We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The hotel itself was fine. Breakfast was standard, rooms were fine. My friend and I were driving from St. Louis to KC and I ended up getting sick along the way and we ran into torrential rain. We called to see if we could switch to a different Fairfield Inn even though it was past 6pm. They were rude and of told us no, but we could contact the Fairfield Inn general number to see if they would help us. Since that number reached somebody in India, they were no help. We called back the hotel and said we would be keeping out reservation since we had no choice. We finally made it there at midnight. After waiting 30 minutes to check in (at midnight!!) we were told our room had been cancelled. Luckily there were rooms available, but that is not the point.

The following morning we discovered the outlet by the sink was not working. We had to remind them again before it got fixed.

The hotel is in a bit of a seedy area, definitely do not walk around there after dark.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2009

Needed a place to stay for one night in Kansas City (NCAA Men's Tournament). Standard room, standard Fairfield breakfast. VERY convenient to downtown Kansas City and Sprint Center. Would stay here again if in area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2008

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn Union Hill for a weekend of shopping and eating barbeque. The location is just south of Crown Center and just a few minutes away from Country Club Plaza, so it's convenient to both. We booked a jacuzzi suite, which worked out well. Breakfast is above average for a complimentary hotel continental breakfast. The waffles are great, and there is cereal, pastries, fruit, and eggs available if that's your preference. The bed was one of the more comfortable beds I've slept in at a hotel in a while. The only negative I'd list is that the caulk in the shower is kind of icky and needs replacing. The pool, while small, is heated, which makes it very comfortable to use.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Husker_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2008

Some of the areas of the hotel were being rennovated. My room was one that had been recently rennovated, and everything was new. Some construction was going on in the hallway, but I was placed in a location where I could not hear it. I noticed other posts mentioned security, but I did not see any security while I was there. I had to leave to catch my return flight early, and could have used that service, since I was alone. There were some other hotel guest at the fron of the hotel when I left so I felt okay. The staff were very pleasant, and helpful. The breakfast was good, and the lobby was clean. There are not alot of places to eat in the immediate area, except for a few fast food places. I started not to rent a car, but was glad I did. I went to the American Jazz Museum, which I would recommend for people, who don't really know alot about the music. They profile some famous jazz artist. The Blue Room is nice, and I love all of the albums covers with all of the jazz artist. I went on the weekend of the Rhythm and Ribs Fest, so there was alot of activity in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank informedtraveleril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We just spent a weekend at this hotel and had a great time. The hotel clearly just redecorated because we could smell the new carpet. It seemed to have all new furniture. We had a fridge and microwave in our room. The room was standard size. We did not use the pool or jacuzzi. The hotel is only a few blocks from the Crown Center...a little too far to walk though.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kelseydoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Stayed at the hotel for 9 nights for a conference at the Hyatt Crown Centre. Check inn was easy and I was upgraded to a jacuzzi room which was delightful. I found the hallway to be very unkept with wallpaper falling off and the carpet very worn, but the room itself was much better. Good comfortable bed, lots of pillows and a working fridge and TV. Ate the breakfast most days, food was fine, nothing flash but quite acceptable. I particularly liked the paper every morning and the free computer with internet access as well. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank suzie850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

This was a pretty average Fairfield Inn. There were some needed renovations going on in March. Pool was very small. Room was clean, on the small side. I thought the location was perfectly fine, but could see how some people not used to being in "the city" might be just a bit uncomfortable. Convenient location about halfway between downtown sites and the Plaza. Everything was fine.

If you are planning on using the pool request a room in that building or one on the floor that has the interior crossing (I think 3rd floor) it was a chilly walk between the buildings when the kids were wet!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank askalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Address: 3001 Main St, Kansas City, MO 64108-3323
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#39 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £98 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill Hotel Kansas City
Fairfield Kansas City
Kansas City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing