We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Not Easy to Get Too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice But Not Easy to Get Too”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

It was a girl's weekend and we rented a suite for the weekend.
The room was on the smaller side for it to be called a 'suite' but it was very clean and somewhat comfortably fit 4 ladies... with only one bathroom. Somehow we made it work.
The King size bed in the room was very comfortable... but the pull out couch was extremely UNCOMFORTABLE. They are old and have not been updated in a long time.

The room was very clean.
Came with a sink, mini bar fridge in the livingroom.
One bathroom.

We had problems with the heat distribution in the room.
When sleeping in the livingroom on the terrible pull-out couch, it was extremely warm.
When sleeping in the bedroom, it was extremely cold.
There was a lot of cold air coming from the windows (poorly insulated windows) so we had to keep the heavy fabric curtains closed to keep some of that cold air at bay.
The hotel was pretty quiet - no noise complaints.

The continental breakfast was good.
No complaints.
Did not use the pool so I cannot comment but it did appear to be well used.
Parking was very convenient - below the hotel and we were not charged extra for it. That is a great bonus!

I would stay at this hotel again but wasn't incredibly impressed with the 'suite' we were in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SexeeKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    270
    82
    33
    11
See reviews for
280
200
35
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We booked our hotel through hotels.com and received an awesome deal for a three night four day excursion. We had a clean king sized room on the seventh floor with a big bathroom and a luxurious glass shower. We left our room at 1100 each morning and it was cleaned and re-stocked every day, which was nice for us. The continental breakfast was decent, we only ended up eating one morning though. We were just one block, within walking distance from plaza, but you had to walk up a VERY large hill on our way back to the hotel. They have nice underground parking for guests that accomadated by husbands lifted F150. I would have given it five stars but there is no hot-tub and even though they have a great pool, the pool closes at 1000.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank memurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Very nice room, good location, a short walk down a big hill to the plaza for dining and shopping. Nice quiet exercise room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daddavisfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Hampton Inn. It is a lovely hotel: super clean, tastefully decorated. The layout is user-friendly, with the pool, work-out room, computer room, meeting rooms, and roomy breakfast dining area, all on the first floor. There is also a little store, connected to the front desk area. My room had the modern flat screen television, great shower nozzle, wonderful bed that was just right amount of support and softness --- plus big squishy pillows. The bed and the entire room smelled clean. My room had a generous supply of towels and hangars. This was a huge relief to me because I use a lot of towels to hand wash my travel clothes, and I did not have to call around and plead for towels and hangars! Also, the elevator even has sweet messages on the door when it closes inside. The breakfast included a wide assortment of quality foods and beverages, as well as "travel cups" if desired. The tables were set apart so that you could walk between them, even if people were seated at the table. The modern televisions had the morning news show on one, and travel/weather (no sound) information on the other.

But the very best thing was the staff: The cookies they offer upon arrival is just the beginning of the warmth and hospitality of the people here. They went out of their way to handle every little detail and they extended themselves at every opportunity. And my situation was not extraordinary; my needs were typical, such as transportation, extra flavorings for my coffee, etc. They handled each little need cheerfully and sincerely --- and all with eye contact and smiles.

I did have a bit of a challenge with the heating system, but I did not report it, as I forgot about it when I came downstairs.

I hope my company sends me to Kansas City again soon, and puts me at this hotel. By the way, this was my first trip to Kansas City, MO --- wow, what a clean, lovely, inviting city it was. Missourians can be very proud of this area!

Room Tip: The "junior" suites are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dearbornfirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and it was clean, friendly staff, easy free parking, complimentary breakfast was good. The loction was great - easy to go to museums and restaurants. Front desk was very helpful with directions. The price was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee41_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed there for 5 days and is was okay. Ventilation still an issue. Suite was a nice size and kitchenette was fully furnished. Not an ideal location for walking to the plaza. Across the street are what appears to be low income multiple housing. Parking garage was a nice fit, as the plaza area has parking issues. Front staff was not friendly, or helpful. Breakfasts were with many options and was good.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Nice hotel with complimentary breakfast. The close proximity to Country Club Plaza makes this a great location. Note that it is located up on a hill, so if you don't like to walk up hills, this may be a factor, but otherwise a great hotel. They did have self serve hot coffee and tea throughout the day which was nice after returning to the hotel in the afternoon. I did not like that they charged $10 for a roll a way bed tho.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors provide a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazereed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4600 Summit St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, located in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri on the Country Club Plaza. The Plaza is a beautiful historic destination offering a prime location for shopping and dining. The Plaza has European feel featuring Spanish architecture, fountains, and meandering walkways. You will find small boutiques as well as national chains. Enjoy local Kansas attractions such as the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Crown Center, Starlight Theatre, Sprint Center, Performing Arts Center, and the Power & Light District. Our Kansas City hotel provides all of the amenities you expect while traveling including little extras such as complimentary electric vehicle charging stations. Stay connected with our free WiFi access provided throughout the hotel, including our meeting rooms. Start each day of your stay with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag on your way out. Get a great workout in our fitness center, and unwind in our large, heated indoor pool. Join us in the lobby of our Kansas City hotel for our complimentary Evening Reception* offered Monday through Thursday. Parking is easy with us, and complimentary, in our private garage and outdoor parking lot suitable to accommodate buses. If you need to host a business meeting or social gathering, our Kansas City hotel offers 5,000 sq. Ft. Of space in seven meeting rooms, designed to accommodate up to 250 attendees. We offer full meeting services including A/V and catering. Let our professional sales staff make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing