We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel JUST off downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is a nice hotel. Not overly fancy, but certainly clean and everything I expected.

Room Tip: The immediate neighborhood surrounding the hotel doesn't look overly nice, but I didn't feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrquinn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

I had made a reservation for three nights at the Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown KC MO. After my first night, which was very pleasant, I went off to work on the equipment at the Auditorium that brought me to town. While there, I got a call from my 94 year old mother's Care Button folks, telling me that she'd fallen and was being transported to the hospital, in Council Bluffs, IA, 3 hours away. I first called my wife, to see what she could do to help, then called the motel to tell them what had happened and that I was leaving today (Tuesday) instead of Thursday. Andrew answered the phone, and was really helpful. I got the work I needed to do done, and went back to the motel, where a bill for one night's lodging awaited me. Andrew could have reasonably charged me for another, but was kind enough to take the circumstances into account and forgive the penalties. I've stayed there before, and will be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Great location, very clean rooms, and one of the best breakfast attendants I've ever met. I met a buddy in KC for the Warrior Dash on May 5th. We were in bed by 10:30pm the night after the race, which happened to be Cinco de Mayo as well. At 2:00am, we heard repeated attempts of a key trying to get access to our room. We assumed it was a drunk woman that just had the wrong room. Well, after about six attempts, she was successful! Our door opened and thankfully the metal stopper/latch kept her from getting in. When he jumped up and approached the door, she smarted off, and a group of six drunk lasses moved on. When I mentioned the incident to the front desk clerk the next morning, she said "sorry" while barely looking up from whatever she was working on. Good thing that latch kept them from getting in. And good thing it wasn't six drunk men that got access to two 24-year-old women's room. Or good thing it wasn't a destitute, desperate criminal getting access to an affluent little old woman's room. My buddy and I laughed it off, but if they tables were turned, I'm sure Comfort Inn Downtown would be party to a giant lawsuit. The clerk's lack of concern was surprising and disappointing.

Room Tip: Get one with a door latch. And use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel was very clean and the staff was very acommodating. My grandaughter enjoyed the indoor pool. It was less than a mile away from the Kansas City Convention Center where we were attending a dance competition, so the location was very convenient for that. If there is any drawback it would be a lack of surrounding eating places, but you can get back on the interstate easily, go a couple miles and exit to restaurants and fast food places. This is not a "luxury hotel" but is perfect for our needs: it is modern and clean, has a pool, small gym, in-room coffee pot, hair dryer, microwave and frig. I called the front desk the day I returned home and asked if the maid had found my i-phone charger. She had found it and turned it in. The yound man at the front desk mailed it to me and 2 days later I received it. I appreciate the excellent service provided by both employees. I will continue to stay there when visiting Kansas City, MO.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel because if its location in the downtown area. I am a choice rewards member and received a good deal on the rate. I got exactly what I didn't pay for! The first room we were given smelled very strongly of mold and there was something that appeared to be mold growing on the ceiling. We went back to the desk and were changed to a different room and it was ok. I wanted to move to a different hotel but it was late. There isn't anything fancy about this hotel, it has all the basics.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSchaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here one night and found the rooms comfortable and spacious. They were also clean and well priced. There was a sitting room with a faucet, fridge, desk, coffee table, and sofa. The continental breakfast was well supplied and had quite a bit of variety.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildhorsetrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Close to the highway and fairly noisy. ask for a top floor room so no tromping around upstairs. breakfast on the weekend was okay but no eggs or sausage like there was the first day on Friday. I never eat biscuits and gravy and that was the only "hot" choice that didn't require time (like the waffles). bathroom switch, yes, should be on the inside of the bathroom. no way to turn on the light and NOT wake up everyone else in the place. bed was not very comfortable, and the pullout bed in the couch was unbearable. also the halls smelled like someone had been smoking out there.

HOWEVER Amber working at the front desk was a total doll. she went above and beyond, starting from when she checked us in at 12:45 in the morning, and then every time we needed any and everything after that. she gets top marks for customer service from us!!! otherwise, it was a standard lower level hotel experience.

Room Tip: top floor for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mylinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#18 of 109 in Kansas City
1,195 reviews
4 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#31 of 109 in Kansas City
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 770 Admiral Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64106-1514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#40 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £63 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown Kansas City, Missouri, the Comfort Inn & Suites is a three diamond rated property located one half mile from the Sprint Center, Power & Light District, Convention Center, Kauffman Performing Arts, Midland Theater and the City River Market. Our spacious guestrooms come equipped with a micro-fridge, in-room coffee, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safes and voicemail. We provide a complimentary Full Hot Breakfast each morning, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, Free USA Today Newspapers and Free Wi-Fi. The Comfort Inn & Suites has 2 fitness centers, business center, guest laundry, in-door pool and meeting facilities.Our highly professional, multi-lingual staff prides themselves in making your stay with us a memorable experience. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Downtown
Kansas City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing