We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a world class facility”

Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #5 of 153 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
kansas city, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a world class facility”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I attended a symphony concert here. There are 2 facilities in 1 building, the Helzberg Hall and the Kauffman Theater,..This Safdie designed building is only a few years young,, but it is spectacular Acoustics and viewing are excellent from any seat. Highly recommend going there if you enjoy the program that evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marke485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    61
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
680 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“extremely dangerous balcony seating due to low railing but otherwise a fabulous facility”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I am down rating this place because the balcony seating is highly dangerous due to the extremely low railings. I was literally terrified to sit there on the balcony because the railing is less than 18 inches high. One could easily fall over it. I am surprised there has not been a fatality yet. Older people after drinking a drink or two would be at especially high risk. Having said that, the place is beautiful and has great acoustics. I will not ever risk sitting in a balcony in the future here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I had season ballet tickets for this past season. The experience at Kauffman Center was amazing! The KC ballet performances were fantastic. This center was truly designed for musical performances. From parking to surrounding restaurants to the people working at Kauffman; it was a great season.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of Kansas City”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Kauffman Center is an amazing place. I've been there about six times now, and it is unbelievable. The most beautiful performing arts Center I've been to yet! The interior of each space is beautiful, the acoustics are wonderful, the seats are good no matter where you're sitting. Although leaving the facility after performance is a little bit lengthy, foot-traffic seems to flow easily. It's definitely worth the time to see any presentation at either theater just to experience the beauty of this Kansas City venue.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee Mission
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Plus, Plus”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I believe the term "world class" would be more than appropriate. The acoustics in both halls are amazing and there is not a bad seat in both. All under the same roof is Helzberg Hall where symphonies perform and the Muriel Kauffman Theatre for plays, the opera and the ballet.
Go and experience the building itself. They give tours. But more importantly, go and hear/see a performance. Now you'll be really amazed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Huskerthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing