We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Suamico, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Found this hotel by accident on an extended motorcycle trip to New Orleans from Wisconsin. Went downtown to experience Kansas City for the night and found this incredibly delightful place. Being downtown the hotel is arranged around an enclosed courtyard with excellent security which is important for motorcycle people. The staff is what really sets this place apart. I have rarely been so welcomed. From the front desk staff who asked about what we wanted in a room and delivered to the shuttle driver, Claude, who was our concierge, taking us to an excellent restaurant for Kansas City barbecue. Just an overnight but one of the most delightful places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: No bad rooms in the hotel from my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudean M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. My staff's focus is make each guest have a memorable stay and I am thrilled we were able to do that for you! We look forward to seeing you in the future should your travels bring you back to the Kansas City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    130
    48
    12
    8
See reviews for
89
75
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We recently spent one night at this location. The property was clean, including stairwells, elevator, pool, food area, and parking lot. EVERY staff member we had contact with was very friendly and helpful including front desk, housekeeping and shuttle. (Can't remember all the names), The shuttle service was convenient taking us to the nearby attractions such as Union Station and the WWI Museum. Both drivers (one was Claude) were great. Breakfast was great and one of the nicer ones I have seen. "Linda" kept the food bar stocked and was very pleasant. I would definitely stay at this location again. (air conditioning unit was a bit noisy, but not much different from other hotels - not a deal breaker). We chose this location due to the great reviews from other people and we were not disappointed!!! I would recommend this location for families desiring a location close to the downtown attractions with a much more affordable rate.

Room Tip: No tips - This was the only room available when needed and I was grateful to find a less expensive...
See more room tips
Green Features: The only thing I saw was the sign in the room suggesting re-use of towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

While attending a church conference in Kansas City, MO July 1 thru July 5 I had the pleasure of staying at the Fairfield Inn KC MO Downtown/Union Hill location. The desk staff Vincent, Marcus and Ree the Asst Mgr went out of their way in providing some of the best hospitality that I've had from a hotel in a long time! They made sure that our needs and request were met. The courtesy shuttle drivers Daniel and Claude were the best! They were very pleasant and willing to please the occupants at the hotel. The rooms were kept clean, the breakfast for an economical hotel was better than some of the higher priced hotels. The breakfast area was kept clean and the dining staff was also great. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is planning to visit the KC, MO downtown area!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is located between the WWI Memorial/downtown and Plaza district. For the price, you get free breakfast and parking. Breakfast was adequate, there was coffee and tea available all day. Our room, although spacious and clean, had a weird layout. And the bathroom sink was kind of small. Reception was friendly. Will stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rdlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights for my sister's graduation. Location was very convenient to downtown, stateline, Country Club Plaza and museums. Front desk service was friendly and they made a point to greet returning guests upon return which was a nice touch. Rooms are bit tired in my opinion and could use some updating. Because of the humidity, seemed that there was a bit of a musty smell from AC units. Rooms have microwave and mini fridge which was convenient. Complimentary breakfast consisted of the usual items: yogurt, cereal, pastries, eggs, sausage and fruit. Overall satisfied with the hotel, not a fancy place but one that is for the practical traveler who is looking for convenience and dependability of the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night for business. this is a very average fairfield hotel. its clean and the staff is nice. just what is to be expected of this hotel chain. Internet is free and there is parking.about 30 minutes from the airport

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t0309999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
602 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was looking for a hotel for a recent race and wanted an option that I could walk to the start and from the finish. This fit the bill and while expensive was much cheaper than many of the other downtown options. I was greeted quite cheerily at check-in with several jokes and general good cheer. Probably the best check-in experience I can remember. Quick, friendly, and told me everything that I needed to know. Rooms were nice and spacious, with comfortable beds.

My only negative note would be the windows - the flimsy curtains did little to block out the light, meaning that if you wanted to sleep past sunrise it would be quite difficult. Having a heavy curtain to pull across would be perfect. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckassotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#49 of 109 in Kansas City
290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Property: Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Address: 3001 Main St, Kansas City, MO 64108-3323
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#39 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill Hotel Kansas City
Fairfield Kansas City
Kansas City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing