We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried to reserve a Group Event! They called the Highway Patrol!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tried to reserve a Group Event! They called the Highway Patrol!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was trying to get a sense of the place at 12 noon on a Friday, and talk to the Sales department about doing a Company meeting of 50 to 60 people. Renting meetng rooms, doing a banquet, breakfast, lunch and dinner for two days. Sales was in a meeting, so they told me to check back later. This is a $25,000.00 dollar deal! so I went and had lunch. Came back to ask if I could see the meeting rooms. While I was waiting to talk to the front desk, there was only two people on the desk with four people waiting. The lady I had talked to earlier, took 20 minutes to take care of "one" guest. I asked her why it took so long to help one person, (I will have 50/60 people checking in, and they are folkes who expect service) and she said the Customer had 3 rooms. I said your service kinda sucks, if it take you 20 minutes to handle 3 rooms. This lady leaves to find the Salesperson for events, and called the secuity department! (highhway patrol) They came and talked to my wife and I. I guess they were told we were crazy or something. I just want to have a good meeting, but could not get anyone at Ameristar to care. Hopefully someone there cares about the hotel business, or maybe they only care about the Casino???????????????

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Robert, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Ameristar. Ameristar prides ourselves on our commitment to delivering great guest service. As a testament to this, our property was recently named a KC Visitor Choice Award Winner. With this being said, we sincerely apologize that you had to wait while we assisted other guests and a result, we fell short of your expectations. Our management team has reached out to you and looks forward to speaking with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    84
    43
    29
    23
See reviews for
64
118
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crane, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the Ameristar. From the friendly staff at the desk to my wonderful room. The large bathroom had two sinks so two people could get ready at the same time. Room was really large and well appointed. Will recommend using the complementry valet parking. The parking is a distance from the hotel. Will stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Iowa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed two nights at the Ameristar Casino Hotel, comped on an email offer, Oct. 14 & 15, 2013. The hotel is modern and clean. The room we stayed in had two queen size beds. The beds were very firm, comfortable to my wife, too firm for me. There was a small refrigerator and a safe, along with drawers for clothes, in the stand under the HDTV. The TV had HD programming also (many hotels have HDTV's and standard def programming). The bathroom had two sinks, a standard tub/shower combo, and a separate room for the toilet. Everything worked fine, and was spotlessly clean.

Valet parking is free (don't forget to tip the attendant when you pick up your car), fast and convenient. Best option when staying at the hotel. Pretty long walk to surface and garage parking. The hotel has no pool or fitness center.

My only complaint is a sort of "bait and switch" pulled by the desk clerk when we checked in. We arrived about 2 PM, and were told the king bed standard room we had reserved was not available till 4 PM, but that there was a two queen "suite" available now, and the upgrade was only $10 per night. We figured why not, as we were already staying on a comp. The "suite" was a regular two queen room, with a small couch and table and two chairs at one end. I was told at checkout there was also a balcony, but didn't see it. To me, a suite has a door between the bedroom and sitting area. This room was not a suite. The lesson only cost us $10 per night, and if we ever stay here again, we won't fall for it. I made my unhappiness known when we checked out, and on the survey email we were sent.

Otherwise, it was a good stay. The hotel was quiet, and convenient to the casino. We would consider staying here again, especially if we were sent another comp offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pjpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for sharing your review and for staying with us. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests' room preferences in a timely manner. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grovespring, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had an offer for a free night so we stayed here to celebrate our Anniversary. The hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was very nice. The only issue I had was that when I made the reservation I told them the only thing that mattered was that our room be Non Smoking and whoever made the reservation put that it needed to be Smoking. The front desk clerk was able to fix that and give us a non smoking room without any issue. The buffet here is very good, too and it is easy to get enough comps to pay for the buffet. We will definitely stay here again. The casino is very open and I didn't notice the smoke as badly as I do in some other casinos. The drink service was not great as I played slots for several hours and don't think I was ever approached once to see if i wanted something to drink.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsatterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Happy Anniversary! We're honored that you chose to celebrate with us. Sorry for the mix up at check in, but happy that we were able to get that straightened out for you. We appreciate your feedback and I'll pass it along to our beverage team. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great stay at Ameristar KC. Rooms very clean. Staff helpful. Casino needs more drink service - very slow and it wasn't that busy. The valet parking is nice and quick. Was from out of state and never been to KC and overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
I'm glad you had a great first experience in KC! Thanks for your feedback and for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Really enjoyed our two day stay. Debbie at the front desk of the hotel is a fantastic,happy, and enjoyable person to work with at your casino.I wish all front desk people enjoyed their work and treated people the way she does.

Room Tip: Being nice goes both ways. It helps to enjoy yourself. Remember the employees are working and we are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaca-envy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us! Thanks for sharing your review and I'll pass your shout out along to Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just spent another fun and comfortable weekend at Ameristar KC. The rooms are very nice, beds are just perfect, and the staff is friendly and very accommodating. Close to most attractions, we attended a KC Royals game and did some mall shopping. The casino is a comfortable temperature and kept very clean and inviting. We have stayed at other casino hotels in the area and this is by far our favorite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sksloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thanks for coming back to see us and for sharing your review! I'm glad you had a comfortable stay and we're so happy to hear we're your favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.3 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
9.6 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Property: Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Address: 3200 Ameristar Dr, Kansas City, MO 64161-9223
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#33 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing