. The public areas are nice and contemporary. The hotel has an inside pool on the upper levels that has a great view of the city. We did not eat at any of the restaurants but did get some over the top delicious mac n' cheese from the Main St. grill to go.


There was an incident upon checkin where a young man (early 20s) was in the lobby by the reception desk vomiting...he appeared very drunk and had a friend trying to help him as well as some hotel staff who looked terrified as did the woman checking us in. It did give me pause and made me wonder what kind of place I was checking into but it was just an isolated incident. However, the lobby did smell like vomit the rest of the evening.

All in all this hotel was perfectly fine and comfortable for our 2 night stay in Kansas City and we could not have done better with the location as we took advantage of it visiting Country Club Plaza and The Kemper Museum next to the hotel. all with ease.

Visited 2011

Room Tip: All rooms seem functionally fine, however, I suspect the Plaza View rooms are the best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlas1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesPLZA, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Great review! Glad to hear you got to see some of what our surrounding area has to offer. I was concerned to hear of your initial experience with the man getting sick, but good to hear it was isolated. Hope to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

older hotel, could use some upgrades to earn its star rating. Could use an in room safe, food vending on each floor, and especially have all elevators running. Only 2 of 4 were operational and with 2 weddings and a reunion long lines. Not up to usual Marriott standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irv Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesPLZA, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the review. Please accept my apologies regarding your elevator wait time, we do have one of our three guest elevators currently being repaired but it will be back up and running within a months time. I am excited to announce that we will begin a renovation at the end of this year with all of our public space and all guest rooms - I hope you have the opportunity to give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at this property on our way from OKC to Des Moines. We were only there for an evening but had a very nice experience. We did the mobile check-in, and our room was ready when we arrived. The gentleman that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. We were headed somewhere else that evening, but they have a shuttle available for service to Country Club Plaza. Twice we went down to order a couple glasses of wine and both times the staff was friendly and service was quick. The only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars is that we had to wait an extremely long time every time we needed an elevator. I mean loooonng. And with 2 young boys, that is no fun. Also, while the pool has a nice wall of windows (the pool itself is indoors), the pool area just seemed a bit dirty and needed some updating. Especially the outside deck area. It would benefit from some nice outdoor furniture, plants, etc. We did not use the gym next to the pool, but it does seem more updated and nicer than the pool area. As we were leaving, everyone was super nice and very helpful. All in all, we would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesPLZA, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the review! Please accept my apologies for the elevator wait time, we currently do have one of our three guest elevators being repaired and it will be back up and running within a months time. I am happy to hear our staff delivered a Memorable Marriott Experience - we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

On our annual trip to Table Rock Lake from Nebraska my wife thought it would be a good idea to split up the trip for our 3 year old son by stopping in K.C. to shop, eat and stay the night.

I have stayed at Marriott Hotels all over the country. And at almost every one of them i have had a good experience. With the exception of this one.

Upon arrival The Valet asked if they could park my car, I said yes. They then took my last name, stepped back and watched me unload all of our luggage on my own as cars stacked up on the busy street behind me while they stood there and talked amongst themselves. After I got our luggage to our cart, and struggling through the door with our overloaded cart, I see 2 front desk employees, and what I found out later is "the manager on duty" again, talking amongst themselves and simply looking at us. My seven month pregnant wife and 3 year old son are little help with heavy bags.

A response to this may be that they sublet valet parking out to another company but YOUR name is on it and YOU are responsible for how they treat YOUR customers.

After we get checking in everything else went fine. Dinner at Cooper's Hawk (HIGHLY recommended) some shopping, drinks and to bed.

2 WEEKS LATER: After noticing an additional $225.00USD charge on my credit card statement i call the hotel asking if this is a pre-authorization charge. The kid I spoke with said there was damage to the room. No email, no call, no anything. Just a charge with no description. Puzzled, I ask what. He says there was a hole in the wall. After asking where he tells me he doesn't know but I can call the General manager on Monday. I ask for his voice mail.

I again call Monday morning around 9AM and get and assistant to the General Manager. And leave a message with her. (very helpful young lady actually.) Finally receive a call from the General Manager who attempts to give me maybe 3 words in the conversation and tells me he will send me pictures. He attempts to abruptly end the conversation after he he gets in his shots before I can respond. I work in customer service 6 days a week. I understand these things aren't fun but it's part of the business. If I spoke to one of our customers with the tone and shortness he had with me, I would gladly step down from a spot of leadership. No place for that.

The one photo I received provided zero answers. It was a picture of a white wall (12"x12" section maybe) with a hole in it. No surroundings, no idea which wall it is, and absolutely no clue what could have caused it. If my wife, son or myself put that hole in the wall I would gladly, gladly pay for it. But there is no way. We slept in the room. That is the only time we spent in it. In at 7, dinner, shopping, drinks (only me obviously) and out at 9am. After, I put in a follow up call to the General Manager to ask where in the room it was and hopefully discuss it further. It has now been 3 days, no call.

This hotel does not deserve to have Marriott's name on it. The Only bad experience I have had at one and I don't think it could have gone worse.

And to get pro active unlike the employees in this hotel, I will jump ahead of this response that will be posted below and tell you I will not be calling to resolve my issue. I have already attempted that and you have failed to help, or call back. If he would like to contact me; great, I carry my cell phone with me at all times and he has that number.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 411Jared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesPLZA, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
I am sorry to hear of your experience, please feel free to contact the main hotel phone number and ask for the Guest Services Manager if I may be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is what you would expect for a business hotel. Nice rooms, good facilities, over priced food and drinks. But with all of those things you'd expect the hotel to include wifi. This is after all 2014.

If you're a business traveler and you're actually here for business, pick another local hotel. You can go work from the lobby and get free wifi, but you don't need to pay for a room to do that.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveParkerSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesPLZA, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review Dave.

I understand your frustration in paying for internet, and that the option of our free lobby wifi does not fit everyone's needs. We do have great options for speeds on our newly installed wireless and hope it performed for your business stay.

I was concerned about your comments of our food and drinks being over priced and hoped you might be able to contact me to share some of your comments about our dining options. Please feel free to call the main hotel phone number and ask for the Guest Services Manager, I would be delighted to take your call.

Thank you again for the review - I hope it stays cool up in Washington and you have the opportunity to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great location within walking distance of the plaza and restaurants. Unfortunately, there is a $15 self parking fee on basically the roof of the garage and breakfast is $20 per person. Otherwise, staff was friendly and the room was spacious with a very comfy bed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesPLZA, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for the review Alexa!

I understand your frustration in paying for parking, the neighborhood does have some free self parking spots located on the two streets behind the hotel but it is very limited and public, not just for hotel guests - which is part of the reason we charge a fee so that our garage has enough spots available for guests or visitors.

I hope we have the opportunity to have you back - thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza

Property: Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Address: 4445 Main St, Kansas City, MO 64111-1811
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#30 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing