We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive retro-ish place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very impressive retro-ish place”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay here, and managed to get a very good sleep. The staff is very friendly, courteous, and attentive. I have had to stay at hotels in and around Kansas City, and this is one of my favorite places to get a good nights rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 714jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    86
    44
    29
    23
See reviews for
65
119
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place is a hoot! If you are looking for a clean, comfy bed, with a very attentive, friendly staff and your in the area, STAY HERE! Granted the gambling is not worth getting out of bed for, but the old school charm, decor, and overall mid-west feel is very refreshing if you are like me and hail from a more modern, busy part of the country.

If you do end up staying the diner has a good, quick, cheap breakfast that if you make nice with the manager can maybe hook you up with a discount... Good luck at those slots!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbolton212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am so please to hear you enjoyed your stay! I went ahead and sent our property team your review. Thank you for being our guest and we do hope you visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If a dark and retro hotel is your preference, then this is the place for you. Bed was not that comfy. Lighting was lacking to say the least. Room as clean but a bit worn. Front desk was friendly and helpful. I am glad our room was comped - not sure I would consider paying for a repeat visit here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
This certainly is not the quality standard at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City. I apologize if we fell short during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and do hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Ameristar KC is a dump hole. Let me describe the actual dump hole. It stood about 6 inches above the ground. I maneuver myself in as the door pushes into the stall and nearly abuts the toilet seat. Accomplishing this, I look to hang up my coat but on the door is a colon rotated 180 degrees where the hook has been ripped off. I am at the point of no return. I stuff my jacket down my pant leg as my feet sit in a puddle of weewee. Edited for initial profanity.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flekk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfw
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We've been driving for days so when we realized that Kansas City would be our next stop I started looking thru Trip Advisor for a place for the night. There I found out about the casinos.
Food, a bed & some fun all in one place was just what we needed!
Check in was easy & quick.
We had potato skins that were loaded with bacon & medium buffalo wings at the sports bar. Both were really good & the wings were meaty.
Not big gamblers...won a little, lost a little but had fun. The upstairs actually has a smoke free area - overall the smoke smell was ok. Upstairs was better.
Then we art at the steakhouse. We had the grilled oysters & they were delicious. We also had the prime rib which was pretty good considering I don't really like prime rib. Scalloped potatoes were yummy!
Only thing the room didn't get that cold - we kept it on 65 but it's because the thermostat is too close to the supply air so it shuts off before the room gets cold. (We do air conditioning & heating :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lastpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are definitely going to put in a service request to look at our rooms’ tempature. Thank you for your feedback and your review. We are pleased to hear you had a fun time, hope you visit us again sometime, hopefully soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilgore, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Checked in early on Sunday the 30th of March stayed til Tuesday. Room was perfect and ready. I was a little bummed it was on the first floor because I didn't get a view but not having to wait on an elevator was a definite plus. If you are a fan of clean fancy bathrooms you need to get a mini-suite. Water pressure was amazing and there were 2 sinks! I got a smoking room but none of my friends noticed any lingering odor. Buffet AMAZING. PEARLS OYSTER BAR ALSO AMAZING. The casino floor was nice and lots of options no waits for any table games or poker. There is a movie theater on site which more than makes up for no pool or workout facilities. The entire time I stayed i didnt need to leave the property once. Debbie at the front desk was friendly and charming. She got me checked in less than 5 mins after I showed up. She also secured my next amazing stay which I honestly cant wait for!

Room Tip: The rooms come with a I-home I-pod dock/portable speakers make sure they are actually plugged in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gutentag11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent a night at the Ameristar on our first visit to Kansas City. We enjoyed the hotel and the casino. The casino was clean, smoke smell was well filtered and the employees were friendly and helpful. The only thing that surprised us (which was not the fault of the hotel) was that the riverfront was not developed. I had not done my research well enough apparently as we thought there would be other things around the waterfront. Just something to note if you've never been to Kansas City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirrely2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.3 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
2,635 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
9.5 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
7.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#9 of 109 in Kansas City
2,184 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Property: Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Address: 3200 Ameristar Dr, Kansas City, MO 64161-9223
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#33 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing