We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rocking in Kansas City!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Stayed Sat July 24 after attending the Paul McCartney concert at the Sprint Center. Nice comfortable, quiet room. Good gambling in the Casino, great eats at Arthur Bryant's BBQ. Kind of high priced, but had everything we need. Paul was GREAT! See him if you can. Desk person gave us good instructions to get to show and back. Thanks again! Stayed here b4, will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakeviewsrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2010

My husband, 17 yo daughter, her friend and I stayed at Ameristar for 2 nights. Although the rooms were a little pricey (we had one suite and one standard room), the customer service was top-notch! EVERYONE from the front desk staff, bell staff, restaurants and casino staff were friendly and accomodating. We had stayed at Harrahs the night before and the customer service was like night and day. If I had anything negative to say it would be that dining options are limited from what they were 3 yrs ago and the parking garage is a little farther away than it should be. But that is getting really picky.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Traveling with a colleague who recommended this hotel-casino. It was okay, but not great. Very hard to use the valet service when arriving on Sunday evening. Switched over to the self-park, which turned out to be not too inconvenient except for the long walk.

Room was more than adequate. Had trouble getting into the first room, and went to have the key reissued. Guy who issued me the key to begin with told the woman issuing a new key that he had two other people in that room this week who had the same problem, maybe it is the lock. Um, yeah. So, new room. That was not much of a problem, but kind of annoying.

Housekeeping was very well done, and the front desk, other than the initial problem, was flawless.

This place is out in the middle of nowhere, though, and the facilities and restaurants are not good enough to be self-sufficient. An exception is the fine buffet. In our week at the hotel, we went there twice for dinner, and it was about as good as a buffet can be. The barbeque restaurant was not all that terrific, either for taste or for value. There is no real breakfast restaurant, which is a very negative point. Another, that is frankly unbelievable, is that there is no fitness center.

The casino was very boring, so we did not spend much time or money there.

Overall, we might go back because of the low priced, comfortable rooms. If you were going to go to Kansas City in the summer for some of the other activities, this would be a pretty good, safe place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubbs1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Good buffet and restaurants---Esp Bryant's BBQ.
Clean, nice rooms, friendly staff (Jeff Hirst-Front Desk).
No reason to leave the property for a day or two.

Downside-Casino. Many older slots that have been pulled by Vegas years ago. Light faided 3 wheels. Fair tables.
NO WoF....what. No large progressives.........what.
No free drinks while playing.........Missouri laws are just backwards there.
If you look there are still some 9/6 JoB VP.

A very pretty property, but lacks the Vegas feel.
It's OK for a local fix in cowtown.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

I've stayed here twice, both times were perfect. So perfect that I have another reservation This month Nov. 23 to be exact. The first time we stayed here it was the last night of our honeymoon. Our honeymoon had had some down sides so far. (bad experience at another hotel, so bad we stayed at home our second night instead of staying the 2 nights as planned) So needless to say, we were excited to not be at home again. We had booked a regular deluxe room for $79 from one of my hubby's star awards coupons. Well you could imagine my surprise when were were escorted by the bell hop to THE KING SUITE!! Biggest room available. This thing just kept on going. It has a sitting area if you need to do some work, a living room with a 42in plasma, a dining room with a round wood table for 4, and dishes ect. for four. a mini bar, another place to eat with bar stools, a half bath right as you walk in, then... you have the bedroom with another 42im plasma, huge king size bed with excellent bedding, then a whirlpool tub that separates the bedroom from the bathroom, it also had a huge standing shower with the heavy glass doors, this thing was one roomy shower. it also had a vanity area with a lighted mirror for me to get my make-up on. double sinks ect. Above the bathtub was another TV, a 20 in flat screen. That's two phones in the two bathrooms, 3 TV's all together, oh yah, it also had two balconies, it was just magical perfection. Then when I went back a little over a year later for my b-day we used another coupon for a regular room and got the KING SUITE AGAIN!! I honestly have no idea what a regular room is like. We booked a regular room again, I will be happy with it if that's what we get, but for some reason I doubt that we will. I will post another review and some pics after we stay again for the third time on the 23rd.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amason1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I was on a comp trip offered by the hotel. I figured they would give me a room equal to what I was paying for. I could not have been more wrong. I was welcomed and treated as if I ws paying full price for the room. The room was exquisite. The bed was to die for. The bedding was nothing less than Egyptian cotton which let me sleep like a baby. Of course the restaurants are excellent. The bakery and pastry shop is totally yummy. Especially their almond filled croissants!!! Can hardly wait to go back. Way to go Ameristar!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bttrflys51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Been here before, room was nice, food at Arthur Bryant's was wonderful and way too much, and the gambling was fun. At check in, the rate was much higher than quoted when we booked. Talked to the manager when we checked out(check in person said that's the way it is) and he changed our rate to a couple of $$ less than our AARP rate quote. He was very nice about it, and we were happy with our stay and rate. One thing, the dinner has closed, so during the week, there is no breakfast on site, other then pastries. By the way, Paul McCartney was FANTASTIC, well worth the 1500 mile round trip. See him if you can!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeviewsrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.3 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
2,827 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
6.4 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,115 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
9.6 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Address: 3200 Ameristar Dr, Kansas City, MO 64161-9223
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#33 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £92 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing