We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Kansas City
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    43
    68
    50
    78
See reviews for
102
63
22
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Saint Louis, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First time in Kansas City, MO and read reviews before booking. The price was nice. Property is old, but decently maintained. When booking I requested the bed comforter to be freshly washed. Upon arrival I was questioned by the manager about my request in what seemed to be a little hostile but once we talked he understood where I was coming from. He assured me he checked the room and the comforters were clean and indeed they were washed. BE WARNED: There was no way for me to know that this property was not in the best maintained part of town. The parking lot was very small and more is available in the back but considering the neighborhood I didn't park in the rear. The room was very clean with no odors/smells. There was no dust found anywhere. The bathroom was so small to where the door would hit the tub. The exhaust fan did not work in the bathroom. Only table in room had almost broken legs. TV was a flat screen but no HBO or Showtime available. The listings did not line up with available channels nor was there a TV guide. No posting of when the continental breakfast started or ended. When seeing the neighborhood I expected to see slummy guest but all were travelers which was a comfort .Overall, this is a basic property with no frills. It was ideal for a overnight trip. It was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: No inside rooms. All room doors are outside. If you don't like steps, ask for a ground floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccorbett75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kina G, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are currently working on the cosmetic issues in our rooms and we want to apologize to you for any inconveniences you may have had. We are very pleased that the staff was able to honor your request and we are pleased that the room as clean and comfortable for you. We have never had any issues within our hotel regarding our location and we make sure our guests are not only comfortable but safe as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you stay with us again on your next visit to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I, myself am a Days Inn employee so I'm always eager to stay at other properties to see what they are doing to keep their guests happy. I would say that my stay at this Days Inn was average. I chose this hotel because it is close to the downtown/plaza area, very convenient. First, the positives:

1. It looks like the lobby/rooms have been remodeled within the past few years (new carpet and paint if nothing else). The aesthetic was very nice.
2. The beds were AMAZING. Some of the best I've stayed in, 5 stars and down......SO comfortable, if like me, you like a super soft bed.
3. The lobby/rooms were clean and for the most part quiet.

Now for the negatives:

1. I'm not sure if it's just because I'm a fellow Wyndham employee, but the man who checked me in (I'm assuming the owner), was a little abrasive, if not rude. When I explained to him I was a Days Inn employee from another city he gave me this look of pity and said "Oh...." then proceeded to tell me about the brand new property they're building. (Competitive much?) But what really rubbed me the wrong way was when he said, "I bet you get a lot of complaints, huh?" Out of nowhere! His hotel was nice, but not nice enough to be talking down on other properties he isn't even aware of.
2. Even though the room looked newly-remodeled it was still full of issues/annoyances. There was a hole in the wall near the bathroom and we had to end up unplugging the refrigerator as it was SO loud. The HVAC unit is directly under the window which caused the warm air coming out to cycle underneath the curtains and not into the room. The bathrooms are small considering there is a large amount of unused, tiled space directly outside of it. Finally, it looks as though the remodel was done hastily or on a tight budget, the edge-work was sloppy and as stated earlier there were some holes/cracks in the walls.
3. Finally, we were not able to use the pool as it was closed, but from what I saw it is WAY too small to enjoy anyway. I don't think I've ever seen a pool that tiny.

Overall, I would stay at this property again, maybe on a day when I can check in with a different employee. In reality, the beds would be the only thing bringing me back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank itinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kina G, Marketing Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel especially as another Days Inn employee. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the remodel along with the beds. We are truly sorry about the poor customer service you received upon checking in and we will discuss and resolve this issue to make sure it doesn't continue. With it being January, the outdoor pool is closed but it is a nice size. We are very happy that you will be giving us another chance and we will make sure your just complaints are resolved! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is substandard. I should have known from the price. The manager didn't speak good English. He was training a new member when we checked in. There was no greeting of any kind. They wrote down my whole credit card number on a paper instead of swiping it into the computer. I didn't like that at all. The room smelled like smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. There was no blanket, only bedspread which really stink and had cigarette burn on it. The lamp was plugged in and stretched out across the room, presenting tripping hazard. The light switch in the bathroom zapped me when i tried to turn it on. The TV was sitting on the dresser that was lower than the bed. So, we had to sit up if we wanted to watch TV. I refused to put bedspread over me so we turned the heat up. It was not a central unit. It was one of those big unit on the wall. So, i ended up getting up 3 times that night just to adjust the temperature. We had a reservation for 2 nights, but only stayed 1 because it was such a bad place even though i didn't get any money back. At check out, the guy just took the key without saying anything. Needless to say, that was the last time i stay at any Days Inn. Dirty dirty dirty with no customer service skill what so ever.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nawabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kina G, Marketing Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking to the time out to write a review on your stay. We are terribly sorry that your stay wasn't a more pleasant one. We have checked with our staff but we are unsure why your credit card number would be written down unless there was something happening to our system at the time. This is not a regular occurrence and we apologize for that. We take our customers and the privacy of their person information very seriously. We will look into the staging of our rooms to see what issues can be resolved. We will go over everything you sent us to make sure we are giving customers the best stay possible. Once again, we are truly sorry about your stay with us but we do hope you give us another chance on your next visit to Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived early for the chiefs game and were not sure if we could check in early and the staff went out of their way to allow it to happen which they did not have to do! Room was clean staff was great we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolet8605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kina G, Marketing Manager at Days Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your amazing review! Our staff always makes sure they provide the most excellent customer service and I am happy to see that we were able to check you in right away with no hassles! We hope you come back to stay with us when coming to watch our Chiefs play at Arrowhead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
3.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
7.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#51 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
3.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza
2.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kansas City

Property: Days Inn Kansas City
Address: 5100 E Linwood Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64128-1833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Kansas City 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-70 and Van Brunt near KC Chiefs and Royals Stadiums, VA Hospital, Plaza Area, Downtown. Newly, completely renovated with modern ameneties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing