We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service is a plus at this hotel; lacks a few amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional service is a plus at this hotel; lacks a few amenities”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

My daughter and I usually stay in the Courtyard by Marriott at the Country Club Plaza in Kansas City, but this time I thought I'd try the Hampton Inn. I have stayed at several Hampton Inns and have always had a positive experience. I booked online and requested a high floor with a view of the plaza. My request was met and check-in was a breeze. Front desk service was exceptional. The room was typical Hampton Inn with very comfy beds and pillows, but it did lack some of the amenities normally found in a Hampton Inn such as a small refrigerator and morning newspaper. The only other negative was the vent in the bathroom was pretty dirty - lots of dust - but I left a note when we left, so I'm sure it will be taken care of. This hotel does have a Snack Shop with a variety of snacks and drinks, including ice cream. The morning breakfast area is very inviting and the service and food both mornings was exceptional. The hotel is just a block or two from the Country Club Plaza, but keep in mind there is a hill to climb to walk back to the hotel. Parking is free in parking garage. I definitely recommend the Hampton Inn at the Country Club Plaza -- for price, location and service.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    287
    89
    36
    12
See reviews for
303
209
37
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LeRoy, NY
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This Hampton was indicative of several I have stayed at recently- It was clean, had excellent desk service, and was in a nice location- Beds were comfortable, bathrooms large, elevator fast, and breakfast more than adequate- Close to shopping area/restaurants- One note about Kansas City in general, however,- Very difficult to get around unless renting a car- Everything is so spead out and mass transit is practically nonexistent, especially on a weekend- Taxi service is sparse and expensive- We did navigate the bus system somewhat but it seems to be a city that encourages driving- The Hampton will assist w/ directions or a limo service (no more expensive than a cab)- The WWI museum was outstanding and Kaufmann Stadium excellent (the reason we went- see the Yankess play the Royals) but little other reason to visit- I would recommend the Hampton at the Plaza

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Well run Hampton Inn. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Solid choice in Kansas City - good deal with breakfast and snack in the evening included. We traveled with three small children and the suite worked well for us. The pool was nice. It isn't a luxury hotel, but you can't go wrong - it's close to all of the shopping and reasonably priced. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nroffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My non-smoking room reeked of smoke. If we hadn't been so exhausted, we would have gone back downstairs to explain to the front desk clerk who struggled with English that we wanted another room. Instead we decided to just go get a bite to eat and relax. There was no phonebook in the room, and the three ring binder only listed the one restaurant that you could order room service from. Since the hotel is adjacent to the ghetto, we decided against walking. I always stay at Hampton, but this is the worst I've ever been in. Can't wait to get out of Kansas City.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL_duo_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This hotel was very nice. It rescued from a nightmare of a situation at the Ramada Inn. The Hampton was in a very nice area of town. It had lots of shopping and restaurants in walking distance. It was very clean and nicely decorated. The complimentary breakfast was very nice and included hot foods. The front desk was very accomodating and friendly. The beds were comfy and it was so quiet! I enjoyed my stay here very much.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wcp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We requested a quiet room on the top floor and that is what we were given. Room was fine,and breakfast very good. Staff were attentive, friendly and helpful.
Indoor pool was excellent.
The manager's reception each evening where you could purchase beer and wine at very advatageous prices, with complimentary snacks, was an excellent opportunity to meet other guests.
Secure underground parking.
Easy walking distance to country club plaza shops and restuarants.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hfba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This hotel was in a very nice location, convenient to shops/downtown/restaurants. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, rooms very nice and clean. Breakfast standard. Nice to have the shower/toilet separate from the vanity area (when two people are getting ready at the same time). Bedding was Wonderful! Nice, crisp sheets, very comfortable.

One problem I had (my husband did not) was street noise. I could hear traffic (even though it was not a major street) and the a/c unit running all the time from the building behind us. Did not adversely affect my opinion. Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel instead of the back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtrvl525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 108 in Kansas City
1,145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 108 in Kansas City
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4600 Summit St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, located in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri on the Country Club Plaza. The Plaza is a beautiful historic destination offering a prime location for shopping and dining. The Plaza has European feel featuring Spanish architecture, fountains, and meandering walkways. You will find small boutiques as well as national chains. Enjoy local Kansas attractions such as the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Crown Center, Starlight Theatre, Sprint Center, Performing Arts Center, and the Power & Light District. Our Kansas City hotel provides all of the amenities you expect while traveling including little extras such as complimentary electric vehicle charging stations. Stay connected with our free WiFi access provided throughout the hotel, including our meeting rooms. Start each day of your stay with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag on your way out. Get a great workout in our fitness center, and unwind in our large, heated indoor pool. Join us in the lobby of our Kansas City hotel for our complimentary Evening Reception* offered Monday through Thursday. Parking is easy with us, and complimentary, in our private garage and outdoor parking lot suitable to accommodate buses. If you need to host a business meeting or social gathering, our Kansas City hotel offers 5,000 sq. Ft. Of space in seven meeting rooms, designed to accommodate up to 250 attendees. We offer full meeting services including A/V and catering. Let our professional sales staff make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing