We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good buffet. Hotel pricey.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good buffet. Hotel pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

For what we paid for the room I expected a lot more. This room should have been 79.00 max. The staff at the front desk and the bellman were very friendly and took great care of us. The food at the buffet and the diner was pretty good. The desserts were fantastic. Hated that the no smoking section of the casino was on the top floor where all the smoke rose. Since I am highly allergic couldn't stay in the casino very long.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kcmomshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    81
    42
    29
    22
See reviews for
63
115
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We don't gamble much, but love to go to casino's for dinner. Their buffet restaurant was amazing! From the variety of food and desserts to the staff, it was fantastic. Its not ur normal cheap buffet food either...soo good! We brought our two toddlers and it went awesome. By far my favorite casino to dine at.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Reeva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My parents were in town for a week and stayed at this hotel since it is very close to my house. The room had two queen beds, fridge in room, table & chairs,spacious bathroom with tolitries and nice flat screen with remote in room. The room was very nice and clean. The beds where very comfortable with nice linens. At this resort there is a movie theater, several resturants fast food as well as resturants, an arcade, gift shop, and lets not forget the gambling. They also have a place where you can take your kids called Kids Quest, where you can take kids under twelve for child care and pay an hourly rate while you indulge in adult gaming without worrying about them. Long storey short this is a great place to stay & play. It is also just a short drive(a couple of miles) away from Worlds of Fun & Oceans of Fun. If you go to this hotel make sure you sign up for a gaming card and and recieve special offers on rooms and food discounts.

Room Tip: I have seen several of their rooms and all seem pretty good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zfordgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I worked with Kent Korte on my company's meeting, hotel rooms and dinner in June 2014. He had great follow-through and was consistently making sure that we had what we needed throughout the entire process. He accommodated all of our AV needs for the meeting, made sure that our 17 hotel rooms were properly booked and check-in and check-out dates were correct, and put his top wait staff on our private dinner party of 17 at the Great Plains Cattle Co. steakhouse - which was fantastic. Everything went very smoothly. More hotel/restaurant venues need a manager like Kent - he made my life easier with planning and gave me peace of mind knowing that our party was taken care of. Couldn't have asked for better service at all points of planning and day-of. I would highly recommend Kent, his staff and this venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Sara, thank you very, very much for the kind words regarding Kent Korte and the rest of our team! We are thrilled that you and your team had a memorable event. We will be honored to share your feedback with the entire team. We look forward to hosting you and your group again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

6/4/2014

We've gambled in the past at Ameristar and really enjoyed ourselves. So, we decided to book a room so we wouldn't have to travel back home. Well...........wish we hadn't bothered!
Now don't get me wrong, the room was very clean and equipped with the usual things. Staff was wonderful and even let us in the room way early. But.... The bed was hard as a rock and neither one of us got much sleep. The bathroom wasn't that great. Lighting was poor and the bottom of the tub should've had something on it to prevent from falling. It was very slick so one had to be careful. And the toilet was so low, even though I'm not that old, I had problems lifting up to get off of it. I can't imagine how elderly people could manage on their own. Especially when there wasn't and grab bars to help one out.
And why in the world, a nice place like this is, not have a breakfast buffet????? There was only one place that had breakfast with few items on the menu and high prices to go with it!
We checked out early the next morning and went to Harrah's. Super buffet and we had a great time gambling. Although we never expect to win or anything like that, our money lasted a lot longer playing there then it did at Ameristar. If we do decide to stay overnight again, it will be back to Harrah's!

Room Tip: This was a Deluxe room, not a suite. But still expected more then what we got!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
305 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is convenient if you are traveling into Kansas City from the north (route 35) or the east (route 70). The rooms are nice and the staff helpful. There are several options for dining without leaving the premises. It is also is attractive if you like casinos (this is our favorite in the KC area). We recommend getting a room on the north or east side of the hotel so you are not looking out on the roof (higher floors). The lighting in the restroom is a bit soft making shaving with a razor a bit of a challenge. We also were hearing some ventilation noise (soft but noticeable) from our room on the 10th floor

Room Tip: The high floor rooms on the west side of the hotel have an unattractive view of a roof and ventilati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, Bob. I am so glad you enjoyed all the dining options on property. I went ahead and contacted our property staff regarding the bathroom lighting and ventilation noise. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Grove, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was our first time to stay at the Ameristar, even though we have visited Kansas City several times. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary by taking a 3 day trip to KC. We actually chose the Ameristar based on the reviews. The place was great. We stayed in a mini-suite and the room was well decorated, large and even had a small balcony. It was very quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very gracious and I can't think of a single person that didn't smile and make us feel welcome. I highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: We stayed on the nineth floor, we like a view. We faced the south so we had a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weswife B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
7.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
3.3 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
9.6 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
7.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Property: Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Address: 3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#33 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing