We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Kansas City
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 20 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kina G, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I, myself am a Days Inn employee so I'm always eager to stay at other properties to see what they are doing to keep their guests happy. I would say that my stay at this Days Inn was average. I chose this hotel because it is close to the downtown/plaza area, very convenient. First, the positives:

1. It looks like the lobby/rooms have been remodeled within the past few years (new carpet and paint if nothing else). The aesthetic was very nice.
2. The beds were AMAZING. Some of the best I've stayed in, 5 stars and down......SO comfortable, if like me, you like a super soft bed.
3. The lobby/rooms were clean and for the most part quiet.

Now for the negatives:

1. I'm not sure if it's just because I'm a fellow Wyndham employee, but the man who checked me in (I'm assuming the owner), was a little abrasive, if not rude. When I explained to him I was a Days Inn employee from another city he gave me this look of pity and said "Oh...." then proceeded to tell me about the brand new property they're building. (Competitive much?) But what really rubbed me the wrong way was when he said, "I bet you get a lot of complaints, huh?" Out of nowhere! His hotel was nice, but not nice enough to be talking down on other properties he isn't even aware of.
2. Even though the room looked newly-remodeled it was still full of issues/annoyances. There was a hole in the wall near the bathroom and we had to end up unplugging the refrigerator as it was SO loud. The HVAC unit is directly under the window which caused the warm air coming out to cycle underneath the curtains and not into the room. The bathrooms are small considering there is a large amount of unused, tiled space directly outside of it. Finally, it looks as though the remodel was done hastily or on a tight budget, the edge-work was sloppy and as stated earlier there were some holes/cracks in the walls.
3. Finally, we were not able to use the pool as it was closed, but from what I saw it is WAY too small to enjoy anyway. I don't think I've ever seen a pool that tiny.

Overall, I would stay at this property again, maybe on a day when I can check in with a different employee. In reality, the beds would be the only thing bringing me back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank itinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kina G, Marketing Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel especially as another Days Inn employee. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the remodel along with the beds. We are truly sorry about the poor customer service you received upon checking in and we will discuss and resolve this issue to make sure it doesn't continue. With it being January, the outdoor pool is closed but it is a nice size. We are very happy that you will be giving us another chance and we will make sure your just complaints are resolved! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is substandard. I should have known from the price. The manager didn't speak good English. He was training a new member when we checked in. There was no greeting of any kind. They wrote down my whole credit card number on a paper instead of swiping it into the computer. I didn't like that at all. The room smelled like smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. There was no blanket, only bedspread which really stink and had cigarette burn on it. The lamp was plugged in and stretched out across the room, presenting tripping hazard. The light switch in the bathroom zapped me when i tried to turn it on. The TV was sitting on the dresser that was lower than the bed. So, we had to sit up if we wanted to watch TV. I refused to put bedspread over me so we turned the heat up. It was not a central unit. It was one of those big unit on the wall. So, i ended up getting up 3 times that night just to adjust the temperature. We had a reservation for 2 nights, but only stayed 1 because it was such a bad place even though i didn't get any money back. At check out, the guy just took the key without saying anything. Needless to say, that was the last time i stay at any Days Inn. Dirty dirty dirty with no customer service skill what so ever.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nawabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kina G, Marketing Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking to the time out to write a review on your stay. We are terribly sorry that your stay wasn't a more pleasant one. We have checked with our staff but we are unsure why your credit card number would be written down unless there was something happening to our system at the time. This is not a regular occurrence and we apologize for that. We take our customers and the privacy of their person information very seriously. We will look into the staging of our rooms to see what issues can be resolved. We will go over everything you sent us to make sure we are giving customers the best stay possible. Once again, we are truly sorry about your stay with us but we do hope you give us another chance on your next visit to Kansas City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived early for the chiefs game and were not sure if we could check in early and the staff went out of their way to allow it to happen which they did not have to do! Room was clean staff was great we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolet8605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kina G, Marketing Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your amazing review! Our staff always makes sure they provide the most excellent customer service and I am happy to see that we were able to check you in right away with no hassles! We hope you come back to stay with us when coming to watch our Chiefs play at Arrowhead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Timmie S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kina G, Marketing Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Arrived Thursday 10/3. Very few cars in parking area. Building looks a little dated, but room was nicely remodeled. Very nice bedding. TV reception not state of art. Housekeeping missed a few small items (ice bucket, cleaning toilet). Breakfast skimpy. Location is just off the highway, 5 minutes from downtown. Pizza Hut and McDonalds few doors down. Would stay again because of price, location and quality of the remodeled room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERKA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kina G, Marketing Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for staying with while you visited Kansas City. We appreciate your compliments on our remodeling and are in the process of updating our electronics as well. The items missed in your review won't be missed again as well as offering a little more on our free breakfast. We hope you chose to stay with us again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Owners/operators went out of their way to make sure everyone was comfortable and thus provided a pleasant stay. Great, clean room. Great clean dining area and great food. Many motel owners could learn from this motel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kina G, Marketing Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We really appreciate your kind words in your review. I am glad our staff went above and beyond during your stay as they would for anyone. We hope to see you again at Days Inn Kansas City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
6.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Independence
Days Inn Independence
#16 of 18 in Independence
238 reviews
15.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Airport - Tiffany Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kansas City

Address: 5100 E Linwood Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64128-1833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: £60 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Kansas City 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-70 and Van Brunt near KC Chiefs and Royals Stadiums, VA Hospital, Plaza Area, Downtown. Newly, completely renovated with modern ameneties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing