We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2007

We have stayed here twice, both times were wonderful. Very good price for a location close to the Plaza and the Crown Center, we have walked to both places from the hotel. Fairfield Inn was very clean, staff was very friendly also. Price was cheaper through hotel's website than through any travel websites we could find at the time.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwestOmaha_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2006

Looked for a hotel near Kemper and the Plaza, but didn't want to spend the money on the Westin or Hyatt. Found this hotel had been reviewed with good results on Trip Advisor, so I booked a room. We stayed 3 nights.

Was very happy with our room. Everything was very clean. Carpets looked quite new. Beds were comfortable and sheets were surprisingly nice. Extra towels were readily accessible from the front desk.

As for location, Crown Center is literally down the hill, Plaza is about 5 minutes away and Kemper was about the same.

Other reviews mentioned sketchy parking, but I felt quite comfortable leaving my car in the lot and walking to and from it at night due to good lighting and security standing at the door (they were there every night).

We ate the free breakfast one of the mornings and it was fine. Nothing spectacular, but everything was fresh, the waffle maker worked, and what else should you expect for free?

I will certainly stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ErinASB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

I needed a downtown Kansas City hotel for two days in early August, and found the Fairfield Inn available for much less than other options. I booked a room for two nights and got what I paid for.

The room was large and there was a jacuzzi in the bathroom, which I did not expect (and did not use). The room was clean, but worn. The A/C was so loud that I had to put earplugs in to sleep; it was during the heatwave and I could not sleep without the A/C. The common areas were dark, and worn. The whole place had an overused feeling.

The front desk staff were helpful, and the free breakfast was nicely presented and ample.

The location felt a little seedy. I felt especially aware of the prominently displayed warning that the hotel is not responsible for damage to cars parked in the lot.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank fenwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Wichita, Kansas
27
Reviewed 18 July 2006

Stayed 3 nights in July, 2006. The room was immaculate as was the entire hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and great pillows too. The staff was wonderful - very accomodating. It was 104 degrees outside and our room was so cold that we had the air set on low most of the time. Great location. Nice breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
15
Reviewed 15 July 2006

We stayed at the Fairfield over the 4th of July weekend. Although the hotel was short-staffed, they were very responsive and helpful. The hotel is fairly small, which suited us, and the free breakfast was pretty good (assortment of muffins, bagels, bread as well as cereals and waffles you could grill, juice, hard boiled eggs, etc.). (My one complaint: they advertised a microwavable egg sandwich, but only put out a few -- when I asked them if they were out they just said "yes" and didn't offer an explanation or bring out more).
We got a room with a fridge & microwave, which was nice to have, since we were there several days.
The indoor pool is tiny, but, since I went when there was no one else there, it was fine. The hot tub was fine, although not as hot as it should have been.
I definitely recommend a car to get around -- nothing (except a Wendy's and a couple other restaurants) was within convenient walking distance (but that's really the case anywhere you stay in KC, unless you only want to stay in one specific small area). And don't expect ambiance in or around the hotel -- it's a clean and safe area, but nothing exciting.
The city does have bus service, but it was HOT when we were there, so decided not to wait for the buses (although one of the reasons I booked at the Fairfield was because we planned to take a special bus that goes along Main street prior to the Royals games, I found out that the earliest bus would get you go the stadium only about 45 minutes prior to the game, and we wanted to get there right when the gates opened -- plus it costs $5 per person & we parked for $9).
As far as places to go around KC, along with the Royals stadium, I recommend the American Jazz Museum and the Blue Room (which is part of the museum, but also features live jazz several night per week). We also really enjoyed the food and Blues at BB's lawnside BBQ (although it's a bit of a trek south of the hotel, when I called BBs for directions, they were flawless). Also, very close to the hotel is the Westport area, which has a lot of nice little shops and a movie theater that shows independent/social commentary types of films (we saw An Inconvenient Truth, but others were lesser known) -- it's an AMC, but a small theater on the second floor of a building, and there is really no indication on the outside that it's there -- we walked right past it, although we had the address.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Des Moines, IA
14
Reviewed 4 May 2006

I've stayed at this hotel twice in the last year and am more impressed with each visit. The staff was very friendly and responsive. There was an employee - Claude? that was just "over the top" in terms of service. The hotel is very clean with tasteful rooms. They have an indoor pool and small workout facility and the location is wonderful - very close to the Plaza. I highly recommend it for the value & the stay in general !!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jesús M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Address: 3001 Main St, Kansas City, MO 64108-3323
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#39 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £91 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill Hotel Kansas City
Fairfield Kansas City
Kansas City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing