We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Wellington, Kansas
1 review
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It was a half of the price of others. It was newly remodeled and clean.The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was ready at 4:30a.m.!!
Yes, the rooms were small, hence the name:Micro-hotel. We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    145
    185
    136
    172
See reviews for
253
162
83
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive hotel by the Kansas City airport since we were arriving in the evening for one night before we drove the 4 hours to Springfield for a funeral. This was very inexpensive and believe me, you get what you pay for. The rooms are in great need of renovation! They advertise "luxury bedding". Our sheets were tattered, the bed was soft and lumpy, the towels had holes and were scratchy. There was no coffee pot in the room. There were cracks in the ceiling and other places. The only thing good was the large flat screen TV. The breakfast that is included should be skipped. Very, very small area and not much choice of anything that you'd want to eat. The handle of the toaster fell off when the toast popped up. The handle of the water dispenser fell into my cup. There was powdered creamer - not even those little half n half containers. Coffee was bad. The power went off for 10 minutes while we were trying to check out and we had to wait for the machines to reset. The lady at the reception desk had on a dirty shirt. We have stayed at other Microtel Inns that were nice. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I certainly would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoolerGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lake
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Was a good location (once we found it), staff were ok, rooms are TINY!!! Barely enough room to change your mind... Wish I could say something more positive, but there really isn't much else to say! Hard to locate if you are not familiar with the area and/or miss the small sign on the interstate!

Room Tip: Tiniest room I have ever stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The hotel was fine, the rooms were too small even for two people. The room was clean and quiet. For 1 night stay it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaniMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
362 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I had an early flight so decided to stay at a hotel that offered park-and-fly. I had stayed at this Microtel some years ago and found the room unsatisfactory. But after finding that other budget hotels near the airport were booked or too expensive for just a place to sleep, I decided to try the Microtel again.

This time I was pleasantly surprised. My friend and I both got suites instead of rooms, although I simply asked for the lowest-priced room when I called for the reservation. Of course, I didn't need a suite for an 8-hour stay!

Everything was clean and comfortable. Really nothing at all to complain about. Breakfast was continental and the healthy choices were yogurt, bananas, and Cheerios. Donuts and pastries were also available.

The shuttle service is free and efficient. Because the hotel is so close to the airport, we took the 5 AM shuttle for a 6 AM flight and had plenty of time to check in and get through security. When we returned at midnight, we simply called for pickup and the driver was there in less than 10 minutes.

Definitely recommended for those with early flights, and in fact I'd be happy to stay there for longer if I had business in the area. 5 stars for quality at a low price!

Room Tip: I'm not sure if I was upgraded, but I had a suite instead of a room for the same low price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It's called Microtel for a reason. Not the Megatel, but Microtel, because the rooms are *tiny*. This is fine for the overnight traveler, as you get most of the modern conveniences for a good price. (The mirrors serving as a headboard not only give the illusion of more space, but they also add to the ghetto realness feel of the hotel.)

There's a flat-screen TV, free wifi, and good water pressure for a shower.

The service here is really friendly; they have shuttles to the airport 24/7.

However, this is clearly not a Four Seasons. The shower curtain in my room had no liner, and it didn't fit the shower. The property installed a curved shower rod, but the curtain was too small, so not only did it not reach from edge to edge, but it barely even hit the lip of the tub. So here was water everywhere during the shower.

The "free breakfast" is some cereal, some apples and bananas, and a few bagels. Nothing hot, and not much else in the way of food. You will eat your empty carbs, and you'll love it!

Again, I'd still consider this for a quick overnight if I was stuck by the hotel... but this is definitely not a destination. (One perk: Microtels are part of the Wyndham Rewards program, so there's that.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

A very low-end threadbare borderline filthy property. Everything about the hotel screamed "fleabag". As noted, the rooms are stacked in tightly, and walls do not insulate noise at all. We had the pleasure of listening to the TV, conversations and any other noise produced in middle of night from adjacent room.

The only benefit of this properly is that it is almost literally next door to Kansas City International Airport.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City
#71 of 109 in Kansas City
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Kansas City International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Airport - Plaza Circle
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#38 of 109 in Kansas City
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport
Address: 11831 NW Plaza Cir, near Kansas City International Airport, Kansas City, MO 64153-1115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is recently renovated. We are only 2 miles away from MCI airport. We have 24 hours shuttle service to airport. Free breakfast, free phone calls, free Wi-Fi in rooms and business center in lobby. Our bedding meet any five star hotels bedding standards. We offer complimentary water bottle and cookies. Restaurants and shopping centers are within a 5 miles radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Microtel Inn And Suites Kansas City
Microtel Hotel Kansas City
Microtel Kansas City
Kansas City Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing