We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We just git back from 6 days in KC staying at this nice hotel. My husband, 12 yr old son and I had a king suite with kitchen. It was very nice, very clean, very affordable. A short walk to the plaza or convienient to everywhere by car..The garage for parking was great as was free internet. Breakfast while not huge, was more than adequate. Hot items varied daily. The bed was wonderful. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    261
    75
    32
    11
See reviews for
269
193
35
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
212 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We have stayed at many Hamptons over the years, this one was below average for the places we have stayed.

First the positive. Parking is excellent underground, evening beverages/light snacks was a nice touch as were the free cookies at check-in. In-room temp control was good without the typical loud window unit.

Now the not so good. TV was shot -- it buzzed and the picture was very faded. Typical rooms have a 25" CRT, not the LCD some pictures show (hint Hampton, time to pony up for better TVs). The toilet in our room only flushed if you knew how to tweak the handle. Wireless Internet on the 7th floor was pretty weak and slow. The left elevator made a nasty grinding noise whenever riding it. As noted on some other reviews, the walk to shopping involves a steep hill which was a bummer on a hot day in KC.

Walls are a little thin, we could hear the various activity in the hall and the elevator ding (even though it was 5 rooms down).

Granted this is a Hampton, not a Hilton. But for the price, there are better places to stay in the area.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dave9956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nathwoo, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
We have recently completed the upgrade of all guestroom tv's to 32 inch LCD TV's.

We have had the elevator serviced since your stay at the hotel.

Please feel free to contact me at the hotel at anytime should you ever need assistance.

Always at your Service,


Nathan R. Wood
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

I was in town for a training session with my company. This hampton inn isn't like the rest I have been in. The meeting room was huge but looked great and the staff was able to help us with any additional request. The fitness center was larger than i expected as well and the machines appeared to be new.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

My friends and I came to KC for the weekend and stayed at our usual place - The Hampton Inn & Suites in Country Club Plaza. I am always amazed at the cleanliness of this hotel - everything is always spotless. The new beds are oh-so comfortable and the white duvet covers (which would easily show dirt) are always spic-and-span. Our service has always been on the mark, and the breakfast staff are always so sweet and helpful - you can truly tell they care about your stay. The only complaint I can think of (which is pretty much the same in all hotels), is that when people leave their rooms, since the doors close automatically, they close pretty loudly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a delicious breakfast and a clean hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignIntervention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

I live in Vermont and I travel to Kansas City for Business quite often. I have to say I have been staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites on the Country Club Plaza for 5+ years and I have never had a bad experience, and I travel more then 120+ days a year.
Everyone at the hotel bends over backwards to make my stay better. If you ever have a problem ask for Eddie- the GM- I cant tell you how many times he has given me the in on the newest and hottest places to go on the Plaza.
Seriously, you walk 200 yards and you are in the most gorgeous upscale shopping and dining district in town.
In the hotel they have an amazing fitness center (all new and well maintained) the pool is stainless steel - yeah they make those. On warmer days - if i get out of meetings early I like to lay out on the terrace off of the pool area. Divine.
If you Go to Kansas City - for work or play i HIGHLY recommend this hotel. HANDS DOWN.

-Caitlin Gibson

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaitlinGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

We had a nice weekend at this hotel. The rooms are clean. The shower was spacious and clean. The bed was firm but comfy. The bathroom drains did make some gurgling noises but not real big deal. The complimentary breakfast was very good and the kitchen staff was excellent. The location was perfect, only a block from the Plaza. Overall, a very pleasant experience! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleestaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

Had friends in for a brewery tour. The rooms were really clean and I appreciated the duvets on the bed as I could see they were spotless. Location and breakfast were both super. Staff was friendly. Really close to Plaza shopping.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taniavandyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4600 Summit St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, located in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri on the Country Club Plaza. The Plaza is a beautiful historic destination offering a prime location for shopping and dining. The Plaza has European feel featuring Spanish architecture, fountains, and meandering walkways. You will find small boutiques as well as national chains. Enjoy local Kansas attractions such as the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Crown Center, Starlight Theatre, Sprint Center, Performing Arts Center, and the Power & Light District. Our Kansas City hotel provides all of the amenities you expect while traveling including little extras such as complimentary electric vehicle charging stations. Stay connected with our free WiFi access provided throughout the hotel, including our meeting rooms. Start each day of your stay with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag on your way out. Get a great workout in our fitness center, and unwind in our large, heated indoor pool. Join us in the lobby of our Kansas City hotel for our complimentary Evening Reception* offered Monday through Thursday. Parking is easy with us, and complimentary, in our private garage and outdoor parking lot suitable to accommodate buses. If you need to host a business meeting or social gathering, our Kansas City hotel offers 5,000 sq. Ft. Of space in seven meeting rooms, designed to accommodate up to 250 attendees. We offer full meeting services including A/V and catering. Let our professional sales staff make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing