We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Great Lunch Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Palace

Taj Palace
Ranked #314 of 1,406 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Lunch Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I've been to Taj Palace a few times for lunch now. It's just down the street from where I work and the buffet is consistently good! There is a verity of meat and vegetarian dishes with a small salad bar. The price is competitive. The only downside is that they charge their full buffet meal price for to-go boxes, and not by weight.
The staff is kind and service oriented. I would encourage anyone looking for some good Indian food to stop by for lunch or dinner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    3
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
213 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Surprised it's not crowded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Went on a Monday evening, and we were the first customers at 5:45! It's sad, because the food and service are really good. We liked the mulligatawny soup, garlic naan, lamb saag--and lots of water! Will go again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Runpicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilley, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memory Lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere of this restaurant is a reminder of being at home! The quality of service was top notch and the first thing we noticed. The dining area was very relaxed and Bollywood is always entertaining! The staff is engaging and courteous. They actually go beyond courteous! The menu was filled with choices and very descriptive for those not versed with the Indian cuisine. The appearance of the food was a delight! The aroma is appealing to the senses. The taste of the food was excellent! The dishes are savory and the spice level is accommodating. The paneer pakora was our choice of appetizer. We enjoyed the chutney variety to go with the dish. We had the chicken curry and chicken tikka masala. And to be honest it tasted like a home cooked meal right out of my mum's kitchen! It a must eat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reshma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Service is wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

One of the few places open on a Sunday night on 39th street. Good food and exceptional service. We were a party of 4 who ordered one Vegetarian meal for 2 and one Non-vegetarian meal for 2. There was plenty of food and enough to take home. Atmosphere is casual and the restaurant is clean. I am not an expert on Indian food so I can not talk to authenticity. However, I found the food flavorful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaretL343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good service! I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I am dairy intolerant. I wanted the Chicken Korma - they made it with coconut milk for me & it was great. I alo recommend the mulligatawny soup - delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickSteves_rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Palace also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Taj Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing