We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location for country club plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
203 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location for country club plaza”
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We requested a quiet room on the top floor and that is what we were given. Room was fine,and breakfast very good. Staff were attentive, friendly and helpful.
Indoor pool was excellent.
The manager's reception each evening where you could purchase beer and wine at very advatageous prices, with complimentary snacks, was an excellent opportunity to meet other guests.
Secure underground parking.
Easy walking distance to country club plaza shops and restuarants.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hfba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    274
    85
    34
    11
See reviews for
288
203
36
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This hotel was in a very nice location, convenient to shops/downtown/restaurants. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, rooms very nice and clean. Breakfast standard. Nice to have the shower/toilet separate from the vanity area (when two people are getting ready at the same time). Bedding was Wonderful! Nice, crisp sheets, very comfortable.

One problem I had (my husband did not) was street noise. I could hear traffic (even though it was not a major street) and the a/c unit running all the time from the building behind us. Did not adversely affect my opinion. Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel instead of the back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtrvl525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Found it for a great price, great place to stay, centrally located to all activities, breakfast started the day wonderfully. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
231 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here for Memorial Day weekend. Our room was clean and in great condition. You can walk to just about everywhere in Country Club Plaza. It's also very close the the Nelson-Atkins Museum (outstanding and FREE) and a very short drive to the WWI Museum and Liberty Memorial and also to the City Market. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This is a perfectly good Hampton Inn & Suites -- clean, quiet, nice location, great service, above-average rooms. Nice breakfast (hot and cold) and lots of it. For the money, it's a good value.

If you've never been to Kansas City (and this was out first trip), Country Club is a wonderful area. Lots of restaurants, very upscale shops, fountains, nice place to wander day or evening. Hampton Inn is on the edge, so it's a bit of a hike to some places, not so much to others.

No view (that I could tell) from the hotel, if that matters to you. You look out on other hotels/parking lots/etc.

Not much "character" to this hotel either, which normally isn't a downside to a Hampton inn, but the neighborhood itself has SO much character -- Spanish-style architecture, older buildings, etc. -- that you just kind of wish the hotel had a little more "oomph."

A couple of minor complaints: the hotel guides in each room refer to a "pool and whirlpool." Actually, the hotel only has a pool; some rooms have whirlpools, but there's no whirlpool open to all guests. Also, the air conditioning in the rooms is in the upper part of the wall and is pointed at one side of the bed, so one person will freeze while the other might be warm. Last -- the toilets have a REALLY loud flush! That's an odd thing to complain about, but it was loud enough to be startling. Not sure what the deal is there!

Overall I'd say this is a good, solid option, especially for families who will appreciate the breakfast, pool, and free parking.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

This is a great pick for a family. We had a large 2 room suite with kitchen. The two vegetarians with us wanted to cook - and the kitchen was well stocked and spotless. The two queen beds had lots of pillows and everyone slept very well. Each room had window opening to outside. The neighborhood is lovely, close to the shops and fountains of the Country Club; about a mile to the Trolly Track Trail for biking and jogging, and adjacent to a family neighborhood with neat old houses and big billowy trees. The fab musuems of KC are close and the whole city is easy to navigate by car. The Hampton Inn has a great pool - it is stainless steel - which sounds weird - but feels like glass. so smooth to swim in and stand on. The pool is about 15 meters long. Free secure indoor parking and a sufficient, free well-stocked breakfast with decent coffee. Staff seemed a little uptight but were overall friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChineseBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We have stayed at this hotel numeous times and when we decided to bring our volleyball team to a tournament in KC we decided on the Hapton Inn again. The rooms were great, as usual, and everyone seemed happy with the breakfast selections. One small complaint (and truly it is small) is that the front desk ran out of quarters for the laundry facility. I know, we should have come prepared, but it never crossed my mind to bring quarters!
We have always enjoyed this hotel and will definitely make future reservations here!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4600 Summit St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, located in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri on the Country Club Plaza. The Plaza is a beautiful historic destination offering a prime location for shopping and dining. The Plaza has European feel featuring Spanish architecture, fountains, and meandering walkways. You will find small boutiques as well as national chains. Enjoy local Kansas attractions such as the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Crown Center, Starlight Theatre, Sprint Center, Performing Arts Center, and the Power & Light District. Our Kansas City hotel provides all of the amenities you expect while traveling including little extras such as complimentary electric vehicle charging stations. Stay connected with our free WiFi access provided throughout the hotel, including our meeting rooms. Start each day of your stay with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag on your way out. Get a great workout in our fitness center, and unwind in our large, heated indoor pool. Join us in the lobby of our Kansas City hotel for our complimentary Evening Reception* offered Monday through Thursday. Parking is easy with us, and complimentary, in our private garage and outdoor parking lot suitable to accommodate buses. If you need to host a business meeting or social gathering, our Kansas City hotel offers 5,000 sq. Ft. Of space in seven meeting rooms, designed to accommodate up to 250 attendees. We offer full meeting services including A/V and catering. Let our professional sales staff make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing